No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Phoenix Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
157 Columbus Ravine, Nr Peasholm, , Scarborough, YO12 7QZ
The Phoenix is very conveniently located, just 2 minutes stroll from beautiful peasholm park, 6 minutes from the magnificent sweep of north bay's sands. Scarborough cricket ground, the open air theatre, scarborough bowls centre, the sea life centre, and hollywood plaza cinema are just some of the attractions close by. We offer very good value with prices from £20 per person per night for en-suite accommodation and scrumptious breakfasts for £6 per adult and £4 per child, which will set you up for the day. Cleanliness is assured throughout and we trust that you will find us friendly and helpful, our aim is to provide for you a comfortable and enjoyable place to stay.
Picture of The Phoenix Guest House, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful little place
Had the pleasure of staying for one night at this lovely little guest house, very clean and tidy with a very kind owner. Regrettably we opted to have breakfast elsewhere so can't comment on the food. Next time I'm in Scarborough this will be the first place I look up, perfect for a few days away.

Reviewed by
d cupitt

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very well run , pleasant staff , would highly recommend to anybody , looking forward to stay again .

Reviewed by
T Needham

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place for a short stay.
The guest house is scrupulously clean and Jenny is very friendly and welcoming.
The rooms have everything you need without the bells and whistles.
The breakfast was worth every copper coin (Lots of it and cooked to splendour)
We would not hesitate to pay another visit.
The other staff were also very welcoming.
I came on a motorcycle, which wasn't a problem at all.
I chained the bike to the parking restrictions sign ;-)
No problem.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay, in a nice and quite part of Scarborough.
A convenience store just down the road too.
2 minutes from the park, 5 minutes from the beach.
Full stars from me and our lass...

Reviewed by
Hadrian Briggs

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was excellent

Reviewed by
Jo Shields

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, great owners
Was extremely tidy, the owner was very hospitable and left a booklet in the room full of useful information. And great location, walking distance to beach, peasolm park and the town centre. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Sally mccormac

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant stay
We stayed for one night on a Saturday. We were impressed by the room and the value for money.
We booked breakfast and we enjoyed it it was freshly cooked and filling. The owner was lovely and nothing was to much for her. When we sat down for breakfast we got chatting to a few other people who stayed here regularly and loved it. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone young or old.

Reviewed by
mark d

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and welcoming host, changed our double room for a family room as we had to take our son who is 20months old free of charge with only a few days notice and even gave him a free breakfast. Breakfast was delicious and had plenty of fresh fruit, cereal and fresh juice to also choose. Would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
d woollam

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was very impressed at the accommodation. Both the room and staff were exceptional.
The bed was extremely comfortable, and the rooms were cleaned to a very high standard.

Reviewed by
Jonathan G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and clean accommodation, short of nothing

Reviewed by
P Bower

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So glad we chose this guest house!
Having a teenage son we wanted to book a seperate room but most places charged full adult price making it expensive. The room we had at the Pheonix had a seperate attached room with single bed which was an excellent option. The room was extremely clean and worked well with the compact ensuite shower and toilet. Breakfast can be purchased seperately which is a good option, however once you've tried them you'll definitely want more as they are superb quality and you certainly won't go away hungry. All in all Jenny runs an excellent value for money establishment in a great location. We would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
D Fletcher

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next