No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avonlea Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
41 Southam Road, , , Banbury, OX16 2EP
The Avonlea is a very friendly, family run, 4 Star Guest House close to the centre of Banbury and local amenities, including the Bus and Railway stations. There is off road parking, and it is an easy walk into the centre. All rooms have en-suite facilities which have all been upgraded in the last 12 months. The rooms are well decorated, have tea/coffee making facilites, TV and dvd players. The Avonlea has a 4 Star Tourist Certificate (awarded on 19th July 2012) and a 5 Star Hygiene award from the Local Authority. Banbury is close to many popular tourist attractions such as Oxford (24 miles), Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Warwick Castle, Leamington Spa, Stow on the Wold and other areas of the Cotswolds which are all between 20 and 25 miles away. We have Broughton Castle, still lived in by the owners only 3 miles away. There are also a number of National Trust and English Heritage sites close by, including Upton House, Farnborough Hall, Blenheim Palace at Woodstock, Canons Ashby House, Compton Verney and Waddesdon Manor. We are also only 30 minutes away from Silverstone Race Track, 20 minutes from Bicester Village (Retail outlet shopping) and 10 minutes away from Cropredy where the annual Fairport Convention Pop Festival is held.
Picture of Avonlea Guest House, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay in Banbury
Warm welcome from landlady and very helpful. Room was very clean, as was the shower room. Enough room for couple and plenty of storage space. Ample tea, coffee and drinking chocolate available.

Reviewed by
S Upton

From Penfro, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay,made welcome comfortable room and great breakfast would stay here again.

Reviewed by
s russell

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The B&B was very accommodating, allowing me to check in early with instructions on how to collect the keys as the owner was not able to be there at the time of my arrival. Room was comfortable and ideal and breakfast was perfect.

Reviewed by
M De Brito

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, well appointed room, very clean. The B&B is conveniently situated, only a few minutes walk from the town centre and the canal. Also near to a variety of eating places (both pubs and restaurants). Debbie a very welcoming and informative hostess. Breakfast very good, and an excellent selection of teas!

Reviewed by
I Kieran

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
We were very happy with our overnight stay. Avonlea was very close to the lovely town, we found a good restaurant for our evening meal. Breakfast was lovely.

Reviewed by
Andrea Moss

From Newton le Willows, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
Everything exceeded expectations

Reviewed by
Amar H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice, great price for the area.
I stayed one night as I was in the area for a concert. The room was great and well presented with a TV and facilities to make tea, coffee and hot chocolate.
Ample room for clothing storage. An alarm clock and en-suite shower room and toilet. The staff were friendly and welcoming. I skipped breakfast so I can't comment on that.
The location is great for the town centre.
Parking on site is handy also.
If I was in the area I would happily stay here again.

Reviewed by
Gary Allen

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very clean and tidy.landlady very friendly and helpful.would visit again

Reviewed by
theresa winfield

From Bampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy welcome, very helpful ie location of venue,s lovely room and facilities and a good breakfast.

Reviewed by
k gray

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming, on hand if needed. Great breakfast.
Very nice owner of b&b. On hand if you needed anything. Great breakfast and also made us a pack lunch as we needed to leave before breakfast was served one morning. My only comment would be room was standard bed banged against wall every time you moved so had to put towel on each post.

Reviewed by
s reeve

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next