No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
74 High Street, , , Cricklade, SN6 6DD
Our 5 en-suite bedrooms are newly decorated and spotlessly clean. Crisp white linen, bright white towels, comfy beds, power showers and endless amounts of steaming hot water to help relax and de-stress after a busy day. Should you be travelling with "mans best friend" then please ask about our 2 dog friendly rooms. All we ask is that they leave the river and mud behind them before checking in. Roaring log fires, historic bric-a-brac, 10 real ales and ciders, unique guest lagers and beers from around the world, a fabulous pub garden and a warm welcome. These are all parts of what makes the pub so special. With the steady decline of the classic British pub the Red Lion stands out as one of a few true free houses, you only need to look at our daily changing list of beers to see this. Food and eating out are very much a part of our society now and the Red Lion offers something for everyone from classic pub food to modern British dishes. Whether you are looking for a casual relaxed meal in the surrounds of a buzzing atmospheric pub or something a little more elegant in the adjoining restaurant we can cater for you..
Picture of The Red Lion, Cricklade at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Accomodation was lovely although dusty around the edges of room and several large cobwebs. Food was excellent and the staff worked extremely well as a team. I would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
A Lyne

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great stay after a long walk
We arrived at the Red lion very tired after walking from Kemble and the source of the Thames. We could not have wished for a more welcoming and comfortable place to stay.

Reviewed by
Geoff Skeen

From Cape Town, South Africa
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cracking Cricklade
Wonderful location, lovely array of beers in The Red Lion and really friendly locals, we were made really welcome. Cricklade is well worth visiting as are the other local pubs in Cricklade, we went from the Red Lion to the white hart, the Old Bear and then if you fancy a late one or have your family with you then off to the social club and it was the locals that took us with them. Big lovers of the Rugby and plenty of places to watch the footie, as well as enjoying the scenic and historic walks and nearby shops. Lovely Playground area for little to bigger kids, we even had a go on the swinging tyre! Really handy for Cirencester and Malmesbury...Breathtaking and A must do - Visit Cricklade, what are you waiting for?

Reviewed by
Kathryn Jarrett

From Casnewydd, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm pub
great service, no complaints, smallest issue is parking

Reviewed by
Steven Hartland

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Staff and room were very good, but the quality of the cooked breakfast left something to be desired.

Reviewed by
Anthony D

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
Last minute booking. Large, well equipped room. Delicious breakfast. Pub good was very good too.

Reviewed by
James A

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night break
Good location, good food, great beer, good pressured shower, friendly staff
Slight personal negative, I found the bed a bit too firm for my liking, a memory foam mattress topper would have made it a bit more comfortable.

Reviewed by
S Williams

From Holywell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value
The room was great

Reviewed by
Peter R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb, out of the ordinary food in historic pub setting
The room was fine, the summer garden was lovely but the thing that makes a stay here really worth while is the food. We ate in the restaurant one night and the pub the following night and both meals were excellent indifferent ways. They major on local ingredients and it was all, wiuthout exception, absolutely delicious. Great range of beers and ciders, so what more is there to a super evening?!u

Reviewed by
Victoria L

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find
Stayed at The Red Lion at Cricklade on the way to a short break in Ross on Wye. Brilliant decision as this was an excellent pub with extremely good accommodation. All staff were excellent and could not do enough for you. Food was extremely good. Would definitely stay again. Thank you to everyone involved with this wonderful establishment.

Reviewed by
Irene G

From Walton on Thames, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next