No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avonlea Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
41 Southam Road, , , Banbury, OX16 2EP
The Avonlea is a very friendly, family run, 4 Star Guest House close to the centre of Banbury and local amenities, including the Bus and Railway stations. There is off road parking, and it is an easy walk into the centre. All rooms have en-suite facilities which have all been upgraded in the last 12 months. The rooms are well decorated, have tea/coffee making facilites, TV and dvd players. The Avonlea has a 4 Star Tourist Certificate (awarded on 19th July 2012) and a 5 Star Hygiene award from the Local Authority. Banbury is close to many popular tourist attractions such as Oxford (24 miles), Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Warwick Castle, Leamington Spa, Stow on the Wold and other areas of the Cotswolds which are all between 20 and 25 miles away. We have Broughton Castle, still lived in by the owners only 3 miles away. There are also a number of National Trust and English Heritage sites close by, including Upton House, Farnborough Hall, Blenheim Palace at Woodstock, Canons Ashby House, Compton Verney and Waddesdon Manor. We are also only 30 minutes away from Silverstone Race Track, 20 minutes from Bicester Village (Retail outlet shopping) and 10 minutes away from Cropredy where the annual Fairport Convention Pop Festival is held.
Picture of Avonlea Guest House, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very clean and tidy.landlady very friendly and helpful.would visit again

Reviewed by
theresa winfield

From Bampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy welcome, very helpful ie location of venue,s lovely room and facilities and a good breakfast.

Reviewed by
k gray

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming, on hand if needed. Great breakfast.
Very nice owner of b&b. On hand if you needed anything. Great breakfast and also made us a pack lunch as we needed to leave before breakfast was served one morning. My only comment would be room was standard bed banged against wall every time you moved so had to put towel on each post.

Reviewed by
s reeve

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely warm welcome. Debbie made us feel at home from the very start. Very convenient location too.

Reviewed by
Beverley M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing was too much trouble
Having come up to the area to enjoy a weekend at Silverstone for the Moto GP, Avonlea provided us with exactly what we needed. It was easily accessible, close to the town centre for places to eat and nothing was too much trouble. Debbie went out of her way to ensure that we were able to enjoy all that the weekend had in store. A comfortable, friendly place to stay.

Reviewed by
B Newman

From South Molton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a
a

Reviewed by
Philip H

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedding and room very clean and well presented, proprietor, Debbie is very friendly and efficient and the guest house is within a reasonable walking distance of the town centre. We would use again.

Reviewed by
F Alan G

From Batley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value
I cannot thank Debbie enough, she was very accommodating and kind. The single room although stayed on a very hot evening was comfortable large enough for my needs. Shower was variable in temperature and ensuite was lovely and clean with adequate supplies. Would definitely recommend and if I travel to Banbury again I wouldnt hesitate in staying here again.

Reviewed by
L Warrick

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely recommend
This is how B&B's should be run. Room 3 was clean (actually cleaner than most rooms I've ever used - including luxury hotels). Size and facilities were good. The host is very professional and friendly. Very good value. I think very few people would be disappointed here.

Reviewed by
kerry b

From Lymm, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The owner, Debbie was very friendly and attentive. The accommodation was clean and the cooked breakfast was delicious. I would definitely stay there again!

Reviewed by
D Delaney

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next