No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Merton Grounds

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Merton Grounds Farm Langford Lane, Bicester, OX25 2NS
A period farmhouse set in 100 acres of tranquil countryside with woodland and lakes, yet only five minutes from junction 9 of the M40, A34 and A41.

The house is accessed through an avenue of poplars at the end of a mile long drive. Guests are welcome to take advantage of the beautiful grounds, lakeside walks and wonderful setting. The lakes and grounds attract waterfowl, deer and lots of other wildlife. There is also an indoor heated pool and sauna for guests use.

Our boutique style rooms offer every comfort and are all en suite. English and continental breakfast and daily housekeeping is included in the room rates. Merton Grounds is within easy reach of the City of Oxford, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village and the Cotswolds as well as many other attractions.
Picture of Merton Grounds, Bicester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet & peaceful location out in the countryside. The standard of decor was top notch,very clean. Very good breakfast. The only downside is the private road leading to the property which was full of potholes & is about a mile or so long.

Reviewed by
J Nash

From Maesteg, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing
What an amazing find; my daughter and I were very impressed and would definitely book again soon. we felt very welcome and at home.
I'm

Reviewed by
deborah s

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Find
This is a family run bed and breakfast establishment not far from Bicester Retail Village. The property is surrounded by fields and it has its own lake. Everything about this place is to a very high standard. We stayed in the Hayloft which was a large room with a big bathroom. The furniture and fittings were of a high quality. As the Hayloft runs across the top of the building with small windows on either side. I can see it getting hot in summer, however a fan is provided. Ellie, the owner has tried to tconsider everything a guest may require.. There is a fridge in the room with fresh milk. A binder has been provided with details of local restaurants together with sample menus and driving directions .
The building is part of a farm and breakfast is served in a large airy room. There is a choice of continental, full English, smoked salmon or their own signature breakfast. Additionally there are jams and honey produced on the farm which are available for sale.I had the full English which comprised quality ingreients freshly cooked. Breakfast is seerved at a large table and you have the opportunity to chat with other guests.
My only criticisim of this place is the approach road. It is a long private road, not much more than a farm track. There are an awful lot of potholes, some of which are potentially suspension damaging. I can see this being a real problem at night or in bad weather.

Reviewed by
Marc G

From Knebworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accommodation, excellent food and warm, friendly service.

Reviewed by
B Woods

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quick overnight stay
Completely brilliant place to stay. My wife and I had to leave v early and Ellie, the owner was v accommodating cooking me the most fabulous full English and my wife the 'signature breakfast'. The attention to detail in the whole place is exceptional. Due to our early departure we did not get to see the swimming pool or sauna but would bet it was of equally fantastic standard to the rest of the place. The bedroom and ensuite were stunning and we look forward to staying any time when we need to stay overnight within 50 miles! ........ and we were sent away with home-made cakes. As I said the attention to detail in all areas was remarkable. The insignificant criticism is that the long drive is quite potholed and we had a low car with a very low profile tyres. No damage done so just drive slowly and enjoy the place!

Reviewed by
Gary P

From Craven Arms, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Stay
Room, location, food, and customer service were all perfect. The accommodation was tasteful, modern and spacious. Owners were welcoming and produced a great breakfast. Conveniently located for Bicester Village. Having decent wifi in the rooms was a nice additional touch. Would definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Anthony D

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a delightful find
a truly delightful converted farm, close to Bicester but still remote enough to be so quiet at night. rooms are very well decorated and fitted with great attention to detail. real coffee and fresh milk in the rooms and a fabulous cooked breakfast. we really will be staying here again.

Reviewed by
J Goodwin

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful escape
We had a marvellous weekend, so much care and attention to detail had been taken by Ellie and her staff we were totally free to relax and unwind in comfort. Many thanks, we're very grateful for our stay.

Reviewed by
D Newman

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Slightly of the beaten track in the sense you have to use the farm road to get there. Lovely accomodation, with fantastic attention to detail, in a rural setting. Ellie as the Host went out of the way to be helpful. Breakfasts were amazing and large , with goody bags for the home baked cakes and bread to eat later on. Beautiful eggs to take home. All in all a great short break with easy access to all attractions and would recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
C Dixon

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit
As soon as we arrived we were delighted, we had booked the Piggery and were not disappointed . We were made instantly welcome , as it was Easter we found chocolate eggs in our room. Everything had been thought of from a basket with spare toothbrush and toothpaste to a wide selection of tea coffee and hot chocolate.. There is a choice of very well cooked breakfasts , jams, cereals and fresh fruit.
The extensive grounds are very well kept comprising of two lakes, with fields of horses.
You won't be disappointed .
Other guests used the heated swimming pool and were more than happy.

Reviewed by
Sue Lunn

From Knaresborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next