No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Compasses

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Compasses Littley Green, Chelmsford, CM3 1BU
Come and enjoy life in the slow lane at the traditional Compasses Inn. This charming pub is situated in the hamlet of Littley Green which lies in the heart of the underrated Essex countryside.

This dog and child friendly Victorian pub, formerly known as the Ridley's Brewery Tap, is steeped in history and tradition. It offers warm Guest Accommodation rooms and serves local food, including the famous Essex Huffer, alongside some of the best real ales in Essex, prizing itself on its traditionally well kept cellar.

Within easy reach of London Stansted and Chelmsford, this is the nearest accommodation to Leez Priory (just a mile away) and Felsted School and a perfect opportunity for you to relax and take in the quiet beautiful countryside.

So if you are looking for a relaxing time with a pint of real ale whether it be in the garden on a sunny day or some hot traditional pub food by a warm open fire in the depths of winter, The Compasses welcomes you.
Picture of The Compasses, Chelmsford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2014 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 5
Nicely decorated room new room. Nice ensuite with good shower. Twin beds joined together but one mattress was very slopey.

Reviewed by
m ford

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect
Went for one night. Rooms were immaculate ate our evening meal in the pub. Food was lovely. Pub was full of really friendly locals. Bar staff really welcoming.tried to stay on but it was fully booked not supried.
Defiantly reccommend it and will certainly be back

Reviewed by
K Jackson

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brilliant find. You should stay here.
The room was spotless, clean, modern. Lots of room in the bathroom and bedroom. It was dead quiet outside as you really are in the middle of nowhere in this place. There was some feint noise from the room next door though. Real ales are served from casks out the back of the bar. I believe the guy who runs this place is the family who runs the local brewery (Ridley?). The beer was exceptional. The food is a limited choice but really fresh and tasty. You can't leave without having a Huffer (a huge, very unusual triangle of bread). Brilliant. This would cost double or triple this anywhere else. Thanks for a great stay. I'll be back soon.

Reviewed by
John Chisholm

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable modern rooms in a fabulous country pub. Relaxed and welcoming. Great full english b'fast

Reviewed by
Elizabeth F

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hideaway Heaven
A surprising arrival at a very busy lunchtime Pub in a very quiet village, heralded the beginning of a very pleasant 2 day stay, Josh and his staff were always polite, helpful and interesting. The food was excellent with a good selection for breakfast, don't miss the Huffers. The rooms are all brand new with all the hi tech devices and very comfortable. They also had a beer festival with more than 35 tasters available.

Reviewed by
Rick R

From Beccles, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and welcoming, clean room and comfortable bed.

Reviewed by
Valerie Pearce

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

blissful little retreat
we only stayed one night but are eager to go back and take the family and want to try the food. The room was lovely, immaculate, restful and the surrounding area looked wonderful. only sorry we could not stay longer as had to get back to work.

Reviewed by
l parsons

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superb !!!
my wife and i have recently stayed at the inn for a wedding that we attended at leez priory. apart from being a stones throw from the venue, the accommodation was flawless. superbly styled and up to date with all you wants and needs, very clean and comfortable rooms and the manager was a very helpful person who made us feel very welcome. 10 out of 10... i would recommend this inn to anybody staying, it was fantastic value for money

Reviewed by
s brown

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super Country Pub
In the area on business and decided to try an alternative to the usual Premier Inn/Travelodge. Very glad I did. The Compasses is a proper old fashioned village pub. Friendly regulars, excellent food and interesting modern bedrooms. Nothing to dislike.

Reviewed by
J Shaw

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb establishment, would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Craven Arms, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.