Reviews - The Buttery Hotel


11 Broad Street, ,, Oxford, OX1 3AP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (63)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Monica N

  • May 2014

Excellent location

Small, quiet room towards back.

Help with luggage in steep stairs.

  • Helen Wilson

  • May 2014

A very comfortable bed.

Lovely staff.

  • June S

  • April 2014

Everything fine, but many metal-edged winding stairs to get from street to Reception, then more to room and others to breakfast at street level: not for uncertain legs or the faint-hearted

  • Warren G

  • April 2014

A good choice for Oxford

Only stayed one night, but a good experience overall.

Very friendly and helpful reception staff, pleasant room (not huge, but enough for a short break), clean and easy to find. Well situated for the city centre, and reasonably priced (at least in terms of Oxford hotel prices generally...!). Couldn't fault the breakfast, and the small cafe was pleasant too. We took a taxi to the O2 Academy in the evening, although realised that it wasn't really all that far away so could walk back afterwards. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Oxford in the future.

  • John T

  • April 2014

Oxford in April

Rather strange hotel with entrance squeezed between a café and a shop.

Very steep stairs to the rooms and breakfast is served in the attached café rather than in a separate restaurant. Staff very friendly and helpful and willing to move luggage if required/. Rather expensive for quality of hotel but location is very central so this compensates.

  • Tamara D

  • April 2014

Excellent and couldn't ask for better location

When I read that the buttery was in the centre of Oxford, I didn't realise just how central it meant.

You can't get any more central than this hotel. The hotel was clean and lovely, very comfortable beds and very quiet and relaxing. I actually booked this hotel the night before I stayed there as I had been offered a job interview last minute, and couldn't believe How cheap I got such an amazing room for so late.

I didn't like the food hit food very much, but I am an awfully picky eater. For any normal eater there is loads to choose from; pastries, cereals, fruits, juices, all sorts if cooked breakfasts and porridge. Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Jenny W

  • April 2014

Amazing location!

I would have rated this stay with 100% satisfaction, but my only gripe was that the cooked breakfast we had came virtually stone cold.

It was really disappointing after what had been a very good experience at this hotel. Would still return though for its excellent location alone.

  • Tekla S

  • March 2014

Perfect for a business trip - Neat, clean room and great customer service!

I had a pleasant stay at the Buttery, which is located very centrally on a picturesque street in Oxford.

As a lone female I felt at ease.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and had everything I needed. The shower was also great. Breakfast was lovely and my stay was problem free and enjoyable.

  • D Hay

  • March 2014

The hotel location was central, the downside being very noisy at night with people on Broad St making merry.

One of the beds had very noisy springs. Otherwise it was clean and the shower was powerful for a top floor room. Breakfast was taken in the cafe downstairs and was a bit disappointing. There was too much food but the beans were cold and only scrambled eggs were available. Parking is a bit of a problem. We chose to park in the west gate car park for £25. This does add to the cost. I would return there as it was very convenient.

  • Nathan W

  • March 2014

A great bargain in the heart of Oxford

A really lovely place to stay right in the centre of Oxford, directly opposite Trinity and Balliol Colleges.

Very quiet and clean, with attractive decoration. The English breakfast is very good.