You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Red Lion

4

74 High Street , ,, Cricklade, SN6 6DD

Price From 144.55 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Kate M

  • August 2016

Excellent food

Useful stop for anyone doing the Thames path walk.

Staff alert, and responsive. Food in restaurant was excellent. Particularly good for veggies.

  • Victoria N

  • July 2016

Lovely pub and very good room

I read a couple of reviews about the pub and I was expecting it to be good, but not this good.

We had a really good time there and the food was amazing. I will definitely go back.

  • Richard Sayle

  • July 2016

The Red Lion

Food + beer of excellent quality.

Service lovely, pleasant + efficient. Breakfast exceptional. Room well presented although initially made up for double not twin; but this soon corrected. Bathroom initially like a sauna. But enjoyed the stay immensely +would recommend it to anyone. My walking partner has already placed a highly complimentary review on Trip Advisor.

  • A Boggie

  • March 2015

Good in parts, not so good in others

On entering the pub to check in we were immediately asked for our credit card to pay for our stay (as we were LateRooms customers apparently).

This made us feel uncomfortable. We were then taken across a scruffy, dirty back yard to a rusty fire escape which we were expected to climb to our accommodation. Room was very nice but on leaving it to go to the restaurant we found that the outside light was not working so had to negotiate the back yard in darkness. When we reported this we were told " the bulb must have gone, we will try to change it tomorrow. We were offered a large torch . Heating in room went off around 11.00p.m. and did not come back on until morning on a very cold night. There was no back up heating. Restaurant was OK but did not live up to its "Dining pub of the year" reputation. On the plus side the breakfast was excellent. A great pub for beer enthusiasts or a group of men on a boys weekend.

  • Colleen hearn

  • December 2014

Another comfortable stay in Cricklade

We are regular visitors from Essex to Cricklade visiting my husband's parents three or four times a year.

The Red Lion is always our preferred place to stay and never disappoints. The rooms are always clean and comfortable, the staff very helpful and breakfast delicious, the food being sourced locally. The pub is one of our favourites with a warm atmosphere and very varied beer choice with their own micro brewery on site.

  • Ian W

  • November 2014

Red Lion

Chef was delayed in traffic so did not get the opportunity for full English, but toast and cereal was good

  • Susan Blair

  • November 2014

Lovely, highly recommended

We stayed at The Red Lion for 2 nights last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

Pretty town, lovely old building with a really good outside space for eating and/or having a beer. They brew their own beer on the premises and have won many awards for this as well as their food. The pub was warm and welcoming and full of locals which seemed like a great recommendation to me. If you want to eat there in the evening, book a table when you check in, it gets very busy. Warm and efficient welcome, help offered with our bags, someone showed us to our room. The room was very well fitted out, good quality fittings, warm and comfortable, comfy bed, great bathroom, spotlessly clean, good quality toiletries, loads of hot water and a powerful shower. While the pub itself was busy, our room was quiet. Perfect, We ate there the first night and the food was excellent. Breakfast was good, fresh and hot and all their food is locally sourced. As everyone has mentioned, the parking is a slight issue but we found a space fairly close by every time we returned from being out so no complaints. We were very happy with our stay, we found the Red Lion to be a really nice place to spend the weekend, I would recommend it and we will be back.

  • Leonard S

  • November 2014

Best Pub Yet

Great staff, excellent rooms and very dog friendly, good food and brew their own beer!!.

What more could you want.

  • M Streeter

  • October 2014

Red Lion Experience

The room we stayed in was cold when we arrived but much more comfortable after putting heating on

The food is to die for and pub itself is wonderful experience