You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Porch House

5

The Porch House, Stow on the Wold, GL54 1BN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (39)

95% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Louise N

  • May 2016

Lovely location and pub, small room

We booked a superior double room.

We were given room 5 on the top floor. It is a lovely old room with wooden beams, lots of character and a great view over the roofs towards the hills. Room was a lot smaller than expected for a superior double. It is the only hotel I have ever stayed in without a wardrobe or an area to hang up a few clothes, very inconvenient. A wardrobe should be standard for all hotel rooms, especially at over £100 per night and a 4 star hotel. Website also states that each room has an iron/ ironing board but only available by calling reception. The breakfast was good with fresh bread and a range of cooked option. The bar area was also lovely with lots of character.

  • N Castle

  • May 2016

The Porch House

Lovely hotel in a lovely setting.

Great food. A very relaxing stay.

  • Nicola B

  • March 2016

Mr B's Birthday Treat

Booked this night away for my husbands birthday.

Great little village, beautiful little inn, gorgeous room and most comfortable bed ever.

Really enjoyed our stay.

  • P Allen

  • December 2015

Hotel in a nice position but we thought it was overpriced for the accommodation provided.

Room we stayed in was at the top of the hotel and quite small.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and one of the meals (a pork chop) was more fat than meat. We did bring this to the attention of the management.

  • T Mitchell

  • November 2015

Cosy break in the country

Lovely accommodation, although room a little on the small size.

  • D Oliver

  • November 2015

A Great weekend in the Cotswolds

We booked this hotel to celebrate a special weekend and to take in the stunning surrounding areas.

Having read some of the reviews people have posted about this hotel, I have to wonder what their expectations are from a historic listed building in a beautiful village/town. Eg, 5 car parking spaces, as there is plenty of unrestricted parking outside the hotel, and as for lack of separate reception area, is this really necessary with only 9 rooms. Checking in at the bar is simple and well managed by friendly and helpful staff. I cannot fault the hospitality that my partner and I received on our visit. The room was just what we needed for a perfect weekend away. We woke up in the morning feeling relaxed and fresh, ready to tackle a superb breakfast. Plenty of choice even for a fussy eater out there. We hope to be visiting the Porch House again in the future and to be enjoying some more of what the Cotswolds has to offer. P.S, the complimentary Sloe Gin, was a nice touch and something hotels should adopt.

  • Mary G

  • September 2015

Characterful comfort in the Cotswolds

The Porch House is a gem of a hotel.

It has great charm and the décor reflects the age and character of the place. Staff are friendly and attentive, nothing is too much trouble. The beds and pillows are the most comfy of any hotel I've stayed in. Breakfasts and dinners in the restaurant were delicious. If you're looking for a base for touring the Cotswolds this special place is ideal.

  • Debra Booth

  • August 2015

Perfect

Thank you for a lovely stay for one night in the superior double room , the room was just right for us , very clean bathroom , and cozy comfortable bed, Hardly any noise not too disturb as previous reviews etc, I would recommend this hotel and use again if we chose to stay in stow on the wold , it is situated in the centre ideal for shops, restaurants and bars

  • R Dixon

  • August 2015

The Porch House

Friendly staff, beautiful room and delicious food.

Would definitely recommend it.

  • L hopson

  • August 2015

Only 4 parking spaces in this hotel and room very small

On arrival, no parking spaces left (This hotel has only 4 parking spaces).

I had to park in the street. The room was very small, no space to put your bags. Sink was dirty and a light bulb did not work. The main head shower also did not work well.

Response from hotel

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent review which we received this morning.

We absorb each and every review in order to ascertain where we might improve and it seems there are some areas for improvement in your case for which I must apologise. I have looked into the bulb not working and this has been replaced since your stay. We do take a lot of time and trouble to replace the bulbs but occasionally there are one or two which either escape our notice or which blow throughout the course of the day due to the old nature of the building. I hope this did not cause too much inconvenience during your stay.

I appreciate that the size of the room you stayed in is on the small side however we do try to balance this out by way of offering these rooms at what is a very reasonable price and amongst the most competitive prices offered in Stow or the surrounding area. I am sorry that you found no room for your bags; we felt that on balance a king's size premium bed was a priority and this did compromise some of the remaining space in these standard rooms.

I am in the process of looking into the shower head and if this requires cleaning or having any lime scale removing I shall ensure this is done as a matter of urgency.

The dirty basin is unacceptable and I shall look at how and why this was missed as part of our rigorous daily cleaning schedule. Please rest assured that this will be discussed with the house keepers to ensure it does not occur again. Please accept my apologies over this.

We do have limited parking space as illustrated on the website. Stow on the Wold is one of those Cotswold towns where parking is difficult at times but allocation from the council is next to impossible to achieve due to the tight regulations imposed on the rural nature of the location. To that end we cannot offer more parking than we do and we endeavour to advise all our customers accordingly. I am sorry this courtesy was not extended in your case.

I am saddened that you did not enjoy your stay but I would be sincerely delighted to offer you a far better experience if you might get in touch directly with me so as to discuss when you might be able to return and what steps I can take to ensure you have a memorable stay for the right reasons.

To that end I very much look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Yours sincerely,

Alex Davenport-Jones,

General Manager