Britannia Edinburgh

3

69 Belford Road, Edinburgh, EH4 3DG

Price From 213.73 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (200)

50% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Anne A

  • May 2015

short break

this hotel is in a very scenic part of Edinburgh and only takes about 15 minutes to walk into Edinburgh City Centre.

  • sandra h

  • May 2015

Great place

Recommend this hotel I will be back to stay great night great sleep.

  • Colin D

  • May 2015

This is not a 3 star hotel but a struggling 1star would not recommend it to anyone

Checkin at reception was initially offhand 4 persons behind counter.

One dealing with client; one seemingly doing accounts and the other two milling around. 15 minutes after checking we were back down requesting a room change due to status of rooms. Chair broken, skirting board coming away from wall in bathroom in one room, television not working, no clothes hanging facilities (there are no wardrobes or drawer furniture in any of the rooms we saw), Door would not lock shut, bathroom facilities too small for medium sized normal person. After changing rooms found that twin beds were of 2'6" width and not standard 3' (had requested single beds for one room and double bed sizes given) were not even to 4'6" double standard. One bed was not fitted with mattress protector other sheets and duvet cover did to fit and duvet was found to be stained. Both rooms booked were standard twin bed and standard single rooms. Beds also proved to be very uncomfortable and after staying one night cancelled the following three nights and requested refund. After reception clerk spoke with manager refund was immediately given without question or enquiry as to why. This hotel appears to have be an ex-Travelodge (not that I have any issues with Travelodges) given some of furnishings in the rooms but is now struggling. Maintenance seems to be ongoing but is being carried out on the cheap. Rooms have been painted but poorly. Electrical fittings have been blanked off but not secure and are a danger to children. To repeat this is not a 3 star hotel as advertised and in my opinion is a struggling 1 star hotel and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone never mind a friend. Actually checkin and at all times I found the hotel staff to be courteous and pleasant

  • Colin L

  • May 2015

Great value - Excellent Customer Service

Slightly slept in but staff were very accommodating!

  • Helen B

  • May 2015

Short stay for fun

Fantastic location on Water of Leith.

Handy for Princes St and surrounding area. Lovely river walk to Stockbridge and Botanic Gardens for something a bit different. Saw bits of Edinburgh I didn't know existed. Car parking convenient and £5 for 24 hours - ask at reception for sticker. Accommodation reasonable for the price. Recommended.

  • S Pereira

  • May 2015

Night in the capital .

The room was not the problem , there was parking at a charge that was not stated , the staff were friendly and helpful, my main issue was that the bar had no draught beer on and limited bottled supplies for a city hotel with contractors staying not good !!.

I know its not far to city by foot but if weather bad then you would stay at hotel for a drink. Found it all just rediculous for a Britannia hotel not to have beer on sale...... There was a lack of people eating also everyone getting takeaways brought in not good for chef.......!!. It all seemed to lack atmosphere in hotel. The Wi-Fi was limited and no signal for emails to be sent tried all night but had to give up in end , also getting my invoice was a nightmare printer not working and me booked in wrong room . The budget rooms are ok but lack something .......oh yes a window makes all the difference. This will not be my first choice hotel next in Edinburgh but if I had too then would stay again if necessary. Could do better Britannia.

  • f gibson

  • April 2015

would go back

Not exactly fancy.no frills.adequate for a short stay.staff were nice.place was clean.

  • P Vazquez

  • April 2015

Don't go there...

The quality of the hotel and rooms are awful.

Unfortunately either the staff were very keen to make my stay better.

  • Jonathan W

  • April 2015

good value for money, basic hotel

Managed to get a really good deal for this hotel.

Pretty basic, nice bar, only problem I had was the fact that the windows were thin and it was an electric heater in the room, we had the choice of a room that was too hot or too cold to sleep in however for the price we paid I wouldn't pick on this too much.

  • David B

  • April 2015

Not great

It's not a great place to stay, and most of the hotel looks pretty run-down, but the room was clean and had the essentials.

The key card didn't work, so we had to go down to get it fixed. They 'fixed' it only to find it was the door mechanism that wasn't working. They got it fixed, but it required me running up and down a few times to get it done. The lifts were barely functional. They felt a little senile. If you have a fear of lifts, do not stay here. Or stay on the ground floor. We asked for an iron & ironing board late on the Saturday morning, and it hadn't arrived by the time we left at 1:45pm. We didn't even get told whether one was available. In summary, it was pretty miserable, but if you can get it cheap, then you'll get what you pay for. Given we had a 'discount', it wasn't bad for what we paid.