No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Edinburgh

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
69 Belford Road , Edinburgh, EH4 3DG
The Britannia Edinburgh Hotel is situated on the banks of the Water of Leith in area of the city. Just a 10 minute walk to the Dean Gallery and Princes Street. Only a short drive from Edinburgh Haymarket Train Station and many of the city’s local attractions. The hotel offers guest rooms with a light and airy feel and all modern facilities.
Picture of Britannia Edinburgh, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 139 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 53% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A former Travelodge (and still fitted out as such) was still in good order but becoming a little dated. Room was clean and comfortable, despite paying on arrival I was not given a receipt - in asking for one on departure, the desk clerk seemed unwilling or unable to provide one, suggesting it could be emailed to me. 48hrs later, still nothing - so a little underwhelmed by the customer service. A nice location, but far from public transport.

Reviewed by
Raymond O

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't ask for much more
Good location, everything met expectations except the window didn't shut which was a little annoying as the noise from the running stream stopped being tranquil at 3am

Reviewed by
Yannick O

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
very nice place to stay great value for money and very central to city centre. staff very friendly only negative is it was a small bit dusty however there was signage indicating under refurbishment at the time so this is excusable.

Reviewed by
Michael Hutton

From Killeshin, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money. Very central for Edinburgh centre only a short distance away. Room was a decent size and very clean. Staff we all very helpful.

Reviewed by
Mark R

From Catrine, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as bad as I feared
Was very concerned having read trip advisor but the hotel was not quite as bad as I feared. They said "under refurbishment" but I saw no actual work. The room was clean so no complaints there. I was on a busy road so the noise was intrusive, especially as the hotel was warm (heating in the room wasn't on) so I had the window open. The corridors and reception area were scruffy so the initial appearance did the hotel no favours. The hotel was full of language students who seemed most active in the corridors between midnight and 2am. You can imagine how loud their doors banged !!
The hotel was cheap compared to others for a two night stay but beware the other guests and don't expect anything other than - hopefully- a clean room.

Reviewed by
James M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not stay here
First room still had cleaning products in it. They must have been new as they clearly had not been used!! Second room not much better

Reviewed by
W Smith

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst hotel I've ever stayed at.
Our worst experience of dealing with a hotel customer service representative ever.Truly awful hotel a complete dump! Never I as seen anything as bad as this. The price you pay is way too much for the shabby rooms.Please Do Avoid.

Reviewed by
HO HIM HA

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round
Very handy for the west end and centre of Edinburgh, and excellent value all round

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel
It was excellent experience to stay in Britannia

Reviewed by
JITENDRA MEENA

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints!
Made a last minute booking on Saturday afternoon at this hotel. Check in was straight forward, the room was clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and extremely helpful especially when my partner locked himself out of the room he had to go to reception where they were very understanding and gave him a spare key no hassle. The Hotel is under refurbishment and there are signs up which clearly state this even with that in mind I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Marie G

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next