No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
74 High Street, , , Cricklade, SN6 6DD
Our 5 en-suite bedrooms are newly decorated and spotlessly clean. Crisp white linen, bright white towels, comfy beds, power showers and endless amounts of steaming hot water to help relax and de-stress after a busy day. Should you be travelling with "mans best friend" then please ask about our 2 dog friendly rooms. All we ask is that they leave the river and mud behind them before checking in. Roaring log fires, historic bric-a-brac, 10 real ales and ciders, unique guest lagers and beers from around the world, a fabulous pub garden and a warm welcome. These are all parts of what makes the pub so special. With the steady decline of the classic British pub the Red Lion stands out as one of a few true free houses, you only need to look at our daily changing list of beers to see this. Food and eating out are very much a part of our society now and the Red Lion offers something for everyone from classic pub food to modern British dishes. Whether you are looking for a casual relaxed meal in the surrounds of a buzzing atmospheric pub or something a little more elegant in the adjoining restaurant we can cater for you..
Picture of The Red Lion, Cricklade at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion
Chef was delayed in traffic so did not get the opportunity for full English, but toast and cereal was good

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Pub Yet
Great staff, excellent rooms and very dog friendly, good food and brew their own beer!!! What more could you want.

Reviewed by
Leonard S

From Beaminster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, highly recommended
We stayed at The Red Lion for 2 nights last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Pretty town, lovely old building with a really good outside space for eating and/or having a beer. They brew their own beer on the premises and have won many awards for this as well as their food. The pub was warm and welcoming and full of locals which seemed like a great recommendation to me. If you want to eat there in the evening, book a table when you check in, it gets very busy. Warm and efficient welcome, help offered with our bags, someone showed us to our room. The room was very well fitted out, good quality fittings, warm and comfortable, comfy bed, great bathroom, spotlessly clean, good quality toiletries, loads of hot water and a powerful shower. While the pub itself was busy, our room was quiet. Perfect, We ate there the first night and the food was excellent. Breakfast was good, fresh and hot and all their food is locally sourced. As everyone has mentioned, the parking is a slight issue but we found a space fairly close by every time we returned from being out so no complaints. We were very happy with our stay, we found the Red Lion to be a really nice place to spend the weekend, I would recommend it and we will be back.

Reviewed by
Susan Blair

From Looe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion Experience
The room we stayed in was cold when we arrived but much more comfortable after putting heating on
The food is to die for and pub itself is wonderful experience

Reviewed by
M Streeter

From Heathfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Accomodation was lovely although dusty around the edges of room and several large cobwebs. Food was excellent and the staff worked extremely well as a team. I would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
A Lyne

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great stay after a long walk
We arrived at the Red lion very tired after walking from Kemble and the source of the Thames. We could not have wished for a more welcoming and comfortable place to stay.

Reviewed by
Geoff Skeen

From Cape Town, South Africa
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cracking Cricklade
Wonderful location, lovely array of beers in The Red Lion and really friendly locals, we were made really welcome. Cricklade is well worth visiting as are the other local pubs in Cricklade, we went from the Red Lion to the white hart, the Old Bear and then if you fancy a late one or have your family with you then off to the social club and it was the locals that took us with them. Big lovers of the Rugby and plenty of places to watch the footie, as well as enjoying the scenic and historic walks and nearby shops. Lovely Playground area for little to bigger kids, we even had a go on the swinging tyre! Really handy for Cirencester and Malmesbury...Breathtaking and A must do - Visit Cricklade, what are you waiting for?

Reviewed by
Kathryn Jarrett

From Casnewydd, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm pub
great service, no complaints, smallest issue is parking

Reviewed by
Steven Hartland

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Staff and room were very good, but the quality of the cooked breakfast left something to be desired.

Reviewed by
Anthony D

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
Last minute booking. Large, well equipped room. Delicious breakfast. Pub good was very good too.

Reviewed by
James A

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next