No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Angel Restaurant with Rooms

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Angel Restaurant, 47 Bicester Road, Long Crendon, Aylesbury, HP18 9EE
Indulge yourself in warm, friendly surroundings which offer something for everyone. We want you to relax, take your time, maybe enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the bar as you sit back on sumptuous leather sofas around a inglenook fire which welcome you with cosy flames in winter. The charming dining areas are brimming with character. Exposed beams, natural colours and an original wattle and daub feature exposed for interest surround simply dressed pine scrubbed tables. Alternatively you may wish to dine in our bright, airy conservatory, or weather permitting, alfresco on the heated sun terrace. The well-chosen menu features fresh, seasonal flavours and a good choice of vegetarian options. The Angel is a gastronomic treat for the taste buds, serving classic British dishes with a modern twist to innovative creations which could be loosely assembled under the banner of the Pacific Rim. Fish is a real feature of the restaurant with specials listed daily on the blackboard. Taste, texture and presentation are at the very heart of The Angel,s cooking, as we insists on using only the freshest and best local produce. The wine list is also well travelled, which we have carefully selected to compliment the food. Take your time in choosing from our extensive range of red and white wines, with a good selection by the glass. There’s an impressive selection of single malt whiskies and spirits to choose from. Whether stopping for a single night or taking a short break, the Angel is perfectly located to explore the countryside of Oxfordshire and Bucks, with the M40 a little under 5 miles away, and within easy reach of London. Each of our comfortable double bedrooms are individually styled with modern en-suite facilities. The tastefully decorated rooms have many period features including beams and low windows. Breakfast is served in the restaurant with the choice of either continental or, for the heartier appetite, full English breakfast.
Picture of The Angel Restaurant with Rooms, Aylesbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value high quality food and accommodation
I really enjoyed my short stay. The food was excellent and my room very comfortable - very good value for money. I found the Angel and its staff very welcoming.

Reviewed by
David H

From 00153 ROMA, Italy
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable room albeit up a steep flight of stairs and under several low doorways and creaky floor. Building dates back to 1500's apparently. Staff friendly and helpful, good meal in the restaurant and very good breakfast. Easy to drive past in the dark and not see it. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Michael Bone

From Monmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow spoil yourselves we did !! Very friendly people all staff extremely professional the place is very English and quaint would defiantly suit foreign traveller's and the food quality presentation and taste was wonderful , a truly memorable weekend, Thank you Angel☆☆☆☆☆☆

Reviewed by
geoff green

From redditch, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Lovely Hotel and amazing food a must if you are looking for a room in the area

Reviewed by
Michael Hanson

From Batley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing break
found the hotel very relaxing, loved the bath!!

Reviewed by
v evans

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little gem of a place

Reviewed by
a chowns

From Tipton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very welcoming place. exceptionlaly comfortable room. they even left some breakfast out for me despite the fact i had to leave very early.

Reviewed by
Christian S

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quirky place. Food goodl
Lovely quirky place although the door to my room was very low, good job I hadn't got my 6'2" husband with me. Room and Bed very comfortable and an extra treat was the fresh biscotti by the kettle.
Food good and although I was eating alone I didn't feel conspicuous.
Only downside for me was the heat in the room, the only way to regulate this seemed to be by opening a window.

Reviewed by
Jayne F

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good restauarant and excellent staff
We stayed here for the first time close to Art in Action at Waterperry Gardens. It calls itself a Restaurant with Rooms" and I think that is an excellent description. The overall impression is of very friendly service, excellent food and an adequate room. The restaurant is divided into several smallish areas and there are a number of tables outside which is good if the weather is hot. (it was!). The menu is heavily accented towards fish and is fairly expensive, but the quality was excellent and they were quite happy to serve starters as mains etc. Also great was the number of wines that you could buy just a glass off, rather thsan the usual one insipid hopuse wine. Overall an excellent restaurant. The breakfast was a bit disappointing - no fruit, for example, but the chef did manage to find some strawberries which helped. The room was fairly well appointed with small bottles of mineral water and a tea tray, and they did supply a small jug of fresh milk when we asked for it. But the room at the front was quite noisy as it faced the main road and the traffic started quite early. If you are sinsitive to noise, ask for a room at the back, although I don't imagine you can completely avoid the traffic noise.
Overall a good place to eat and to stay for a short while, a bit on the pricey side, but friendly people. We will stay here again.

Reviewed by
Philip K

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 3
Small bedroom with a large bathroom, staff very attentive, breakfast a little slow. Lovely restaurant and garden. Stayed here and used park and ride to oxford

Reviewed by
K Langstaff

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next