No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chessington Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Crescent, , , Scarborough, YO11 2PP
The Chessington, a grade II* listed building, occupies an unsurpassed position within Scarborough, being situated in 'The Crescent' which is one of the finest examples of Regency architecture in the North of England. Guests staying at the Chessington can enjoy a pleasant stay in an elegant location that is within easy reach of Scarborough's beach, shopping centre, theatres, nightlife and Railway station. Scarborough has so much to offer. The two bays with golden beaches, the picturesque harbour, the ancient castle ruins which dominate the bays, beautiful gardens in which to relax, indoor and outdoor entertainment throughout the season. Castle Howard is the magnificent 18thC home of the Howard Family known worldwide as 'Brideshead'. Set in 1,000 acres of breathtaking parkland facilities include an adventure playground for the children, plant centre, gift shops, craft studios and tree nursery. Guests staying at the Chessington can choose from a selection of Single, Twin, Double and Family sized bedrooms. All bedrooms come with en-suite facilities. Meals are served in our attractive Dining Room. We do our best to cater for those with special dietary requirements. Please Note: We are a No-Smoking property. Regrettably, we cannot accept pets or stag or hen parties. Children welcome. Please Note: Check-in time: 12:30 Check-out time: 10:00
Picture of Chessington Hotel, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scarborough Road Race weekend
This the second time I've stayed at the Chessington, and both times I received a very warm welcome, rooms clean and nicely presented, breakfast spot on,with good choice. The Chessington is situated in crescent that is not only pleasant to look at it also provides a good place to park your car, park permits are available from the hotel and at £3.00 a day good value. My first choice when booking a hotel in Scarborough

Reviewed by
rob a

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
As I was staying alone at the hotel I was very pleased the outer door was locked at all times as this made me feel secure. My room was very clean with en suite and tea/coffee facilities. There was a varied choice at breakfast and several tables set out for one person. I did not feel uncomfortable at all being on my own.

Reviewed by
Susan H

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B+B
Gorgeous room lovely people good breakfast

Reviewed by
susan h

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scarborough cricket weekend
Super hotel. Made to feel very welcome. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
James B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here for 1 night and everything was perfect, kate the owner was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Room was big and bright with 2 windows and bathroom spacious and clean. Parking wax no problem and guests can get a permit from hotel to park on street. Had a few drinks in bar which was a nice room and sat eith owners who was chatty. Breakfast in morning was spot on everything cooked lovely and hot. Would definitely stay here again and recommend.

Reviewed by
l neilson

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Great location, clean and friendly. Room decor could do with updating, but for the price, it's difficult to get better.

Reviewed by
Mark P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Rarely have I had better value for money. The price and location were excellent, the room of a very good standard with a balcony and a view over the gardens, the hosts very friendly and the breakfast the best I have eaten in a long time. I would be very happy to return and hope to do so, thank you:-)

Reviewed by
S COWOOD

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely Stay again, comfortable, great service!
We stayed here last weekend for a short break, and I would definitely revisit again. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, excellent friendly hosts, warm welcoming and central location to Scarborough. Parking easy too. Thank you!

Reviewed by
Rachel Harding

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

only stayed for one night. nice place run by a nice helpful woman

Reviewed by
j ireland

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely value for money stay
everything a plus at this place very very friendly owners lovely breakfast excellent service and value for money also very central will use again

Reviewed by
linda h

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next