No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Edinburgh

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
69 Belford Road , Edinburgh, EH4 3DG
The Britannia Edinburgh Hotel is situated on the banks of the Water of Leith in area of the city. Just a 10 minute walk to the Dean Gallery and Princes Street. Only a short drive from Edinburgh Haymarket Train Station and many of the city’s local attractions. The hotel offers guest rooms with a light and airy feel and all modern facilities.
Picture of Britannia Edinburgh, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 166 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Since my last stay at this hotel there has been a noticeable difference for the better. Excellent customer service...friendly, helpful and efficient. Housekeeping standards very good...the room I stayed in was very clean and the facilities in the room met my requirements. This hotel is ideal if you are looking for an affordable hotel for 1 or 2 nights but for me no longer as the facilities within the hotel are limited.

Reviewed by
David M

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

CHEAP AND CHEERFUL
You get what you pay for and for a short stay it meets my requirements.

Reviewed by
David M

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful!
Only good thing about the hotel is the location. It is dirty, run down and the most basic of hotels. We had two taps broken, shower head broken, inserts of the door lock was broken and the bed creaked every time we blinked. Just a poor, poor hotel!

Reviewed by
Gareth Bainbridge

From Cramlington, England
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold and Noisy
The room was basic and not very well finished but for the price paid it's what you would expect, and wouldn't ruin your nights sleep. What you don't expect however is a window that doesn't close properly letting in the cold winter breeze, the soothing sound of traffic and snippets of strangers' conversations. These aren't things that help me get to sleep, so we were moved to another room which had exactly the same problem and from the outside it looks like all the windows are the same. So my advice to anyone wanting to stay here, unless it is in summer and you are deaf is to get a windowless room.
On the upside though the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel is in a good location with parking.

Reviewed by
Tom R

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

CHEAP AND NOT SO CHEERFUL
I guess you get what you pay for but this does not excuse the poor standards and poor customer service I experienced. Stayed 23rd and 24th December and when I returned on the 24th December I asked reception why my room had not been serviced. I was told that as it was Christmas housekeeping had been given a couple of days off. I was not informed of this at the time of booking or when I checked in. The receptionist told me that a sign should have been put up about there being no housekeeping services but they did not know why that had not happened. Breakfast offer was actually good but everything was cold which was disappointing. General standards of cleanliness in the bedrooms poor. This hotel is ideal if you just want somewhere to crash and are not looking for anything more than very basic accommodation. I suspect this hotel is very popular with contract workers and stag/hen parties. I believe the hotel is being refurbished but as of yet no signs of any noticeable improvements and I hope that if and when the refurbishment is completed they are able to maintain any improvements made.

Reviewed by
David M

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
This hotel is a value for money no frills hotel. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Excellent value for money would defiantly use again.

Reviewed by
suzanne borman

From Studley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worst hotel of the year
Very dissapointed at the standard of this hotel. Paid full whack to stay there for one night, staff seemed miserable, no pleasantries, paint was fresh but room had no Windows or chair, only one mirrorin bathroom.dust on skirting s and light switches, reading light at one side of the bed only. Should have read trip advisor before booking but was booked in a rush.

Reviewed by
Gareth M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR
If you are looking for a cheap no frills hotel then this is ideal. I would stay here again as it suits my requirements when staying in Edinburgh. Don't expect anything other than basic, basic, basic...Britannia are renowned for over promising and under delivering so keep this in mind when booking.

Reviewed by
David M

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Waste of Money
Reason I mentioned waste of money is because of Dirty Room (unclean room). Papers lying here and there on floor. Bed Mattresses was worst I have ever seen.
Also for dinner they charged us the full amount and when we went to restaurant there was no food. we were told that as there are not many guest we are not cooking much. Then we had to wait for one hour for food to be served.

Reviewed by
P Chadha

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrendous stay here
Where do i start?!
I booked a double room for me and my partner and had to settle for a twin room as they had made a mistake and had no rooms left.
There was only 1 cup in the room for tea/coffee
the TV/Remote control didn't work.
the toilet floor was covered in gravel there was also pubic hair in the bath tub.
the only mirror in the room was in the bathroom were there were no plugs to dry your hair.
The room doors where emergency doors (that slammed shut) safe to say we got no sleep with these.
the walls are paper thin and we could here everything out in the hall and in the other rooms.
When I made the staff aware of all of these problems, I was told to contact the head office and let them know.... this did not help me at all.

Reviewed by
C Cosgrove

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next