No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Buttery Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
11-12 Broad Street, , Oxford, OX1 3AP
Set on the pedestrianised part of historic Broad Street, The Buttery is one of Oxford’s most central accommodation providers. All 16 rooms are en-suite, some with original fireplaces and are decorated in a neutral style with light colours. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of double, twin, single or family rooms. Deluxe rooms have views overlooking Broad Street and Balliol College and standard rooms look out onto Ship Street buildings. All rooms offer free broadband internet access, flat screen televisions, direct dial telephones, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and electric shaver points. Rates include breakfast, which is served downstairs in the Oxford Campus Buttery. Being centrally located we are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs offering a wide range of evening meal eating options. Links to public transport are easy, with the train station fifteen minutes walk or a short taxi ride away and the coach station even closer, five minutes walk at the most. Park and Ride bus stops are also only a few minutes walk from the door. Access is gained through the red door between Oxford Campus Stores and The Oxford Campus Butteery, after 6pm the door is shut and access is gained via an intercom on the left handside of the front door, our night porter ensures access is available throughout the night. Public parking facilities with payment meters are available nearby, however parking in the centre of Oxford is limited and expensive, we therefore recommend making use of the five Park and Ride sites that surround the city.
Picture of The Buttery Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Great location and very serviceable room. Perfect for a short stay over and best value in central oxford

Reviewed by
Peter A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable central hotel
Couldn't be better located in the heart of Oxford near many of the sights, restaurants and shops. My only gripe was that there was quite alot of noise from the street so I would bring ear plugs next time.

Reviewed by
Jane L

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location
Excellent location - so central in Oxford - but somewhat disappointing quality in the details. Net curtains were split - and felt worn. An air conditioning unit was provided - large and free standing ( in the way) in the room with pipes out of the window so it was not possible to shut the window.
The hospitality tray was not thoroughly restocked each day so we had to request it at Reception - Staff there were helpful. Breakfast was basic in the cafe attached ... but service lacked attention to detail & was inconsistent day by day.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth H

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Location
Nice guest house, friendly staff
The hotel is centrally located and ideal for getting around to see Oxford which was great.
Rooms had air conditioning unit as we were at the top of the hotel. This was a nice thought and saved us having to ask for a fan. Room clean and comfortable.
The breakfast is in a back room from the cafe and whilst ok was not the best we had experienced. Due to the builkding being listed you could not have fried eggs, which was not a problem however it would be nice to have an alternative to scrambled. We were not offered a refill of tea or coffee, no extra toast. Plus no sauces or condiments. But all in all the breakfast was ok.

Reviewed by
G Mellor

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location
Had a great time staying in The Buttery Hotel as it's just near for most of the tourist spots around the university... restaurants and shops are just around 5 mins walk away from the hotel. Tourist information is just next door so it's easy if you want to have a walking or city tour. Only thing I encountered on my second is the slow connection of wifi..other than that, all great.

Reviewed by
Jane M

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very handy place for exploring Oxford
Enjoyed stay in perfect city location. Just one gripe...yours is the only hotel among thousands I've stayed at (I'm 78) where, at breakfast, you are stuck with scrambled eggs Every morning. I requested fried eggs on toast and the waitress looked at me as though I'd ordered lobster thermidor.
Also, there was no warning a) about the difficult stairs or b) that the Buttery is a guest house, without bar or lounge.

Reviewed by
Charles Fisher

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location in the city heart
The location is perfect. If you are driving, unload you luggage first. Ask the front desk staff and they will tell you the nearest parking area is about 5 minutes walking distance (Opposite Puri-puri). Breakfast was good and portion was big but make sure you are the early bird. If not, you may need to stand and wait.

Reviewed by
S Tan

From Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Great very friendly service

Reviewed by
R Avloniti

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable room, excellent location. Gluten free bread available for breakfast - just had to ask for butter. Asked for ketchup which I never got...

Reviewed by
S Ward

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would recommend The Buttery in Oxford to everyone. Pleasant,helpful staff, good value, terrific location, and the full English breakfast was 1st rate. Couldn't be happier with the experience.
Thanks for making our visit to Oxford special.
Pat & Carole Gerster
Santa Cruz, California USA

Reviewed by
P Gerster

From Santa Cruz, USA
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next