No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Head Rye

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Rye Hill, , , Rye, TN31 7NH
The Kings Head Inn a cream painted 17th century coaching inn situated on the outskirts of the picturesque town of Rye, one of the most visited places in the whole of the south of England. Owned and run by the Tindall family, Steve, Lisa, James and Lucy and the team extend a warm and personal welcome. This atmospheric inn retains character and charm whilst blending the old with the new after extensive refurbishment, completed end Feb 2014. Open fireplaces, comfortable accommodation, and a very warm welcome. Dogs allowed in the Bar and Patio area. Complimentary car parking onsite, patio garden to the rear of the pub, special requirements catered for. Children welcome. All rooms non-smoking. 10 minute walk to Rye town centre, stooped in history and extremely beautiful historic town The surrounding area is blessed with a wealth of local suppliers enabling our chefs to take advantage of the wonderful local ingredients, including fresh fish from Rye Bay. The menu is seasonally inspired, good, honest wholesome pub food with changing specials to tantalise your taste buds! The kitchen is happy to cater for all kinds of dietary requirements and given enough notice, will design dishes to suit all guests’ needs. Relax in one of the nine newly refurbished bedrooms, each uniquely designed. 7 of our rooms can be twins if required, family rooms available too. All individually furnished to the highest standards All are en-suite with flat screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, tea & coffee making facilities, bottled water and biscuits, we are happy to organise any extras to be in your room on arrival, e.g. champagne, chocolates, please contact us directly and we will provide your exact requirements and organise payment to suit . Hairdryers, Wi-Fi, Flat screen TV, shower gel and shampoo is also provided. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request, please ask and we will bring them to your room for you. If you require anything else to make your stay more comfortable please just ask.
Picture of The Kings Head Rye, Rye at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderfully friendly staff
The friendly and helpful staff made my stay most enjoyable. I had a cottage room which was spacious and comfortable, however the wifi didn't work in the room and there wasn't a chair (just a stool by the dressing table). The food was good gastropub fare with generous portions.
A minor niggle - I couldn't figure out how to lock my door and was fiddling for ages until someone staying in the next room showed me how it worked. It would be helpful if staff demonstrated this when taking you to your room.

Reviewed by
C Ritchie

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent visit
We enjoyed a most enjoyable 3 day visit, despite wet October weather. The hotel was everything we'd hoped for from reading other reviews - the owners and staff were really welcoming, helpful and friendly and the (Ruby) room was as described. We ate in the hotel on the first evening and the food was so good that we ate there every other night, despite a wise range of attractive restaurants within easy walking distance in Rye. There's plenty to see in the area and we certainly intend to return to the King's Head next summer.

Reviewed by
R Sugden

From Halstead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable - clean/good location/good food
really enjoyed at stay - made to feel very welcome- one of the best we have stayed in

Reviewed by
Keith B

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Coming through the Rye
The Kings Head was easily found at the top of Rye Hill at the entrance to the town. A warm welcome and pleasant surprise at the themed room we occupied. (The Beach Room) In fact all rooms have a theme. The restaurant provided a good menu at reasonable prices and was also used extensively by local diners. In all the Kings Head was ideal for a base to explore the area when on a short break to blow away the cobwebs over the nature reserves or visiting the many National Trust properties in the area. Mine host has put a great deal of time and money into this fully refurbished hotel and deserves the excellent results that were evident to see.t

Reviewed by
Graham Judd

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overall view
we stayed in the top priced room - the champagne room - large room and large bathroom. States 'garden room' which I suppose is true as it looks out onto the pub side beer garden but it also faces the busy main road. Still, no great problem, just traffic noise. (I had expected the room to be at the rear of the pub building). The room was very comfortable apart from problems with the shower which first of all took a long time to run before hot water came through (there is a notice in the bathroom warning of this) but the hot water seemed to run out within a few minutes when in use. I suspect this was because of other guests all using their showers at the same time. Towels provided but not robes which is a minor point but often provided in other fairly expensive rooms. There is not a residents bar as you have to use the pub which is fine except on Sunday night four of us were told that we would have to leave the bar area by 10 pm as the room was always locked at night which seemed a strange arrangement for residents of the pub. Otherwise staff pleasant and room serviced daily. Thought for what you get the accommodation was overpriced.

Reviewed by
Tony C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous stay, fabulous staff, fabulous food, spotlessly clean and great value for money.
Had an amazing stay from the moment we arrived staff were so helpful and friendly, offering a very professional service.
Room was beautiful, furnished and decorated with a comfortable luxurious finish. Food was fabulous, great value and beautifully presented. The restaurant was warm , comfortable and friendly.
We couldn't of asked for more for a honeymoon weekend and will definitely be going back again!

Reviewed by
J Jones

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place for a relaxing stay
we stayed in the Parisian room beautifully decorated
toiletries were very nice breakfast was perfect too

Reviewed by
Elaine Gilbert

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay overnight. Wonderful food, really comfy room and helpful friendly staff, would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Wendy M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
It is the second time I have had the pleasure of stopping here this year and would recommend it to anyone visiting the area. The rooms are all individually decorated and furnished to a high standard as is the bar and restaurant. The food, both evening meal an breakfast was delicious but that's what you get from home cooked. I will definitely be back and hopefully for pleasure as well as business as it is a lovely area

Reviewed by
derek g

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely, freshly updated place to stay
We booked this at the last minute and were not disappointed. Ignore any reviews from before Feb 2014, as the new owners have refurbished everything to a high standard, are very friendly and welcoming, as well as knowledgeable about the area. Food was great, plenty of it, and reasonably priced. My only comment (not criticism)is that if you're after a stay in a drinkers' pub, with a seat near the roaring fire, then this is not the place for you. However, if you want a peaceful stay in a lovely Inn, then I would highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Gary M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next