You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Moggerhanger Park

4

Moggerhanger Park Ltd, The Park, Park Road, Bedford, MK44 3RW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (51)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • G Forsyth

  • July 2016

Quirky and enjoyable

Enjoyed our stay in a beautiful setting and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Room suited our needs. I came away saying that I had no complaints and would rather be constructive in any criticism. In that regard a wardrobe or similar in our room would have been helpful. A freshening up of décor might have been needed but that may well take away the from the atmosphere the hotel created.

  • David C

  • July 2016

Quiet Location

Excellent hotel in a very quiet location.

  • K Quirke

  • July 2016

Moggerhanger Park

Very good and clean

  • Jan C

  • June 2016

Bit of a strange experience

We arrived at around 9.45pm after driving for 7 hours.

All we wanted to do was get to our room but we weren't even sure we were at the right place. Pitch black, arriving in the dark the car park was looking pretty deserted with just 3 cars in it and was some distance from the hotel. There were no signs on or around the building at all and it was pretty much in total darkness except for a few muted lights. The front door was locked with a sign stating that arrivals after 11pm had to ring a number for access which was the only real indicator that it was a hotel. Although quite a bit before this, we spent a good 20 minutes knocking on doors and windows trying to catch someones' attention. Just when we decided to drive away, an intermittent mobile signal finally got someone to the door. We were close to sleeping in the car. The journey to our room didn't instill confidence. The bedrooms are on the top floor (quite a long way up) and the staircase used is the stone-stepped, narrow, servants' staircase, not the impressive one. Furnishings are basic (no carpets and painted walls etc) giving a very run down impression in the dark. The bedroom was fine, but had dated (as opposed to authentic or just 'old') beds. The TV was tiny, the fan in the bathroom didn't work (making it a sauna) and the plumbing noisy. Hot water was plentiful, the towels very thick and no traffic noise etc. If there were any communal rooms other than the dining room (closed until breakfast time and pretty spartan) and the bar (closed until the next evening and pretty spartan) we were not informed of them. All of the other rooms we saw were being used to store chairs etc. All that said, the building, Grade 1 listed, was fantastic at least from the outside, the grounds hugely impressive and the setting sublime. Breakfasts were perfectly fine and most of the staff were helpful (all the receptionists could do with a bit of coaching though). I think they need to work a little harder if they want to supplement income over and above wedding parties as the experience of the independent traveller is very different to a large group. I would stay again but am happy if I did I wouldn't have to go through those first few difficult hours again.

  • Howard Martin

  • June 2016

So Close to Being Excellent

The location being ideal for a forthcoming event, my wife and I chose Moggerhanger Park for a weekend B&B stay because of the quality or rooms shown on the website and the very competitive rates advertised.

All in all the stay was a pleasant one. The bed was extremely comfortable, room service excellent and breakfast offered a good selection of well prepared food and drink. There were some points, however, that, whilst not meriting complaint, would have made our stay a perfect one. The service we received on arrival and throughout the 2-night stay was polite and responsive but felt a little impersonal at times. Information about the hotel's facilities was not offered but rather had to be requested. The room we were given was not one of the three charming ones shown on the website. Whilst being scrupulously clean with a spotless ensuite wet-room, there were a few omissions that made using the facilities in the, rather tired, bedroom a little tedious. The room was just big enough to take the double bed, but with neither chairs nor the space to place them. That meant relaxing with the small television or drinking a cup of tea, sitting on the bed with backs against the wall; not ideal. There was a welcoming tray of drinks and biscuits on a side table but the lead of the kettle could not reach the socket directly below. That meant putting the kettle on the floor to be boiled. Apart from the narrow shelf below the mirror, the ensuite wet-room had nowhere to place general toiletries other than on the top of toilet cistern, again not ideal. So close to being excellent. Had the room been to the standard of those shown on the website, I would not hesitate to return for another visit or to give Moggerhanger Park my highest recommendation.

  • Claudia Gough

  • June 2016

Fleeting Visit

What an amazing place and what a find.

Really unusual hotel and for a very affordable price. My mother and I were very interested in the history of the place. Ideal location for a special wedding. Staff were very helpful in sharing their knowledge. Great views. Really exciting hotel and would you believe cheaper than Premier Inn and others. Thank you.

  • duncan b

  • May 2016

A countryside retreat

This former mansion is far from being a city business hotel.

Surrounded by parkland it has a very relaxing atmosphere. Some faint hints of its previous use as a hospital seem to remain.

The accommodation in the grooms house was very clean, comfortable but simple. The stone flagged floor might not suit everybody but was fine for me. The car park was further away from the main entrance than is generally the case but this was not a major issue once I had booked in, as there was a short cut to the Grooms house. The buffet cooked breakfast was of a good standard.

Evening meals were not available at the weekend but the Guinea pub in the village served a very reasonable meal in a pleasant atmosphere.

  • Peter Mann

  • May 2016

Upstairs meets Downstairs

An amazing property in its own historic grounds.

My room was set in the former grooms house only 3 metres from the main property but was luxuriously appointed with a quiet outlook over the old stables and garden. A great sitting room was available for guests use in the former Soviet library, with views over the gardens. Breakfast in the servants Hall was a very well presented mix including locally sourced eggs, bacon and sausages. Will stay again when I next travel to this area.

  • D Wiles

  • April 2016

What an amazing place

This really was an incredible place to stay.

The room was huge with outstanding views. The breakfast was excellent, can't comment on the evening restaurant or tea room as they were both closed on my visit. The only negative for me was there was no information pack in the room, with breakfast times, wifi password etc.

  • claire k

  • April 2016

Stay here for something different to chain hotels

This little gem is a very refreshing change to the usual hotels I have to use for business.

The grounds are spacious and peaceful with a lovely woodland walk. The building is quirky but full of character. My room was warm and welcoming, simply furnished, in keeping with the age of the house and with thought and consideration. Its great that original features like stone fireplaces in bedrooms have been retained. The food served in the cosy bar is fresh and well put together. I have eaten here 3 times and apart from the food not being very hot, it was always full of flavour.