No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Buttery Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
11-12 Broad Street, , Oxford, OX1 3AP
Set on the pedestrianised part of historic Broad Street, The Buttery is one of Oxford’s most central accommodation providers. All 16 rooms are en-suite, some with original fireplaces and are decorated in a neutral style with light colours. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of double, twin, single or family rooms. Deluxe rooms have views overlooking Broad Street and Balliol College and standard rooms look out onto Ship Street buildings. All rooms offer free broadband internet access, flat screen televisions, direct dial telephones, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and electric shaver points. Rates include breakfast, which is served downstairs in the Oxford Campus Buttery. Being centrally located we are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs offering a wide range of evening meal eating options. Links to public transport are easy, with the train station fifteen minutes walk or a short taxi ride away and the coach station even closer, five minutes walk at the most. Park and Ride bus stops are also only a few minutes walk from the door. Access is gained through the red door between Oxford Campus Stores and The Oxford Campus Butteery, after 6pm the door is shut and access is gained via an intercom on the left handside of the front door, our night porter ensures access is available throughout the night. Public parking facilities with payment meters are available nearby, however parking in the centre of Oxford is limited and expensive, we therefore recommend making use of the five Park and Ride sites that surround the city.
Picture of The Buttery Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would recommend The Buttery in Oxford to everyone. Pleasant,helpful staff, good value, terrific location, and the full English breakfast was 1st rate. Couldn't be happier with the experience.
Thanks for making our visit to Oxford special.
Pat & Carole Gerster
Santa Cruz, California USA

Reviewed by
P Gerster

From Santa Cruz, USA
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, friendly and very central
I stayed at The Buttery for one night and was delighted by it. It's incredibly central, the staff are very friendly and informative and the room was lovely. It certainly exceeded my expectations and I would definitely recommend it.

Reviewed by
Marguerite M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great for short break
Could only stay one night, very happy with accommodation, central, good size, quiet room, good breakfast - all at excellent value

Reviewed by
W Morgan

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient hotel with no issues
Hotel is well located, clean and all the staff were friendly. The room was a little bit small but was fine since I was travelling alone.

Reviewed by
O Martins-Tonks

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Excellent Place to Stay
A lovely hotel with really welcoming staff. My shower wasn't working, for some reason, but I didn't mind having a bath. A bit pricey, perhaps, but the location is great.

Reviewed by
Nathan W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location. Old building with lots of stairs.
The location was very central. Unfortunately, there was no long term parking. There are a dozen or so short term parking spaces good for one hour. Surprisingly, there were spaces available. We arrived late and left early, so we were able to park during unenforced hours. However, the parking situation could be problematic for some.
This is an old building (the floors aren't level), so there is no elevator. Expect to climb some stairs. This would prove to be a significant problem for some disabled people.

Reviewed by
Gary C

From Vancouver, USA
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, great location but don't go for the deluxe double room !
Great location, nice and central which is a double edged sword! We had the deluxe double room right opposite the reception area so not only could we hear the 24 hour reception (mercifully relatively quiet over night) but we heard every sound from the pedestrian area outside. They could do with upgrading the windows to offer a little sound proofing although I would imagine there are restrictions on the type of windows you can use in a lovely old building like this. The bed was also very very squeaky. Otherwise a lovely place with loads of character and friendly staff. I would stay again but only in a room at the back of the hotel.

Reviewed by
A Taylor

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and central
Very centrally located. Helpful and friendly service. Nice breakfast. Excellent bathroom. Good value. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
David J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, really good value
Despite the initial student feel of the place - steep winding staircases, basic carpets, my room was nicely furnished, very clean and comfortable. I slept really well. The location was excellent, right on Broad Street and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
R Sestini

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant staff and great scrambled eggs!
I had a lovely stay - the only negative was that the room (at the top of the building) was far too hot - even with the window wide open all night. No aircon but they found me a fan for my room for the second night which made it much better.
Great service and, as the title says, the scrambled eggs for breakfast were lovely!

Reviewed by
P Neal

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next