No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Buttery Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
11-12 Broad Street, , Oxford, OX1 3AP
Set on the pedestrianised part of historic Broad Street, The Buttery is one of Oxford’s most central accommodation providers. All 16 rooms are en-suite, some with original fireplaces and are decorated in a neutral style with light colours. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of double, twin, single or family rooms. Deluxe rooms have views overlooking Broad Street and Balliol College and standard rooms look out onto Ship Street buildings. All rooms offer free broadband internet access, flat screen televisions, direct dial telephones, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and electric shaver points. Rates include breakfast, which is served downstairs in the Oxford Campus Buttery. Being centrally located we are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs offering a wide range of evening meal eating options. Links to public transport are easy, with the train station fifteen minutes walk or a short taxi ride away and the coach station even closer, five minutes walk at the most. Park and Ride bus stops are also only a few minutes walk from the door. Access is gained through the red door between Oxford Campus Stores and The Oxford Campus Butteery, after 6pm the door is shut and access is gained via an intercom on the left handside of the front door, our night porter ensures access is available throughout the night. Public parking facilities with payment meters are available nearby, however parking in the centre of Oxford is limited and expensive, we therefore recommend making use of the five Park and Ride sites that surround the city.
Picture of The Buttery Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable bed. Lovely staff.

Reviewed by
Helen Wilson

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything fine, but many metal-edged winding stairs to get from street to Reception, then more to room and others to breakfast at street level: not for uncertain legs or the faint-hearted

Reviewed by
June S

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good choice for Oxford
Only stayed one night, but a good experience overall. Very friendly and helpful reception staff, pleasant room (not huge, but enough for a short break), clean and easy to find. Well situated for the city centre, and reasonably priced (at least in terms of Oxford hotel prices generally...!). Couldn't fault the breakfast, and the small cafe was pleasant too. We took a taxi to the O2 Academy in the evening, although realised that it wasn't really all that far away so could walk back afterwards. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Oxford in the future.

Reviewed by
Warren G

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oxford in April
Rather strange hotel with entrance squeezed between a café and a shop. Very steep stairs to the rooms and breakfast is served in the attached café rather than in a separate restaurant. Staff very friendly and helpful and willing to move luggage if required/. Rather expensive for quality of hotel but location is very central so this compensates.

Reviewed by
John T

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent and couldn't ask for better location
When I read that the buttery was in the centre of Oxford, I didn't realise just how central it meant! You can't get any more central than this hotel. The hotel was clean and lovely, very comfortable beds and very quiet and relaxing. I actually booked this hotel the night before I stayed there as I had been offered a job interview last minute, and couldn't believe How cheap I got such an amazing room for so late.
I didn't like the food hit food very much, but I am an awfully picky eater. For any normal eater there is loads to choose from; pastries, cereals, fruits, juices, all sorts if cooked breakfasts and porridge. Would highly recommend this hotel!

Reviewed by
Tamara D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing location!
I would have rated this stay with 100% satisfaction, but my only gripe was that the cooked breakfast we had came virtually stone cold. It was really disappointing after what had been a very good experience at this hotel. Would still return though for its excellent location alone.

Reviewed by
Jenny W

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a business trip - Neat, clean room and great customer service!
I had a pleasant stay at the Buttery, which is located very centrally on a picturesque street in Oxford. As a lone female I felt at ease.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and had everything I needed. The shower was also great! Breakfast was lovely and my stay was problem free and enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Tekla S

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel location was central, the downside being very noisy at night with people on Broad St making merry. One of the beds had very noisy springs. Otherwise it was clean and the shower was powerful for a top floor room.
Breakfast was taken in the cafe downstairs and was a bit disappointing. There was too much food but the beans were cold and only scrambled eggs were available.
Parking is a bit of a problem. We chose to park in the west gate car park for £25. This does add to the cost.
I would return there as it was very convenient.

Reviewed by
D Hay

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great bargain in the heart of Oxford
A really lovely place to stay right in the centre of Oxford, directly opposite Trinity and Balliol Colleges. Very quiet and clean, with attractive decoration. The English breakfast is very good.

Reviewed by
Nathan W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Centeral and quirky
Good location opposite baliol. Very close to bus stops from park and ride. Reception excellent. We left the bags there while visiting the museums. Breakfast served in the coffee shop. Okay but basic.

Reviewed by
Alison A

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next