No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown & Horns

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Compton Road, , , East Ilsley, RG20 7LH
The Crown & Horns is a beautifully renovated and refurbished country inn nestled in the heart of West Berkshire's racing countryside with Newbury racecourse only 11 miles away. Our 11 individually designed en-suite rooms (from £55 per room per night) are clustered around a kitchen courtyard, and with roaring log fires, oak beams, lots of real ales and simple, fresh, locally sourced food, The Crown & Horns is the perfect stop over for business and leisure travellers. Didcot town centre is 8 miles, Newbury 10 miles and Oxford 23 miles from the Crown & Horns Inn. Free on-site parking is available and the A34/M4 motorway junction is a 3 minute drive away. We are open all day every day from 12 noon, and serve food 12-3(ish) and 6-10(ish), although we always have sandwiches, sharing platter and pizzas available if you get peckish through the afternoon! So whether it's Mum's birthday, your wedding anniversary or you just fancy a couple of pints with friends, you'll be well looked after. Each of our 11 en-suite rooms is individually designed providing the style, charm and comfort you'd expect at prices you wouldn't. Every bedroom has all the things you really need and none of the things you don't - a piping hot power shower (some with baths), professional hairdryer, sumptuous linen, flat screen TV, free WIFI and mugs of tea and coffee. The village of East Ilsley, which can be traced back to the Domesday Book, is situated in the North Wessex Downs, in Berkshire, England in an area of outstanding natural beauty just off The Ridgeway. The village was historically noted for its great Sheep Fairs, and more recently for its horse-racing connections.
Picture of The Crown & Horns, East Ilsley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant
A very nice pub/inn in a pretty village. My room was pleasantly decorated and had an excellent shower. The whole place was very hot and stuffy though.

Reviewed by
K Peachey

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for our overnight stay
Great feel at this country pub-restaurant. High quality dinner and breakfast. Room was well equipped, comfy bed, clean and great shower. Room a bit hot on the very sunny day that we arrived but otherwise loved this place. 10-12 mins from Newbury that we were visiting the next day. Great value for money

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant staff very clean room
Would definitely stay here again, very clean .

Reviewed by
philippa c

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Genuinely friendly staff where nothing is too much trouble made this a great stay. The pub itself seemed popular with locals so can be a little noisy at weekends if your'e after somewhere quiet but is literally on the doorstep of some beautiful countryside to go and explore as we did. We ate here both nights of our stay and the homemade food was some of the tastiest and best quality we have eaten, though more restaurant than pub prices.
The room wasn't very big but was well furnished with a comfortable king size bed and nice decor and finishing touches, making it feel more like someone's house than a hotel. We had a double sized walk-in shower though some rooms are fitted with a bath. Everything was spotlessly clean and housekeeping came after our first night which some hotels don't do.
If your'e after a good value and friendly village pub to come and re-charge your batteries this is perfect for a weekend break, we would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
paul s

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable room and helpful staff although a little noisy on a summers day.
The staff and the room were fantastic. The only slight criticism we had was that as the rooms are situated around the beer garden, on a sunny evening it was quite noisy. This wouldn't put me off staying here again though.

Reviewed by
Benjamin L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
Stayed in room 1, bed was exceptionally comfortable and clean. Other than TV types telling each other how good they each were and very loadly the restaurant was to be recommended.
I will stay here again but take care when choosing a table in the restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
John Taylor

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wish our stay was longer!
The Crown and Horns was very inviting, with an open wood fire in the cosy bar serving real ales and a very friendly welcome on arrival. We had room 6 which was very clean and had a good size double bed, comfortable with good bedding. Excellent shower and facilities. Room was big enough for us and had everything we needed (including free WiFi), also room was quiet and nicely designed.
Evening meal was really excellent quality and value (there was a good range of menu choices), service was good and very friendly. We managed a Full English Breakfast next morning, which was excellent and great value. Must find an excuse to stay again! Will recommend the Crown and Horns to family and friends.

Reviewed by
Robert S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice
Very nice and clean, great service and lovely food! Thankyou :)

Reviewed by
Max Spencer

From Baldock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
Very nice pub with rooms, better than most 3* hotels great room to a very high standard. Excellent restaurant superb food , will stay again.

Reviewed by
I JOHNSON

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

me & my husband travel around the world. This hotel was one of the ones I will have great memories
The food was great
The service was great
The room was great
The decor and facilities were great and to be honest I would have paid a lot more.x

Reviewed by
alison quinn

From Market Rasen, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next