No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Merton Grounds

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Merton Grounds Farm Langford Lane, Bicester, OX25 2NS
A period farmhouse set in 100 acres of tranquil countryside with woodland and lakes, yet only five minutes from junction 9 of the M40, A34 and A41.

The house is accessed through an avenue of poplars at the end of a mile long drive. Guests are welcome to take advantage of the beautiful grounds, lakeside walks and wonderful setting. The lakes and grounds attract waterfowl, deer and lots of other wildlife. There is also an indoor heated pool and sauna for guests use.

Our boutique style rooms offer every comfort and are all en suite. English and continental breakfast and daily housekeeping is included in the room rates. Merton Grounds is within easy reach of the City of Oxford, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village and the Cotswolds as well as many other attractions.
Picture of Merton Grounds, Bicester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful escape
We had a marvellous weekend, so much care and attention to detail had been taken by Ellie and her staff we were totally free to relax and unwind in comfort. Many thanks, we're very grateful for our stay.

Reviewed by
D Newman

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Slightly of the beaten track in the sense you have to use the farm road to get there. Lovely accomodation, with fantastic attention to detail, in a rural setting. Ellie as the Host went out of the way to be helpful. Breakfasts were amazing and large , with goody bags for the home baked cakes and bread to eat later on. Beautiful eggs to take home. All in all a great short break with easy access to all attractions and would recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
C Dixon

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit
As soon as we arrived we were delighted, we had booked the Piggery and were not disappointed . We were made instantly welcome , as it was Easter we found chocolate eggs in our room. Everything had been thought of from a basket with spare toothbrush and toothpaste to a wide selection of tea coffee and hot chocolate.. There is a choice of very well cooked breakfasts , jams, cereals and fresh fruit.
The extensive grounds are very well kept comprising of two lakes, with fields of horses.
You won't be disappointed .
Other guests used the heated swimming pool and were more than happy.

Reviewed by
Sue Lunn

From Knaresborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Experience this wonderful place, before it gets fully booked
Every single detail in this wonderful B&B has been thought through with love and attention. To the point where we were walking around, speaking with other guests describing our amazing experience. It's only been open since October and is already starting to get fully booked, so get in there whilst you still can. Oh, and we've already rebooked ourselves. We've discovered a real gem and we'd like to share it...

Reviewed by
damian smyth

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!

We stayed here for two nights, our stay was excellent. The attention to detail is second to none, the rooms and facilities go far beyond what you would expect for a bed and breakfast break. The "Old pigsty" (our room) was very comfortable with tea & coffee making facilities, lovely fluffy towels and bath robes and lots of little bathroom extras! Ellie's breakfasts are delicious with loads of choice. We enjoyed the use of the pool and also a pleasant walk around the lake and grounds. We would highly recommend

Reviewed by
Sue H

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Merton Grounds - exceptional
Warm welcome on arrival, rooms to exceptionally high standards of quality and cleanliness.
Cooked breakfast from the Aga, amazing with local produce.
Swimming pool lovely and warm.
Everything was excellent!
Many thanks, see you again!

Reviewed by
Adam S

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So glad I found it!
We stayed at Merton Grounds for a shopping trip to Bicester shopping village. We initially looked at the Premier Inn which is on the doorstep of Bicester village and I'm just so glad it was fully booked!! We got a little lost on the way to Merton Grounds as it was dark and it is in the middle of farmland. It didn't take us loving to find it though with the help of a local pointing us in the right direction. It was very homely on arrival and Ellie came out to greet us straight away. We stayed in the Old Pigsty which was beautiful, clean, spacious and a lovely mix of new and old. The beams in the room were gorgeous, the wet room was lovely with heated flooring! All the little touches really made our stay - from a fridge in the room with cold water and fresh milk, to the breakfast menu with Ellie's mobile number to text her 40 minutes before we wished to eat and put walk around the beautiful grounds the next morning. I haven't got a bad word to say about this wonderful place and would recommend to anybody in a flash!

Reviewed by
K Woodward

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic boutique B&B
Brilliant place, fabulous rooms and fantastic cooked breakfast in the morning. The only let down is the long pot-holed driveway to the farm. Please make sure you read the website first (we didn't) and spent far too long driving round trying to find the place - when in fact the website clearly states follow the signs designed in the shape of a bird.
We didn't have time for a swim or the sauna but the room was perfect for our needs. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Roger B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top Quality
The rooms at Merton Grounds are tastefully decorated and everything has been done with quality in mind rather than by scrimping so it feels much more like being at home than being in a B and B, but in a good way. I had an extremely comfortable stay, the location is beautiful (you do need a car really) and Ellie and her team are ever so friendly, without being at all intrusive.
I had a home cooked breakfast which was absolutely delicious, free WiFi in my room, a fabulous en suite and all for significantly less money than the equivalent kind of room in a great big hotel. I would wholly recommend staying here whether you be looking for a romantic getaway or a stopover for business. Can't recommend Merton Grounds enough - my only concern is that I won't be able to stay here again as it will be fully booked when everyone discovers it!!

Reviewed by
Stella M

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2