No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Falcons Nest

3AA Assessed Apartment Ratings explained
Falcons Nest at The Raptor Foundation, The Heath, St Ives Road, Woodhurst, PE28 3BT
The Falcons Nest offers 3 star guest accommodation in the peaceful grounds of the Raptor Foundation. The Raptor Foundation provided sanctuary for a variety of Birds of Prey as well as running various courses and attractions. Fall asleep with the soft hooting of owls and get free entry to see them while you stay with us. North across the fields from St. Ives, this village is the finest example in Britain of a "Ring Village", retaining its tight little street layout and encircling road of a type found in dense woodland about 1,300 years ago. The woods have long since disappeared but the overall circle road is still there. A pair of fire hooks, used to remove the thatch from burning buildings, are preserved on a wall in the village. There has been a church in the village since before the Conquest and parts of the present building date from the 12th Century. Cast your 'eagle eye' over the old riverside town of St Ives, near historic Cambridge. New purpose built accommodation each with kitchen facilities and shower room. Have a breakfast in Silent Wings restaurant.
Picture of Falcons Nest, Woodhurst at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent B&B
What a place to stay 5 stars all round and a bird of prey sanctuary adjoining it which guest can look round.

Reviewed by
P Bell

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect location
loved hearing the birds during the day and night. ample parking. great full English

Reviewed by
Tamara Dickinson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place
Great accomdation. Very cheap for the area and very large spacious rooms.
Free entry to the bird show is a great touch. I'll defo be staying here again when I'm next in the area.

Reviewed by
C Walton

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
We were pleasantly surprised at our accommodation, we had a little apartment, very clean with comfy beds and good quality bedding.
Our stay also entitled us to entry to the bird sanctuary, very interesting and enjoyable, we will defiantly return and bring our granddaughter next time.

Reviewed by
Janet F

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unique accommodation
This was the most amazing and unusual place we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Extremely clean, spacious and very comfortable. The well equipped kitchen area proved very useful and the free admission to the falcons was a fantastic bonus.

Reviewed by
Janet O

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stayed at falcons nest several times as it's close to where my son lives. It's always been a pleasant experience. The rooms are comfortable and clean

Reviewed by
b phare

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good

Reviewed by
kevin s

From mill hill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value with style
I don't usually need a B&B near St Ives as I usually stay with my brother but on this occasion he already had guests for a family party so I had to stay elsewhere.
We knew we'd be arriving after the Foundation had shut, and the staff were helpful when I rang to find out how we'd get into our room.
Eventually arriving after 8pm, it was easy to find by following the signage from St Ives and we were pleasantly surprised by the room.
Our room had a double bed, bedside lights that worked (previous bad experience!), a large wardrobe and a futon sofa.
There was also a kitchen table, kettle, toaster, microwave and fridge (which could do with defrosting.. the only negative point).
Our bathroom was a disabled wetroom with a good shower.
We'd brought our own supplies for breakfast and drinks, but were pleasantly surprised to see that a small container of milk had been left for us, along with the usual tea/coffee/sugar.
Will definitely recommend it, and the price includes a free visit to the Raptor Foundation too which we really enjoyed.

Reviewed by
Carol H

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay somewhere unusual
We enjoyed our overnight stop at the Falcon's Nest the accommodation was clean and tidy and well maintained. Having a full kitchen section was useful and allowed us to buy in our evening meal and warm it up. The shower drain did have a minor problem but the facilites were generally very good. The owners were very accommodating,unfortunately we arrived only in time for the 4.00pm flying which did not really take place as it was too hot, but seeing all the owls and kestrels was a welcome diversion from the norm.

Reviewed by
Neil C

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
The room was sparklingly clean and incredibly spacious. We really liked the kitchenette in the room. I was expecting an iron and ironing board in the room as it was in the description, but maybe you had to ask for it. Regardless, great room and will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Lauren S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next