Reviews - The Kings Head Rye


Rye Hill, ,, Rye, TN31 7NH

Price From 157.07 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (27)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Dawn H

  • August 2015

Lovely Rye

This hotel is perfectly located to visit Rye.

The greeting upon our arrival was very friendly. We had lunch first. We went for the Ploughmans' and it was without doubt the best Ploughmans' we've ever had. Simply delicious. Breakfast was good, simple but tasty. But there is a but. We were in the Beach room which is cozy as described but what wasn't described is the heating boiler that services all the guest bedrooms in the corner. It came on every few minutes between 7am and 10.30pm. It is noisy. We asked to be moved but were told the hotel was fully booked. Sadly it did spoil our stay. I would recommend this hotel but not the Beach room. Having a working boiler in a guest bedroom isn't a good idea.

  • Barbara J

  • June 2015

Disappointing but acceptable

To begin with the accommodation wasn't what I'd booked.

That was sorted but at an extra cost than quoted on LateRooms. After due consideration, I firmly objected to the imposition of this charge and iy was, graciously, withdrawn. Other niggles include a severly over heating bathroom radiator that couldn't be controlled, and a rather underwhelming breakfast.

  • nicolette u

  • March 2015

Comfortable stay

Very nice room, friendly, helpful staff.

Didn't eat there for dinner, but the food looked nice and the dining area was full on such a vile day (weather). No noise during the night - very peaceful sleep. My only compliant would be the bed was a bit squeeky.

  • Kevin H

  • January 2015

Dog Friendly

Great room well fitted out with parking just outside, all recently refurbished toi a very high standard lovely pub with open fires, Dogs welcome in the pub bar, varied menu which was very good, Breakfast excellent, would recommend this hotel

  • T Atkins

  • January 2015

A welcome break

We arrived early at 1.30 for our 3pm check-in but no mention was made.

When we found the cottage chilly as the heating was timed a very helpful staff member came out to over-ride the system and we warmed up in minutes. The cottage has a modern, fresh decor and good lighting choice which created a relaxing atmosphere and we felt very comfortable. We met family members in the restaurant that evening for a great dinner - the friendly service really made it for us. Every member of staff we encountered including at breakfast and later checking out was what made our stay special. So close to Rye and such a good choice for us. Thank you!

  • Garry Aiken

  • December 2014

Pleasurable stay

Well presented room.

Spacious, with good facilities.

Nice dining room with friendly staff. Well situated for the town centre

  • G Twist

  • November 2014

The White Room

A beautiful hotel of rooms and chalets with plenty of parking for guests.

Superb service and food, although on the Sunday the cooked breakfast was cold but was superb on the saturday. Room beautiful clean and bright but did hear noise from the air extractor outside the window. Service superb and evening meal second to none - highly recommended.

  • D Boyles

  • November 2014

Wouldn't hesitate to return

I was staying just one night here which happened to be the night before a job interview.

I was booked in for dinner upon arrival and was staying in cottage 1 it was beautifully decorated and very clean and fresh and I just adored how everything was colour coordinated even down to the coffee cups. Dinner was delicious and reasonably priced and I found myself chatting with other diners in a very friendly atmosphere. I asked to book a taxi for the following morning which was no trouble with the lady who I assumed was the owner stating that she would drive me herself if taxi failed to arrive. Couldn't manage breakfast in the morning due to interview nerves but was very kindly offered a sandwich for my travels later in the day by a very nice man who appeared from the kitchen and who also offered to drive me if there was a taxi problem. The taxi arrived and I headed off with wishes of good luck as I headed out the door. If my interview is successful this is the place I will book my family into should they come to vist without hesitation and I'd definitely visit again myself.

Just one little note was the noisy gravel car park outside the rooms I was awoken by every car or person who happened to be coming or going and the delivery truck early in the morning there were some children who were having a great old time playing in it shouting "it's so crunchy" so maybe some Tarmac would be a better idea. Other than that an absolutely faultless visit and would recommend to anyone.

  • R Sugden

  • October 2014

Excellent visit

We enjoyed a most enjoyable 3 day visit, despite wet October weather.

The hotel was everything we'd hoped for from reading other reviews - the owners and staff were really welcoming, helpful and friendly and the (Ruby) room was as described. We ate in the hotel on the first evening and the food was so good that we ate there every other night, despite a wise range of attractive restaurants within easy walking distance in Rye. There's plenty to see in the area and we certainly intend to return to the King's Head next summer.

  • C Ritchie

  • October 2014

Wonderfully friendly staff

The friendly and helpful staff made my stay most enjoyable.

I had a cottage room which was spacious and comfortable, however the wifi didn't work in the room and there wasn't a chair (just a stool by the dressing table). The food was good gastropub fare with generous portions.

A minor niggle - I couldn't figure out how to lock my door and was fiddling for ages until someone staying in the next room showed me how it worked. It would be helpful if staff demonstrated this when taking you to your room.