Reviews - The Punch Bowl


12 Oxford Street, ,, Woodstock, OX20 1TR

Price From 250.70 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

68% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Simon T

  • May 2014

Just what I was looking for

Great value for money.

However I missed breakfast because I was not told at check-in and there was no information in the room

  • Andrew Brown

  • May 2014

Needs a lot of TLC!

Mould on walls, no window, noisy, dirty carpets basically needs a total overhaul.

Will not stay again

  • Sarah W

  • May 2014

last Minute Booking

Very reasonable room for a last minute booking.

Clean, warm and good value. Staff very friendly

  • T Horne

  • April 2014


Very disappointed.

Paint peeling from ceiling in bathroom, and in bedroom. Noisy room, from feet on floor above and from traffic. Bed like sleeping on noisy bubblewrap No staff or room information on what times breakfast is served, All locked up and gone when I arrived at 9. No evening meal, no breakfast, won't be rushing back.

  • Stephen P

  • April 2014

Comfortable, clean room with friendly staff.

Couldn't access wifi in room which was not useful. Wanted to plan trips on internet for the next day. However, that was a minor inconvenience.

  • John M

  • April 2014

Not as trendy as the rest of Woodstock !

The pub is just that with large tv screens showing football and was noisy and quite busy on the evening of our visit.

The food was pub food with a limited menu though was quite good value for money. Breakfast with the pub back to normal was a much more relaxed affair and was good. We had a ground floor room which was quite small and had no external window. The room also had evidence of damp penetration in several places in the en -suite. All in all reasonable value for what we paid but dont expect 'The Ritz'. Return ??

  • elizabeth a

  • March 2014

You get what you pay for.

I stayed at this inn on 2 separate occasions.

I stayed in the same room twice, room 8, and although it says there is internet, it does not receive in this room, only in the bar area, which being a sports events pub, was full and very noisy all evening on both occasions. Its clean enough, but the room smells musty and damp, and the windows don't open. This room is on the ground floor facing a side road, and traffic noise was a bit of a problem for me.The bathroom ceiling has signs of damp, and the plaster in the walls here and there are showing signs of wear. The walls are thin, and i could hear the man in the room upstairs snoring as i was going to sleep. The kettle cable doesn't reach the electric socket, so it has to be on the floor. The mattress was very soft and uncomfortable.

  • Diane D

  • March 2014

No full English Breakfast

How disappointing.

We could have booked the travelodge at Bicester but I decided to pay alitlle extra and go to The Punchbowl as it said in the description a full English Breakfast. Imagine my disappointment when we were told in the morning there was no full English breakfast as they had no gas because there were having alterations in the Kitchen. Not on. Toast and tea and coffee doesn't come up to the mark. Single room number 9 was a nice size but there was no lamp and no wardrobe only 2 hooks on the back of the door to hang all your clothes. There had clearly been a water leak as the bedroom ceiling showed all the stains and the bathroom ceiling needs urgently addressing as the steam has fetched all the paint off the ceiling. Not good!

  • J Davies

  • March 2014

Night at the Punch Bowl

Conveniently placed in the centre of Woodstock and a few miles north of Oxford.

On the whole good value for the relatively low cost. Thick walls meant Friday night carousing from the bar was not heard in the room. Some rust and mould in the upper reaches of the bathroom contributed a tired look. Bed and basic facilities ok though TV not working, but free WIFI available. The young staff member was pleasant but a bit detached from a sense of duty. Tasty breakfast, the choice was given orally as there wasn't a menu; some confusion as I was served with another guest's order (and there were just 2 of us!) No bowls etc available next to cereal, probably provided on request. I had to request a knife to spread butter etc. on my toast and this request was met with some surprise but complied with some minutes later.

  • Susan S

  • February 2014

Pleasantly surprised

Arrived on a overcast and grey day but was pleasantly surprised at the light and welcoming feel to the accommodation.l This was gained through a separate Residents Only door, leading to brightly lit stairs as the accommodThe ation was above the pub.

Our room was spacious and light with a welcoming tea/coffee tray complete with ample biscuits. The pub is situated right in the middle of Woodstock and surrounded by very pleasant houses/tea rooms/pubs and unusual shops. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.