No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Falcons Nest

3AA Assessed Apartment Ratings explained
Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation, The Heath, St Ives Road, Woodhurst, PE28 3BT
The Falcons Nest offers 3 star guest accommodation in the peaceful grounds of the Raptor Foundation. The Raptor Foundation provided sanctuary for a variety of Birds of Prey as well as running various courses and attractions. Fall asleep with the soft hooting of owls and get free entry to see them while you stay with us. North across the fields from St. Ives, this village is the finest example in Britain of a "Ring Village", retaining its tight little street layout and encircling road of a type found in dense woodland about 1,300 years ago. The woods have long since disappeared but the overall circle road is still there. A pair of fire hooks, used to remove the thatch from burning buildings, are preserved on a wall in the village. There has been a church in the village since before the Conquest and parts of the present building date from the 12th Century. Cast your 'eagle eye' over the old riverside town of St Ives, near historic Cambridge. New purpose built accommodation each with kitchen facilities and shower room. Have a breakfast in Silent Wings restaurant.
Picture of Falcons Nest, Woodhurst at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
The most unusual place I have stayed in sometime!
Could not fault accommodation. Very clean and comfortable.
The fact it was right inside bird sanctuary was fine. No noise issues at all.
Roomy accommodation well fitted out.
Bed a little hard but comfortable enough.
Fridge and microwave very useful (small carton of milk provided in fridge on arrival)!
Location is a little remote but st.ives within 7 miles or so and it has all you need.
Couple of quibbles our room number 3 had a bathroom designed for a disabled client and the shower is set very low and is only a wet room. Would be easy to arrange to move it higher.
Also there was no microwaveable bowls etc - so it would be difficult to hear up beans etc.
But these are minor points.
Breakfast is available for reasonable price in centre cafe. I had it one morning. Quality was fine.
For the price this is excellent for a short stay.

Reviewed by
J Jobling

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place - great value for money
Great little place - very quiet and very freindly staff. Rooms were comfortable and had everything we needed
Nice touch that you also get free entry to the park which we really enjoyed! Beautiful birds and well maintained park.

Reviewed by
Jon H

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent accommodation and we would recommend it to anyone. Staff were perfect.
The added advantage of free entry to the Rapture Fundation on site was a real bonus.
100s of owls and other birds of prey in natural style well kept enclosures plus regular flying displays, cnservation, rescue and breeding programmes. Make this a MUST visit even if you don't stay in the purpose built accommodation. Definitely not to be missed.

Reviewed by
M Woollard

From tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standard flat good, super flat luxuriously set up . Raptor centre very good with flying 3x daily.
No one on reception if you arrive after 5pm , no one answered the help phone. Laterooms should advise the room number on the confirmation. Only 5 minutes to 7-11 Tesco for breakfast supplies etc, goodcafe on site.

Reviewed by
Cecil W

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place
Brilliant little place. Rather unique being on a bird sanctuary. The wet room is a nice touch. The kitchen area was a god send while working away. I definitely would stay there again.

Reviewed by
E Braidwood

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation with a difference !

Reviewed by
Brian P

From Callington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal accommodation
Everything about our 1-night stay was good. The room was very spacious, spotlessly clean, beautifully comfortable and well appointed with some pleasing extras. Having the opportunity to visit the Raptor Centre free as part of the package was an added bonus.

Reviewed by
Martin H

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, especially for the money
Great place, quite, clean and the Raptor Park is excellent, would definitely book again if this way.

Reviewed by
Marc C

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved the birds.room good but long way from being "luxury", staff helpfull but the shower didn't work

Reviewed by
Alexander Sangster

From Harrogate, England
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic weekend
I've stayed at the Falcon's Nest last year and had to go back there for the long weekend. The accommodation is lovely and means we can cook (using the microwave) if we don't want to spend money eating out. What makes this place so special is that you receive free entry to the bird of prey centre and at night time, you can hear the birds hooting. I would definitely go back again.

Reviewed by
Laura K

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next