Reviews - Golden Ball Hotel


High Street, Boxworth,, Cambridge, CB23 4LY

Price From 190.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

91% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Martin H

  • September 2015

Exceptional food with a few accomodation issues

A brief one night's stay for our 40th anniversary.

As previous reviews have stated the rooms have thin walls and you can hear sounds from upstairs and adjacent rooms. Our television didn't work properly, the fridge didn't work (although only 2 weeks old) and the toilet didn't flush properly. The issues were looked at very promptly but not actually fixed. Having said all that the food was exceptional and the owners were really nice people who do care about your experience. Our food was prepared to order and was truly incredible quality at a good price. Overall a pleasuarble experience which I believe in time will be made even better when the rooms have been renovated.

  • R Young

  • September 2015

One night stay

Very good service from very polite staff.

The meal I had was good. The small pub feel and the warm welcome from staff made this an instant favourite for me.

  • Clive T

  • September 2015

Good stay at the Golden Ball

We stayed 2 nights at the Golden Ball when visiting nearby Cambridge and enjoyed our time there.

The room was comfortable, the staff were friendly and breakfast was good - had the Full English one morning and scrambled eggs the other. We also made friends with the pair of black cats that have decided they 'own' the place.

  • James Woods

  • July 2015

excellent stay

I can recomend this hotel as a excellent place for a break, it's location for attractions in the Cambridge area is good.

  • David S

  • May 2015

Excellent stay

Welcoming hosts

  • barry b

  • April 2015

  • Sue Maguire

  • March 2015

Super Experience

A wonderful location, amazingly warm & friendly atmosphere, really made to feel at home, great value for money

  • P Bugler

  • December 2014

Excellent last minute stay

I have stayed in this hotel before and it was a pleasure to return for another pleasant stay, the evening meal was superb, combined with the cosy pub atmosphere was the perfect antidote to a busy working day, and the breakfast really sets you up for another one, thank you very much.

  • P Bugler

  • October 2014

I night near Cambridge

A real pleasure to stay in a quaint character filled location, convenient to my business needs.

Excellent evening meal, and pleasant country pub atmosphere, good easy listening background music, comfortable room, good full English breakfast. An enjoyable experience.

  • JC L

  • September 2014

Pretty pub, super welcome

The owners of this picture postcard rural pub give everyone a warm welcome and do their best to accommodate special requests.

Beer and wine are good and there is plenty of choice of both. Our evening meal (curry) wasn't particularly outstanding but I must confess to living within a few miles of dozens of tried and tested Asian restaurants so maybe my expectations were a bit too high. The ambiance at night is lovely, being provided by subdued lighting and candles, and the owners make sure that you are comfortable and are being attended to. Outside, the south-facing, pretty beer garden entices you to stay a little longer than you should on a summer's day... Accommodation is provided in a separate annexe, rooms being modern and clean. The only downside is the fact that the walls are paper thin, so you can virtually hear the conversation of neighbouring habitants, along with the sounds of bathroom usage. I wouldn't let this put me off staying again though, as most people staying at the Golden Ball seem to go straight to bed - no noisy late night revelers here thank goodness. Breakfast is served in the pub, and is as hearty or as light as you want it to be, there is plenty of choice of both cooked and continental fare. It was a refreshing change to be offered a selection of teas. I would heartily recommend the Golden Ball for a weekend break/ stop-over and will certainly keep it in mind for future visits to the area. The pub is located just a few miles from Cambridge, but do beware if you intend to use the park & ride at Longstanton; charges for a day return are an astronomical £6.20 EACH. If there are two of you in your car (as is usually the case), it would be cheaper to park in the centre for up to 4 hours, which defeats the object of providing a park and ride service.