No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Portland Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
2/4 Langhorne Gardens, , , Folkestone, CT20 2EA
Refurbished modern accommodation with a selection of Superior, Executive and Standard rooms. En-suite with showers King size beds (Superior and Executive) Colour TV Free WiFi throughout Complimentary tea/coffee Hairdryers Iron on request Breakfast is inclusive and is continental style with a wide variety of cereals, cheeses, yoghurts croissants and fruit Being a smaller Folkestone hotel, we have no dedicated reception and guests are asked to book in at the bar where our staff will guide you to your room taking note of any special requirements. There is plenty of free and unlimited on street car parking in the immediate vicinity. There is also an underground Folkestone Council car park next door which is covered by cctv and is secured at night. The large sun terrace of the Skuba Bar has now the benefit of motorised awnings and side screens allowing us to accomodate our customers in comfort whatever the weather. The standard/ standard plus rooms are the smaller "value" rooms which are located on the 2nd & 3rd floors. Please note that we do not have a lift. The rooms themselves are well appointed and comfortable. On arrival, you will need please, to check-in at the bar and as you will have seen from the reviews, some guests have not been comfortable with this arrangement however as a smaller hotel, we are unable to provide a dedicated reception. Our staff know to make the process as swift as possible and to get you to your room quickly, answering any queries or requests that you might have. Please note that children and pets are not usually accepted. All rooms are non-smoking.
Picture of Portland Hotel, Folkestone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room at the Top
We were very impressed with our stay from beginning to end. We received an email from the hotel soon after booking giving full details of parking arrangements and check-in procedure. We were also impressed with the efficiency of the staff who were clearly expecting us and had everything ready. The stairs to the 3rd floor were a bit of a bind but we had advanced notice of these so were prepared. The Breakfast the next morning was wonderful. The Portland is excellent value for money. we would definitely return again.

Reviewed by
D Nicol

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shortage environment in the room
no cupboard, badly soundproofed

Reviewed by
Werner S

From Mannheim, Germany
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a nice surprise

Reviewed by
Aaron Kelly

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good overnight stay
This is an OK overnight stay if you like your continental breakfast. As far as food is concerned the meal I had in the evening was OK but fairly mundane. I did not realise that the breakfast was continental when I booked and cannot comment on what was provided. I cannot understand hotels in the UK that do not provide proper breakfast. Continental should surely be an optional extra.

Reviewed by
Jim M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasent and friendly staff, spotless and well proportioned room, well positioned for town center and right on prom. Could not fault.

Reviewed by
trevor w

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised
My first stay in Folkstone and I was impressed. Not only with the town but with the accommodation. Definitely value for money and so convenient oft The Tunnel!

Reviewed by
Neil Wallace

From Gloucester, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay very friendly and helpful and relaxing.

Reviewed by
stewart wilcock

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just lovely!
I stayed here with my partner for one night. The room was lovely - high ceilings and well decorated. The staff were really helpful and the breakfast was great! We'd stay here again.

Reviewed by
matt b

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed my stay at the Portland Hotel
Stayed for one night whilst working in Folkestone. Hotel on the seafront and very close to town centre.
Check in at the bar was not a problem for me. The gentleman behind the bar who checked me in was very helpful and nice. Bar looked lovely with big outside area, I should imagine brilliant when the sun is out.
My room was on third floor but that was fine (bag carried up for me) and was of a decent size with telly and plenty of teas and coffee available. Shower was slightly small and think towels could do with being replaced but overall perfect for what I needed.
Great value, would stay again.

Reviewed by
S Mitchell

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
A few chocolates left for the guest on the bed was a nice touch. My telly lost signal but I was moved to another room with little hassle. Food at night and in the morning was good. No complaints, would return again.

Reviewed by
N batten

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next