No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bull Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Market Place, , , Fairford, GL7 4AA
The Bull Hotel is situated along one side of Fairford's famous market square. Much of the building is dated around the 15th Century when it used to be a Monk's chanting house. During recent improvements, a secret tunnel was discovered from the hotel to the 500-year-old St Mary's Church. Its close proximity to Swindon, Cirencester, Cheltenham and Gloucester, makes it ideal not only for holiday visitors and fishermen, but to businessmen who wish to get away from the standard system-built model-type of accommodation, allowing all our guests to relax in surroundings which have the charm and warmth of an ancient Cotswold Inn. The hotel offers a choice of 22 bedrooms. Each room has its own particular character with sloping roofs and oak beams. All bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and are well equipped. Plenty of parking for guests. Small charge for pets. Royal International Air Tattoo (RIAT) 2013 - Fairford is also the home to the Royal International Air Tattoo which makes the Bull Hotel ideal for the plane enthusiast - we offfer a four day package from 18th July to 22nd July - please call the hotel for details
Picture of The Bull Hotel, Fairford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrendous accommodation but great location
Couldn't sleep due to noisy guests, not the hotels fault but the room we had just shouldn't be used for accommodation as it's right next to 2 heavy traffic walkways, very noisy kitchen fan or air conditioning unit outside the room comes and and goes off intermittently, I would have the place condemned as Egon says in Ghostbusters! Out dated carpet shower didn't work, cracks and cobwebs...managed to get some money knocked off as I complained but far too expensive regardless..just don't take the room if they offer you number 7! Other parts of the hotel seem fine, even though we didn't drink there. Other rooms may be ok just be cautious...friendly waitress, but over all a little unorganised.

Reviewed by
William A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unwelcoming. No lighting on dark staircase leading to the room. We were put into a room that had no door locking security as it was a fire exit with a broken lock. The bare area was dead of atmosphere, no music or candles or log fire lit. Breakfast was okay apart from the cheap coffee and the gelatinous brown sauce. The waitress, though was pleasant and efficient.

Reviewed by
s carter

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding Value
This was a real inn in the middle of Fairford. The room was of a good size but the pathway between the four poster bed and the bathroom was very tight; you had to breathe in to get through. The stairway approaching the room was poorly lit. But these are trivial comments compared with the comfortable bed, good range of real ales, good food and the delight of no TV in the bar. There was a very good TV in the room if and when required. I stayed two nights, service and atmosphere was much better on the second night. It was excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Nick Thornton

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad night at the bull inn
Whatever else I say about the Bull Inn, nothing good about the place could compensate for the shear horror of the state of cleanliness! A room full of cobwebs and a toilet and bathroom full of woodlice. A dirty, chipped toilet seat and a toilet stained to a frightening level. For the evening meal several complaints were heard from surrounding tables regarding undercooked food. At breakfast coffee, orange juice and cereals all had to be waited for until you could find someone to top them up. Had a poached egg that may as well still have been a living embryo it had seen so little heat. Other than that all was great!

Reviewed by
Alec Williams

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Graduation Stay!
I stayed at the Bull Hotel with friends for two nights and the service was incredible. The staff put themselves out to help and were extremely welcoming. Highly recommended Hotel.

Reviewed by
C Baxter

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Room....
Absolutely fantastic room, amazing value for money! Staff friendly.

Reviewed by
Corinne K

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed for one night enroute to another location. The staff were fantastic and couldnt have been more helpful, efficient and friendly (particularly importent to me when travelling alone) . The facilities were well thought through, comfortable and made for a pleasant stay. My meal in the evening was good and breakfast exceeded my expectations. The room I stayed in was a little tired in terms of decor and furnishings but the bed was supremely comfortable and the room was very spacious and had a lovely outlook (R24)

Reviewed by
Kim B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Wi fi. Breakfast not served until 7.30 and I needed it at 7.00am. Very hot day but could not turn the heating off as the control was broken - had to sleep with all the windows open which was not good.Parking was difficult as they were setting up for market for the next day and had to find space which was not near. Ok but could have been difficult if the weather had been bad! New management have just taken over, so hopefully it will get better.

Reviewed by
Anne B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant enough
The Bull was built in 1846 - so don't expect level floors! The beds were comfortable, clean and the breakfast was all could want. For price it was good value and pleasant enough.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel full of history and character
Beautiful old hotel with new owners who are slowly renovating it. Our room was in need of a little love, but full of character - apparently haunted but we didn't notice a thing. Fairford has a historic church with beautiful stained glass and a lovely river walk.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.