No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Aubrey Park Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Hemel Hempstead Road , Redbourn, AL3 7AF
A quiet woodland backdrop in 9 acres of rolling English countryside sets the scene for a stay that's well and truly relaxing whether you're on business or just taking a break; and whilst our heritage stretches back to 1287, we've been brought bang up to date with fresh, contemporary interiors including our light, airy Brasserie serving great seasonal food and all-time favourites too.

What’s more as an independent hotel we’re able to be completely flexible, so whatever your hotel needs in and around St Albans and Hemel Hempstead may be, we’re at your service! Come and try us out.
Our rooms are decorated in a soothing classic contemporary style with big welcoming beds, soft duvets and fresh white linen, all designed to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Whether you fancy a simple burger, a fresh salad or one of our signature dishes such as the Whole Roasted Partridge, you'll find our light, bright Brasserie is perfect for relaxing over a long, lazy lunch, grabbing a speedy bite to eat or settling in for the evening to celebrate a special occasion with friends and family.
A friendly, laid back atmosphere - just right for getting together with friends and colleagues for a few drinks or a light meal. From fresh coffee in the morning to late cocktails and snacks before heading off to bed, we're completely flexible.

Not to be missed is Afternoon Tea at Aubrey Park. Freshly made scones and homemade cakes are just a couple of the delights on the menu at the moment, perfect for a little indulgence any day of the week whether it's in the Bar & Lounge itself or outside on the terrace.
Picture of The Aubrey Park Hotel, Redbourn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 118 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Special birthday weekend
We spent two nights at this hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday. We have stayed at lots of beautiful hotels and so wanted something special. We were not disappointed. Our executive room was well equipped and the food in the restaurant was simply delicious. Pre-dinner drinks in the bar in front of the telly made for a really relaxing start to the evening.
When we feared a neighbouring baby might disturb our sleep, the receptionist was more than happy to move us immediately.
The hotel is well located for trips into St Albans for shopping or evening meal - we did both - or to pretty villages such as Harpenden where we also enjoyed a stroll.

Reviewed by
M Robertson

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place
I want to go back ASAP was beautiful,clean,friendly and most of all relaxing.my 11 year old son and 6 year old granddaughter enjoyed every moment there and have some beautiful pictures of them running in the gardens. The perfect memory

Reviewed by
shelley harty

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissappointing
Hotel staff were great - friendly and helpful.
However, the hotel itself very disappointing. First impressions when you arrive aren't improved with a lift that is shabby and stinks! We had the 'executive room' which has been recently refurbished. the bathroom is good except the cold water supply reduces to a trickle at times meaning you can't brush your teeth and the shower is scalding hot. The décor is sooo drab. Everything is painted Egyptian cotton and the headboard is a large wood effect panel. It looks so tired and dated. You wouldn't believe it had just been refurbished. Hate to think what the un-refurbished rooms look like!
The doors have the now standard electronic key entry but on 4 occasions it wouldn't open the door and had to be reprogrammed. Not good.

Reviewed by
Iain L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Efficient reception. Warren like building would benefit from more comprehensive signage. Pleasant room. Celebration meal and breakfast very good.

Reviewed by
David I

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable
A bit of a maze but once I'd worked out that I could move my car round to the back of the hotel closer to where my room was located I had a really good stay. Apart from the lack of a fridge, I couldn't fault the room.

Reviewed by
Nicola G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dining room was obviously very busy booth in the evening and at breakfast,but the evening meal was very poor.The bar staff were very off hand.I would not atay again.

Reviewed by
P Wilson

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

From the outside the hotel looked poorly maintained, although the interior was fine.
There was a mix up with my bill as we had a meal and reception rang our room at 11 asking that we pay for the meal, when I had asked that they keep my tab open so that I could pay for the room and expenses together.
The restaurant was lovely, but I chose the pork and this was disappointing. The service was poor as well. My wife enjoyed her meal but it was a little expensive. Breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
D Wyke

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Sleep!
We chose this hotel for a weekend break in historic St. Albans. We had a lovely welcome to the hotel from the receptionist who was also very helpful in volunteering advice about where to go in St Albansl. The room was modern, airy, clean and well-decorated.
After a day and evening out in the city, we returned to the hotel at about 9pm and noticed that there was at least one function as the car park was full. Nevertheless, we were not disturbed at this point and enjoyed watching TV in the room before turning in for the night. At around 2am we were woken by other guests returning to their rooms - very loudly - from the function. I did ask them to be quiet but they kept coming in waves. As a result we were not really able to get back to sleep and were extremely tired the next day. We complained at reception that there was no member of staff around to 'police' the guests and were told that we should not have been put in a room where these function guests were staying. On returning home, we wrote to the manager but have not even had a response. Will not be going back and would not recommend anyone else to!

Reviewed by
S Collyer

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary Stay
Was lovely to relax in beautiful surroundings. A perfect room with a gentle view. Time to unwind and prepare before a family anniversary get together near by.
Service tray well prepared, nice to have mugs instead of tiny cups.
Enjoyed returning to a lovely place that was a venue for a wedding we attended last year.

Reviewed by
Kay D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
On arrival we were warmly greeted and on entering our room we found it spacious and very clean indeed. Our room looked out towards the patio area which looked ideal for sitting out in this warm weather and enjoying a cool drink. Our booking was for dinner, bed and breakfast which when the food is as good as it is in the restaurant at this hotel was great value at £129 for the night. I along with my girlfriend slept undisturbed for 8 hours in a very comfortable bed and the hotel is well placed to enjoy the local attractions or just stroll around the adjacent woodlands.

Reviewed by
Richard Vaughan

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next