No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hayloft

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
242 High Street, , , Cottenham, CB24 8RZ
We will supply your bed and your breakfast as you would expect, but we also provide a beautifully designed kitchenette and lounge area for you to enjoy your most important meal of the day. The Hayloft offers the convenience of someone making your stay more comfortable, without the need to make polite conversation with other guests when you’d rather be enjoying your chance to relax. Guaranteeing privacy and comfort, the rustic charm of the property is perfectly balanced with modern and luxurious self-contained kitchenette and en suite facilities. If you are looking for a weekend bolthole, mid-week trip to Cambridge or a longer stay to explore the region further, The Hayloft is the perfect choice for anyone looking for boutique hotel standards without a massive price tag. We hope you’ll enjoy your stay and find The Hayloft a great resting place… .
Picture of The Hayloft, Cottenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky space in the hayloft which was very well thought out and nicely presented with everything we needed and some nice little touches. Ideal for us to have the extra space and armchairs after a long day at Wicken Fen. Breakfast was spot on and again lovely to have our own space before we set off the next day.

ManagementResponse

Hi Jill, Thank you for your review, I'm glad you got to relax after a long day cycling in the lounge area. I bet you slept well! Take care and hopefully we'll see you next time you're in the area. Best regards, Neil.

Reviewed by
jill d

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great room with en suite and kitchenette but the access was via a tight outside spiral staircase. I had some difficulty getting my small suitcase up and down, so the room may not be suitable for all. The double bed was very comfy and the location was handy for Cambridge, Anglesey Abbey and Wicken Fen.

ManagementResponse

Hi Josephine, Thank you for your review, the staircase is a little tight but it's an original feature and I think the Victorians must have a been dinky..! I'm glad you enjoyed everything else though, do give me a shout next time and I'll happily act as bell boy for you. Take care, Neil.

Reviewed by
Josephine M

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Nice, modern room, very clean and private. Peaceful location around the back of the owners house in the garden. Intersting access via the mini spiral staircase! Nice that they provide breakfast items - we dont eat bread, but we made an exception for the lovely croissants. Not too far from the Milton park and ride and a pretty decent (and dirt cheap) curry house just a minutes walk down the high street.

ManagementResponse

Paul, thank you for taking time to leave a review and I'm glad that you enjoyed your short break with us. Shame the bread didn't suit but glad you enjoyed the croissant and hopefully the fruit etc. Look forward to seeing you next time. Regards, Neil.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday in the Hayloft
Wonderful accommodation, very chic décor but still comfortable. The kitchenette and seating area were great and made it more relaxing rather than just having a bedroom. Really enjoyed the continental breakfast, especially the croissants and we felt there was more than enough for us, especially considering the price paid it was very good value. Beautiful closet however, I would prefer a wardrobe with hanging space but wasn't a big problem for a couple of days stay. Bathroom was fabulous but as often the case there was no shelf for toiletries. Only those slight negatives and we would definitely stay again and recommend to family and friends. We also had a lovely meal at The Chequers, friendly host and welcoming atmosphere.

ManagementResponse

Hi Jackie, Thank you for your glowing review, I look forward to seeing you, your family and friends again soon. Good to have some feedback about the Chequers, I haven't eaten there and it'll be handy to have somewhere else to recommend. Thanks again, Neil

Reviewed by
Jackie F

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real gem
this is a wonderful find. It is a welcome change to staying in a hotel or B&B. It is self contained and Neil rang to make sure I would be able to get in. The breakfast left was excellent and it was nice to have a microwave. In fact although we had planned to go out for a meal, we got something from the Co-Op nearby and heated it up and stayed in the cosy studio flat

ManagementResponse

Liz, thank you for reviewing us, I'm glad you took advantage of an evening in and enjoyed the Hayloft. It was nice to get your thank you email and I'm really pleased it was a good start to your holiday! I think the Co-op may need to start paying me a commission... Take care, Neil

Reviewed by
Liz P

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value - would certainly recommend.

ManagementResponse

Hi Mark, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay! Best regards, Neil.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Accommodation
We recently stayed overnight at The Hayloft, Cottenham and wish we could have stayed longer. The studio room was well equipped with very good quality fixtures and fittings. Lovely comfortable bed, sitting area with two comfortable chairs and small table, well equipped kitchen with small fridge and microwave, toaster and plenty of crockery and cutlery for two -even a teapot.! Food and drinks were more than adequate with a good selection of teas and coffees and for breakfast we were left fresh milk, orange juice, yoghurt, bottled water, bread, croissants, butter, preserves and fresh fruit. Loved the idea we could just get up and have breakfast when we wanted. Even the spiral staircase was no problem for "two seniors" and enjoyed the visit from the cat. It was easy to find having read that you need to look out for the Cambridge Building Society, go through the entrance into the car park at the side of it and entrance to the Hayloft is a gate in the fence on your left.

ManagementResponse

Hi Cynthia, I appreciate the feedback on your stay at the Hayloft, I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and like the way we've put the place together. Good to see you made friends with Ralph the cat! Many thanks and look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Neil.

Reviewed by
Cynthia B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hideaway!
The hayloft is a cosy hideaway situated just off of the high street which was very ideal for us. We stayed for two days and loved every minute we spent at the hayloft! It was great how we had our own privacy and was able to come and go as we pleased. Being just off of the high street was ideal! Finding parking spaces on the highstreet wasnt a problem at all, there was plenty of space! we was able to grab fish and chips and take them back and eat using the seating area and cutlery which was provided in the room which was great. The hayloft was spotless and the standard of cleanliness was very high! We was lucky and caught the lady who just cleaned and she said we was able to go up in the room as she had just been in to clean it, so we was able to check in 2 hours before check in time. We had two visitors from cats, we had the door open to get some air in and a ginger cat strolled in and made himself quite at home, then the other cat sneaked in and hid under the bed as we was trying to tempt the ginger cat out, but it was all good fun and both the cats were very friendly! The garden out the very back where the decking was just needed a bit of a tidy up as we would have liked to have sat out on the chairs in the garden, but this did not put a downer on the stay what so ever..the hayloft was beautiful! Overall we Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and didn't want our time at the hayloft to end!

ManagementResponse

Hi Atlanta, Thank you for your glowing review, it's always to hear from our guests. I'm very pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us, I think from memory the weather was kind to you too so hopefully you had a nice couple of days exploring Cambridge and the local area. I'm glad the cats were welcome visitors, Ralph the Ginger cat does like to check he's happy with the clientele... You obviously passed the test! Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and I hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Neil.

Reviewed by
Atlanta O

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved this place!
The Hayloft is a gorgeous place. Spotlessly clean, facilities are brilliant. Perfect place to chill after a busy day in Cambridge. Its quite hard to find so you need a satnav and I also saw a previous reviewer write that it was next to cambridge building society so once we found that we were there. Bed is very comfy, bathroom was lovely. Nice little touches like the fresh orange, bottled water and breakfast things being left was great. Had a problem connecting to the wifi but a quick text to Neil and it was sorted straight away. Spiral staircase is narrow but we only had overnight bags so not a problem. We were visited by a cat in middle of the night who tried to get in! But he soon went and returned in the morning.overall I can't say a bad thing about The Hayloft. Loved its peaceful location. Would definitely stay here again.

ManagementResponse

Hi Holly, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Hayloft, it's always great to have guest feedback. I do hope you come back soon for another Cambridge trip and look forward to seeing you again then! Best regards, Neil.

Reviewed by
Holly R

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Initially booked for myself and my wife, but changed to staying alone due to last minute alterations. Arrived at 16:00hrs on 26th to find breakfast for following morning already in the room. By morning, some seemed stale. Curtains/blinds allowed light to stream in at 4am. TV on wall bracket only allowed viewing from one angle and electric shower only delivered cold water. Never saw owners, so left money in room on departure.

ManagementResponse

Hi Eric, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We do leave the continental breakfast in the room so that you can have breakfast at your leisure, I'm surprised that some seemed stale as it's all fresh daily but I will review. We have double blinds so maybe you only dropped one set. The TV bracket actually swivels left to right and I'm not sure why you would have had an issue with the shower, it's a shame you didn't call the number left in the room as I could have popped across from the house and taken a look for you. We do mention in the welcome email that you gain access via a key safe and ask you to leave cash on the side but there is quite a bit of info so maybe you missed it. As always I'll review all of your comments and make any improvements I can. I can see that you left us top marks for cleanliness and quality so am glad your stay wasn't spoiled. Best regards, Neil.

Reviewed by
Eric M

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next