No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown & Horns

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Compton Road, , , East Ilsley, RG20 7LH
The Crown & Horns is a beautifully renovated and refurbished country inn nestled in the heart of West Berkshire's racing countryside with Newbury racecourse only 11 miles away. Our 11 individually designed en-suite rooms (from £55 per room per night) are clustered around a kitchen courtyard, and with roaring log fires, oak beams, lots of real ales and simple, fresh, locally sourced food, The Crown & Horns is the perfect stop over for business and leisure travellers. Didcot town centre is 8 miles, Newbury 10 miles and Oxford 23 miles from the Crown & Horns Inn. Free on-site parking is available and the A34/M4 motorway junction is a 3 minute drive away. We are open all day every day from 12 noon, and serve food 12-3(ish) and 6-10(ish), although we always have sandwiches, sharing platter and pizzas available if you get peckish through the afternoon! So whether it's Mum's birthday, your wedding anniversary or you just fancy a couple of pints with friends, you'll be well looked after. Each of our 11 en-suite rooms is individually designed providing the style, charm and comfort you'd expect at prices you wouldn't. Every bedroom has all the things you really need and none of the things you don't - a piping hot power shower (some with baths), professional hairdryer, sumptuous linen, flat screen TV, free WIFI and mugs of tea and coffee. The village of East Ilsley, which can be traced back to the Domesday Book, is situated in the North Wessex Downs, in Berkshire, England in an area of outstanding natural beauty just off The Ridgeway. The village was historically noted for its great Sheep Fairs, and more recently for its horse-racing connections.
Picture of The Crown & Horns, East Ilsley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Recently renovated country pub with fantastic contemporary bedrooms and wonderful food. Excellent value for money and we would definitely return. Far superior to many Holiday Inns!

Reviewed by
Wendy B

From Tadcaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good place to stay, very friendly staff and very accommodating.
would definitely recommend to anyone and everyone

Reviewed by
S Davies

From Builth Wells, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic atmosphere and friendly staff. The room was immaculate and showed attention to detail you just don't usually find.
Would recommend to anyone to stay in this establishment.

Reviewed by
S Brant

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good.

Reviewed by
K Weston

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The customer service was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and well presented. The food was great

Reviewed by
T Scanlon

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

efficient check in, welcoming service, delicious food served despite rather late hour, tastefully decorated room with all facilities you might need - recommended!

Reviewed by
Magdalena G

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pub, great food and good quality accommodation

Reviewed by
Martin L

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent country escape
Although we didn't have dinner here as we had booked a table at Marco Pierre whites restaurant the menu looked lovely and we will return to sample it. I couldn't fault the staff nor the room and the rates were definitely value for money as I would have been happy to pay more.

Reviewed by
amanda davies

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay - recommend
Highly recommend: friendly, efficient staff, good food, small but well-thought out room. We booked last minute, stayed when heavily pregnant on a night before a wedding locally and were very impressed. Recently changed ownership apparently - they've done well.

Reviewed by
Chris C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

COUNTRY RETREAT
Excellent accommodation, great location, good value for money, lovely food & very friendly service.

Reviewed by
RUTH G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next