Reviews - Astor House

4

14 Oldfield Rd, ,, Bath, BA2 3ND

Price From 153.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (40)

90% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Raquel Neves L

  • December 2015

Astor House

relaxing night.

Friendly staff

Comfortable bed

Everything spotless

Good breakfast

  • Andy Atherden

  • December 2015

Astor House great value for money

We stayed here last weekend and were made to feel very welcome by Liz (owner) and the girls she has working there.

Room was clean, tidy and comfortable.

Breakfast was very enjoyable with plenty of options for a B&B. Because of the weather we took a taxi into Bath which is only a mile away.

  • Gillian L

  • August 2015

lovely location

quiet convenient location for visiting Bath.

Good value for money

  • David L

  • July 2015

Astor House

A very pleasant stay

  • Angela G

  • June 2015

Quiet, friendly and comfortable stay in good value B&B

The Astor House B&B is a bit of a gem.

Its really comfortable and quiet - but just a 15 minute stroll from the centre of Bath. My car languished in the convenient on-site parking all weekend. The rooms are well appointed, light and airy and a good size. The ensuite bathroom for my double room was compact, but very clean and had a great power shower. A friendly welcome and an excellent breakfast menu too. I enjoyed my stay and left rested, well fed and refreshed. Very good value indeed.

  • Debbie T

  • March 2015

Nice group/family room

Not always easy to find a room for a group of ladies to share together.

The rooms here all have a nice character and bigger than the pictures appeared. Room was clean with nice linen and lashings of hot water. Apart from one or two creaky floorboards did't hear anyone else and wasn't aware of any traffic noise. Breakfast wasn't exciting but adequate for us. Distance into town was walkable but not very scenic and parking wasn't an issue. Staff were friendly if and when you saw them.

  • Raymond Moe

  • March 2015

Truly excellent, what more can you say.

  • Helen S

  • March 2015

Weekend stay

We had a lovely quiet room at the back with a view of the garden and really good quality bathroom facilities.

The hot breakfast was a little disappointing as some of it seemed to have been reheated. We would have waited for fresh food to be cooked if this was the case. There were other good cold options available. Good parking and easy access to town.

  • G Arnold

  • February 2015

Very Good

We would highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Shaun P

  • February 2015

Valentine's stay at The Astor House

When we arrived there was no onsite parking as indicated there would be but road parking wasn't a problem.

We were given a key and told room 2 on the second floor. That was that. We have stayed in loads of places from small guest houses to large hotels and we felt there was no bedside manner. Not to be shown to our room was a little disappointing. There was no spoken local knowledge offered but there are lots of leaflets if you want to pick some up but I guess it may have been nice to be told at least which way the town was. I suppose of you don't ask you don't get. The breakfast was very average although a good choice on the menu and very pleasant staff waiting the tables. The Astor is very clean and very nicely decorated and very period with original fireplaces and a relaxing lounge room. On a down side the metal bed stead we had was so squeaky even a cough set it off so there was no valentine celebrations in our room. Tea and coffee facilities were plentiful in the room as was fresh towels and a clean bathroom. Unfortunatly the lack of a friendly welcome really let it down for us as did the room maid who left our door unlocked on the second day leaving our valuables at the mercy of the other guests. Thankfully as the manager pointed out they were there all day but my thoughts were I'm sure they weren't watching our room the whole time but a saving grace was that our fellow guests were very honest so we didn't loose anything. Anyway the Astor got its money from us as we left with a very very tiny apology and sadly we won't be returning. Oh also there is a discount card on your key. Look out for it because it is unlikely to be pointed out to you. You are expected to find it yourself. The card is operated locally in bath and offers a discount amongst eateries and guest houses and more throughout Bath so would probably be worth knowing about.