No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Buttery Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
11-12 Broad Street, , , Oxford, OX1 3AP
Set on the pedestrianised part of historic Broad Street, The Buttery is one of Oxford’s most central accommodation providers. All 16 rooms are en-suite, some with original fireplaces and are decorated in a neutral style with light colours. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of double, twin, single or family rooms. Deluxe rooms have views overlooking Broad Street and Balliol College and standard rooms look out onto Ship Street buildings. All rooms offer free broadband internet access, flat screen televisions, direct dial telephones, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and electric shaver points. Rates include breakfast, which is served downstairs in the Oxford Campus Buttery. Being centrally located we are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs offering a wide range of evening meal eating options. Links to public transport are easy, with the train station fifteen minutes walk or a short taxi ride away and the coach station even closer, five minutes walk at the most. Park and Ride bus stops are also only a few minutes walk from the door. Access is gained through the red door between Oxford Campus Stores and The Oxford Campus Butteery, after 6pm the door is shut and access is gained via an intercom on the left handside of the front door, our night porter ensures access is available throughout the night. Public parking facilities with payment meters are available nearby, however parking in the centre of Oxford is limited and expensive, we therefore recommend making use of the five Park and Ride sites that surround the city.
Picture of The Buttery Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in family room
We were a ; family of three wanting a hotel that was central as our daughter was attending an interview at oxford.the place was very central ,clean comfortable beds big room good value for money
Parking is:difficult as my husband had to move the car first thing in the morning from the space we had found .its-all park and ride in oxford.

Reviewed by
Susan S

From Nottinghamshire, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central, snug and friendly
Perfect for a night or 2 away from home - recommended.

Reviewed by
M Legg

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buttery Hotel Review
Happy with room

Reviewed by
Laurence Kirk

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed views
The single room I was in had a jammed (open) window so they moved me to another room (much nicer), but in the morning I found the shower did not work ...

Reviewed by
Richard S

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable and clean little hotel, right in the middle of Oxford.
The winding staircase up to reception might be a bit daunting to some, especially if you have a heavy suitcase. But all I need to do was ask for help, and it was given immediately with a smile!

Reviewed by
Lorraine T

From Helsinki, Finland
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location.
Amazingly perfect location on Broad Street overlooking Balliol College. If you want to be in the centre of things then this is it..

Reviewed by
G Smith

From Farnham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buttery Hotel
Fine, a little expensive and can be noisy as it is on Broad St, but very nice room.
The entrance is up some winding steep stairs, so could be a problem for anyone with mobility issues.
Overall good though

Reviewed by
L Kirk

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Great central location. Perfectly adequate for a night though room a bit like student accommodation. Tiny ensuite but clean.

Reviewed by
R Wright

From Enniskillen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great staff, great position
very good staff, especially Vicky, who was on reception the day I departed.
Will stay again.

Reviewed by
william b

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location is excellent (although a bit hard to find after dark). Room very comfortable. Room overlooking Balliol College frontage; Noisy due to numbers of young people enjoying the space on a warm September evening. Not the Buttery's making, but worth considering if you want a quiet night. Breakfast choice apparently constrained by listed building status, but perfectly adequate.

Reviewed by
Mark F

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next