No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Buttery Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
11-12 Broad Street, , , Oxford, OX1 3AP
Set on the pedestrianised part of historic Broad Street, The Buttery is one of Oxford’s most central accommodation providers. All 16 rooms are en-suite, some with original fireplaces and are decorated in a neutral style with light colours. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of double, twin, single or family rooms. Deluxe rooms have views overlooking Broad Street and Balliol College and standard rooms look out onto Ship Street buildings. All rooms offer free broadband internet access, flat screen televisions, direct dial telephones, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryers and electric shaver points. Rates include breakfast, which is served downstairs in the Oxford Campus Buttery. Being centrally located we are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs offering a wide range of evening meal eating options. Links to public transport are easy, with the train station fifteen minutes walk or a short taxi ride away and the coach station even closer, five minutes walk at the most. Park and Ride bus stops are also only a few minutes walk from the door. Access is gained through the red door between Oxford Campus Stores and The Oxford Campus Butteery, after 6pm the door is shut and access is gained via an intercom on the left handside of the front door, our night porter ensures access is available throughout the night. Public parking facilities with payment meters are available nearby, however parking in the centre of Oxford is limited and expensive, we therefore recommend making use of the five Park and Ride sites that surround the city.
Picture of The Buttery Hotel, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location for a short city break
The staff were very polite and service was good.
The room was clean and spacious, though a little tired looking in places. I had no complaints, and the hotel was fine for my short stay.
It has a good location off the city centre, with great access to public transport.

Reviewed by
Lee B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, staff really friendly. Breakfast was horrible - full English.

Reviewed by
L Bennett

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem right in the centre of the city
FInding a hotel near to the areas one wants to visit is always welcome.The Buttery is right on one of the main historic streets of Oxford and it was a pleasure to come and go so easily during my recent stay.The staff were so kind and welcoming and always greeted me with a smile.
It will be somewhere I will come back to many more times during my frequent visits to the city.

Reviewed by
Rachael M

From Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small friendly city centre hotel

Reviewed by
M Wang

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
Small, quiet room towards back. Help with luggage in steep stairs.

Reviewed by
Monica N

From Sweden
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable bed. Lovely staff.

Reviewed by
Helen Wilson

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything fine, but many metal-edged winding stairs to get from street to Reception, then more to room and others to breakfast at street level: not for uncertain legs or the faint-hearted

Reviewed by
June S

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good choice for Oxford
Only stayed one night, but a good experience overall. Very friendly and helpful reception staff, pleasant room (not huge, but enough for a short break), clean and easy to find. Well situated for the city centre, and reasonably priced (at least in terms of Oxford hotel prices generally...!). Couldn't fault the breakfast, and the small cafe was pleasant too. We took a taxi to the O2 Academy in the evening, although realised that it wasn't really all that far away so could walk back afterwards. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Oxford in the future.

Reviewed by
Warren G

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oxford in April
Rather strange hotel with entrance squeezed between a café and a shop. Very steep stairs to the rooms and breakfast is served in the attached café rather than in a separate restaurant. Staff very friendly and helpful and willing to move luggage if required/. Rather expensive for quality of hotel but location is very central so this compensates.

Reviewed by
John T

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent and couldn't ask for better location
When I read that the buttery was in the centre of Oxford, I didn't realise just how central it meant! You can't get any more central than this hotel. The hotel was clean and lovely, very comfortable beds and very quiet and relaxing. I actually booked this hotel the night before I stayed there as I had been offered a job interview last minute, and couldn't believe How cheap I got such an amazing room for so late.
I didn't like the food hit food very much, but I am an awfully picky eater. For any normal eater there is loads to choose from; pastries, cereals, fruits, juices, all sorts if cooked breakfasts and porridge. Would highly recommend this hotel!

Reviewed by
Tamara D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next