No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Albany

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
80 Sydenham Rd, , , Guildford, GU1 3SA
The Albany is Guildfords' only independent gastropub, offering the best in home-cooked fresh food, fine wines and real cask marque ales. Whether its our relaxed lunchtimes, contemporary dining in the restaurant, the buzz of the busy bar or a cosy Sunday on our sofa tasting our delicious traditional roasts, we have something to offer everybody - even tapas on a Tuesday! All rooms have recently been refurbished and come equipped with Television /dvd players, tea & coffee making facilities, mini fridges and hairdryers.
Picture of The Albany, Guildford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location , value for money.

Reviewed by
K Callaghan

From Batley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Albany
The room was clean and tidy. I was concerned when I arrived about being above a pub, due to perceived noise levels. Once in the room, I didn't heard a sound from outside.

Reviewed by
J Britz

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


I was pleasantly surprised to find, in the room, a mini fridge with OJ and milk and some small boxes of cereal. Not expecting any breakfast service, this made for a better and more relaxed start to the morning.

Reviewed by
C STIRLING

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we were visiting our son who is at the local university. we had looked at a few hotels which were all very expensive so when we found The Albany we booked straight away. Once we arrived we were shown to the front door to the rooms just to the side of the pub and then shown to our room. it was so hot when we arrived but there was a fan in the room and a mini fridge with cold drinks in which was perfect. we also had the dog with us which we didn't pay any extra for. we stayed for two nights and ate in the pub once, the food was beautiful and we sat in the lovely garden at the back. There really are no bad points to our stay and would fully recommend to anybody.

Reviewed by
lucy m

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic accommodation which was adequate enough.
Cleaning staff were banging on the door 5 minutes before check out time wasn't particularly welcomed!! Not especially friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Lisa G

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Room very clean and in good order throughout. The staff at the pub were very accommodating when we rang to say we may not arriving until late but as it was we were able to pick up the key in plenty of time. Very surprised how little noise from traffic there was considering it was one of the hottest nights of the year, we had all the windows open and we really were in the middle of town though it was past midnight when we returned and the pub had emptied. Only sorry that we weren't around long enough to take advantage of the 25% discount on food down stairs.

Reviewed by
Janet K

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend!
Very convenient location. Really comfortable, clean accommodation, reasonably priced.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth L

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good room for the price. Decent food and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
S Thomas

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

girls night out
The Albany is in a good location for going into town, the accomodation is clean and the price was reasonable. We stayed on a Thursday night and came back after 11pm when all was quiet at the pub. The road/car noise can be noisy at night.

Reviewed by
C Miller

From Sandhurst, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay
I would recommend this very clean, central place to stay.
My only concern was, that as a lone female guest the girl behind the bar with an extremely loud voice, on check-in discussed not only my arrangements but said my room number so loudly that a customer, whom I had never met, started to quiz me about my stay.
There is one large chain of hotels who has a policy that when a lone woman is checking in her room number is not said out loud but written down. This very small consideration is extremely comforting and re-assuring.

Reviewed by
A Dearden

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next