No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Edinburgh

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
69 Belford Road , Edinburgh, EH4 3DG
The Britannia Edinburgh Hotel is situated on the banks of the Water of Leith in area of the city. Just a 10 minute walk to the Dean Gallery and Princes Street. Only a short drive from Edinburgh Haymarket Train Station and many of the city’s local attractions. The hotel offers guest rooms with a light and airy feel and all modern facilities.
Picture of Britannia Edinburgh, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 173 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful.
Basic, clean, does the job. Great price, nice staff.

Reviewed by
Terry N

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money but nothing special
At £39, the value for money was great, but the hotel itself was nothing to shout about. When we arrived, the customer service on the desk wasn't great and staff seemed slightly confused, it was also quite rowdy and loud downstairs. Hotel was clean, just needs updates and repairs. Main downfall was people smoking in other rooms, the smell was wafting down the corridoor and we could smell it in our room, not great. Food was nice but nothing special, however the lady waitressing for us was very helpful and polite which was good.

Reviewed by
h West

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and almost cheerful
Breakfast poor, bar service good, bed uncomfortable, rest of room ok, location ok.

Reviewed by
Andrew Bell

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location , staff very helpful , great facilities
The Hotel in general was great for our needs , rooms were clean , reception staff very helpful.
However , the booking confirmation states that the bar is open 24 hours for residents , but we were told this was not the case which was a bit annoying.
Also we asked a member of staff if we could charge our mobile phone behind reception which they gladly agreed to , however when we aske for the charger back they said there was no charger even though another guest confirmed that he was present when the staff member plugged it in for us.
After numerous request for the charger we had to leave without it. It was a good charger with an USB cable attached to it and we had to buy a new one.

Reviewed by
K Owen

From Holyhead, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain
After reading some of the reviews, they were hit and miss. Was a bit worried about my stay. I thought my stay was an absolute bargain. Could have asked for better for what I paid. Staff were friendly and very helpful and polite. I will definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
L Gilder

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent
The room was clean. The staff were great, friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault my stay one bit. Definitely worth the money.

Reviewed by
L Gilder

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Since my last stay at this hotel there has been a noticeable difference for the better. Excellent customer service...friendly, helpful and efficient. Housekeeping standards very good...the room I stayed in was very clean and the facilities in the room met my requirements. This hotel is ideal if you are looking for an affordable hotel for 1 or 2 nights but for me no longer as the facilities within the hotel are limited.

Reviewed by
David M

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

CHEAP AND CHEERFUL
You get what you pay for and for a short stay it meets my requirements.

Reviewed by
David M

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Good hotel. always stay here when conducting business in Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
K Shephard

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful!
Only good thing about the hotel is the location. It is dirty, run down and the most basic of hotels. We had two taps broken, shower head broken, inserts of the door lock was broken and the bed creaked every time we blinked. Just a poor, poor hotel!

Reviewed by
Gareth Bainbridge

From Cramlington, England
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next