No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cock and Bull

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Ellon Road, Balmedie, AB23 8XY
The Cock and Bull is an intimate Inn serving great food and real ale and is the proud winner of Scotland's Gastropub of the Year for 2012 and 2013 and the Catering in Scotland Pub Excellence Award for 2014, it is also home of the current Grampian Chef of The Year.
Situated only 20 minutes from Aberdeen Airport, 15 minutes from Aberdeen city and across the road from Donald Trump's new world-class golf course and in the heart of the North East golf country, the Cock and Bull is ideally suited to meet all your needs.

Whether it be for business or pleasure, we provide 5 star accommodation, a friendly welcome and great Scottish hospitality served up in our award-winning restaurant.
Picture of The Cock and Bull, Balmedie at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Lovely location. Friendly. Great rooms. Recommend.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Uni visit
Booked this to break up the journey from"downSouth" before dropping my son off at Uni. Location brilliant as by being on the north side it made it very easy to get in to the city and Uni. It was not quite as "quaint" as i expected, but the accommodation was faultless and the front of house and food exceptional. Very good service, so though I thought it rather pricey I have felt that at least the cost was worth it.

Reviewed by
Penny H

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sleep
I saw the bed jumped in and was asleep, as this is on a busy road this was great. I think it must be busy during the day. These are little cottages three rooms in each cottage and we did not hear the other people at all.. Only thing wrong they need more staff

Reviewed by
r sneddon

From lauder, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

welcoming, large cosy room with lovely food on the doorstep
Room was a little cold but bed was extremely comfy, lovely breakfast and staff were extremely helpful and friendly which helps when travelling alone.

Reviewed by
C Roberts

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Surprise
The room was lovely bright and clean and well appointed. The only little thing which didn't matter as I arrived late at night was the heating was off and with non-carpeted floors it was a bit parky but that wasn't a massive issue at all and it came on in the morning :)

Reviewed by
C Watson

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cock and Bull the best
Quite well equipped rooms with one of the best restaurant around, will great service.

Reviewed by
David M

From Glenrothes, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in cock and bull
Wow. I was accommodated in the offsite guest house which is a three bed roomed detached house with only you and the other guests in. There is a communal living room/kitchen which is furnished to a very high standard. Alternatively you can lock yourself in your room and enjoy the jacuzzi bath or the waterfall shower. Definitely worth a stay, only criticism is that breakfast is served from 9am which is considerably late for someone staying there on work which all occupants were when I was there. However a continental breakfast is provided as an alternative.

Reviewed by
rob messenger

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel if going to Aberdeen, Countryside, lovely room and great food.

Reviewed by
Dawn C

From Leamside, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pettens Barn
A first class facility. shame it was spoiled by a noisy occupant upstairs!!

Reviewed by
James M

From Forfar, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay! Staff are brilliant and so welcoming 5*

Reviewed by
Heather B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next