No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Punch Bowl

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
12 Oxford Street, , , Woodstock, OX20 1TR
The ideal place to stay for an hour or overnight, this grade 2 listed building with its exposed beams and open fireplaces enjoys a unique atmosphere. Our accommodation facilities were completely refurbished in 2014 to the very highest standards. All rooms are designed for total comfort and are well equipped with their own bathrooms and shower facilities. All our rooms are served by a private residents-only entrance. •Historic setting •Comfortable and well-equipped accommodation •Large open fire and open plan bar •Good pub food With Blenheim Palace right on our doorstep, the Punchbowl has been a popular watering hole with thousands of visitors over the years - including notable members of the aristocracy - all of whom never fail to be impressed with its historical charm and friendly atmosphere. Today, our open plan bar is the perfect place to enjoy a morning coffee with friends, a bite to eat with the family or a drink after work. Facilities also include a superb, dart board and for sports fans Live sports, showing all the Premiership action. •Fine Arkell's ales •Open log fire •Live Sports.
Picture of The Punch Bowl, Woodstock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as trendy as the rest of Woodstock !
The pub is just that with large tv screens showing football and was noisy and quite busy on the evening of our visit. The food was pub food with a limited menu though was quite good value for money. Breakfast with the pub back to normal was a much more relaxed affair and was good. We had a ground floor room which was quite small and had no external window. The room also had evidence of damp penetration in several places in the en -suite. All in all reasonable value for what we paid but dont expect 'The Ritz'. Return ??

Reviewed by
John M

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unhappy
Very disappointed. Paint peeling from ceiling in bathroom, and in bedroom. Noisy room, from feet on floor above and from traffic. Bed like sleeping on noisy bubblewrap No staff or room information on what times breakfast is served, All locked up and gone when I arrived at 9. No evening meal, no breakfast, won't be rushing back.

Reviewed by
T Horne

From Steyning, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for.
I stayed at this inn on 2 separate occasions. I stayed in the same room twice, room 8, and although it says there is internet, it does not receive in this room, only in the bar area, which being a sports events pub, was full and very noisy all evening on both occasions. Its clean enough, but the room smells musty and damp, and the windows don't open. This room is on the ground floor facing a side road, and traffic noise was a bit of a problem for me.The bathroom ceiling has signs of damp, and the plaster in the walls here and there are showing signs of wear. The walls are thin, and i could hear the man in the room upstairs snoring as i was going to sleep. The kettle cable doesn't reach the electric socket, so it has to be on the floor. The mattress was very soft and uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
elizabeth a

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No full English Breakfast
How disappointing. We could have booked the travelodge at Bicester but I decided to pay alitlle extra and go to The Punchbowl as it said in the description a full English Breakfast.
Imagine my disappointment when we were told in the morning there was no full English breakfast as they had no gas because there were having alterations in the Kitchen! Not on. Toast and tea and coffee doesn't come up to the mark.
Single room number 9 was a nice size but there was no lamp and no wardrobe only 2 hooks on the back of the door to hang all your clothes.
There had clearly been a water leak as the bedroom ceiling showed all the stains and the bathroom ceiling needs urgently addressing as the steam has fetched all the paint off the ceiling! Not good!

Reviewed by
Diane D

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night at the Punch Bowl
Conveniently placed in the centre of Woodstock and a few miles north of Oxford. On the whole good value for the relatively low cost. Thick walls meant Friday night carousing from the bar was not heard in the room. Some rust and mould in the upper reaches of the bathroom contributed a tired look. Bed and basic facilities ok though TV not working, but free WIFI available. The young staff member was pleasant but a bit detached from a sense of duty. Tasty breakfast, the choice was given orally as there wasn't a menu; some confusion as I was served with another guest's order (and there were just 2 of us!) No bowls etc available next to cereal, probably provided on request. I had to request a knife to spread butter etc. on my toast and this request was met with some surprise but complied with some minutes later.

Reviewed by
J Davies

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised
Arrived on a overcast and grey day but was pleasantly surprised at the light and welcoming feel to the accommodation.l
This was gained through a separate Residents Only door, leading to brightly lit stairs as the accommodThe ation was above the pub. Our room was spacious and light with a welcoming tea/coffee tray complete with ample biscuits! The pub is situated right in the middle of Woodstock and surrounded by very pleasant houses/tea rooms/pubs and unusual shops. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Susan S

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab staff, great character rooms and clean.

Reviewed by
Cecilia P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Woodstock weekend
Very nice pub hotel situated ideally for visit to Blenheim Palace (5mins walk!) and in Woodstock town centre. We had a lovely and nicely decorated spacious room looking out onto the street. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a generous cooked breakfast with our own requests. There is a lovely tropical fish tank in bar area which is very relaxing and couldve watched it all day if didnt have places to be!! Great stay thankyou for your hospitality!

Reviewed by
Jenny K

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
The location of the punch bowl was great, Woodstock is a lovely village. The bar was nice and the barman helpful but our room was disappointing. It was November and the heating was off and stayed off until the manager was able to come in and turn the timing off, this took a few hours. The room was very dated, the carpet had stains and the walls were thin. Overall it was a very average room and not worth £85 a night.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

woodstock
a lovely town, great for exploring the oxford area. Punch Bowl was perfectly acceptable as a place to stay - the room was excellent with all facilities. The bar was a little run down, but there was evidence of the place being in the process of having a facelift. unfortunately the duty manager in the morning left a lot to be desired in customer service. we were late for breakfast (only on 8-9am) and he refused to even offer tea and toast. when asked for some money off the bill as we had not taken breakfast that was declined as well. pity, because the Punch Bowl was fine otherwise

Reviewed by
neil r

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2