No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Buttery Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
11-12 Broad Street, , Oxford, OX1 3AP
Set on the pedestrianised part of historic Broad Street, The Buttery is one of Oxford’s most central accommodation providers. All 16 rooms are en-suite, some with original fireplaces and are decorated in a neutral style with light colours. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of double, twin, single or family rooms. Deluxe rooms have views overlooking Broad Street and Balliol College and standard rooms look out onto Ship Street buildings. All rooms offer free broadband internet access, flat screen televisions, direct dial telephones, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and electric shaver points. Rates include breakfast, which is served downstairs in the Oxford Campus Buttery. Being centrally located we are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs offering a wide range of evening meal eating options. Links to public transport are easy, with the train station fifteen minutes walk or a short taxi ride away and the coach station even closer, five minutes walk at the most. Park and Ride bus stops are also only a few minutes walk from the door. Access is gained through the red door between Oxford Campus Stores and The Oxford Campus Butteery, after 6pm the door is shut and access is gained via an intercom on the left handside of the front door, our night porter ensures access is available throughout the night. Public parking facilities with payment meters are available nearby, however parking in the centre of Oxford is limited and expensive, we therefore recommend making use of the five Park and Ride sites that surround the city.
Picture of The Buttery Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent city break
great hotel in an excellent central location, staff very friendly, helpful and welcoming, spacious room and en-suite, outstanding breakfast, what more could you want. used the park and ride, instead of parking in the city, which works very well. all round excellent weekend.

Reviewed by
p durham

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheerful and accommodating
Excellent rooms and service, due to rail problems had to stay another night and went straight back to this hotel, got last room.

Reviewed by
Robert C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central with Character
The Buttery could not be more central and some reviews therefore suggest it is noisy but we did not find it unreasonably so and slept well in the very comfy bed. Beutiful building, staff very friendly and helpful and whilst not inexpensive, not too bad for central Oxford, so would happily recommend to anyone wanting to be in the thick of it.

Reviewed by
Charles W

From Axbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for one night.
The location itself is impressive being opposite the college and on a pedestrianised road. The hotel itself I felt a little let down. The good points - the hotel staff are friendly and the bed is very comfy. The niggly points parking is an issue unless you know the area and the lady on reception didn't really know where to direct us for suitable parking so we ended up travelling back out of town to the park and ride. Handing the room key in everytime you exit your room and retrieving on return was a little annoying. The tv in the room can only be 15inch if that and for the size of the room is tiny the sound quality is also very poor. The breakfast wasn't great parts were lukewarm and most of it looked and tasted microwaved.
We visited on a weekend and there isn't double glazing so noise out the front goes on until well into the night and internal doors can be heard opening and shutting within the hotel. Overall its fine for an overnight stay But I wouldn't choose to stay again.

Reviewed by
R Grant

From Chelmsford, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic location
Very nice clean room. excellent location.

Reviewed by
j harding

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent New Years Stay!
My partner and I booked a double room with Breakfast for New Years Eve at the Buttery Hotel for £89.00. On Boxing day we invited his brother and his partner to join us and so after one too many glasses of wine I rang the Buttery at about 10pm to amend my booking. The staff were incredibly helpful and we were swapped to a family room sleeping upto 5 persons costing £165.00 (actually saved us a few quid!). On arrival the Reception staff were incredibly friendly. Our room looked out over broad street and was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was spotless and had lovely complimentary soaps/shampoo etc. Towels were good quality too. We left for the evening at around 7, and guests are asked to leave keys with Reception which was fine - saved us having to carry it about! We returned at 2am and were greeted with friendly staff again! The beds were comfortable and we slept well - even the sofa bed! Breakfast was served in the Café below which was charming. Full English was lovely and porridge was wholegrain and plentiful. Again staff were nothing but delightful. Upon checking out we commented on how nice our stay had been. Thanks to all at the Buttery! :)

Reviewed by
A Grant

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly welcome and everyone helpful. It is in a great place in the heart of Oxford.
I was concerned that it might be noisy as it is on a main road but it is on the part of the road which does not have much traffic. There was the most wonderful Christmas tree which was lit up and very close to The Buttery. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Oxford.

Reviewed by
Lorraine S

From Hayling Island, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fab place to stay in the heart of Oxford
A lovely little guest house in the heart of Oxford. It doesn't get more central or convenient than The buttery in the heart of Oxford. When you get up, eat breakfast you just go out the front door and everything is at your feet. The staff were friendly, accommodating and personable. I'd definitely stay there again!

Reviewed by
J O

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful staff, very noisy guests came in the middle of the night, night porter tried to make sure they were quiet (very much appreciated), however the rooms are not very soundproof. Maybe it would have been better in a different room.

Reviewed by
Claudia M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay for couple
Nice room, friendly staff and good breakfast. Quiet room even though hotel is in centre of Oxford. Room a little too warm - so opened windows.

Reviewed by
Raymond B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next