No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
21, Standlake Road Ducklington, Witney, OX29 7UP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Family Friendly 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Bell Inn is situated on the edge of the Cotswold’s, in the Village of Ducklington, just off of the A415 and A40. it is a pre-13th century building with thatched roof and open fires, very much an olde worlde village pub!

As you come into the village you will see the village church (origin 1150) the village duckpond and the Bell Inn.

The village of Ducklington is a great community and all the locals having a story to tell about the history of the pub and the village and playing old but simple pub games.

We have a pool table situated in the lounge area, a TV screen and a hook the ring on the horn!

Aunt sally is played weekly and is part of a big Oxford traditional league game, well worth watching!

The original part of the pub apparently was built for the workers that built the church, it was then extended to make further bar room a restaurant and B&B.
Picture of The Bell Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 125 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was refurbished, new shower, but other equipment in the bath room was old and simple.
No hair dryer and no proper mirror. We had to ask for the towels.The premise around is not very tidy and there was some rubbish behind the entrance door.
The new beds were very narrow so I was afraid to fall out of while sleeping. The food in the bar was good but the service was very slow. The breakfast was very good, too but also very slow and apparently not well organized service. Everybody was friendly.

Reviewed by
E Schmidt

From Germany
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Had a lovely stay at the hotel, I was staying as I am in the Royal Navy and it was right near brize norton I stayed here as I was with my mum. We had an early morning start so we would've missed breakfast as they very kindly offered a pack up lunch for us for free and it was brilliant it was full of sandwiches crisps dessert and it was really nice too. Never had that before.

Reviewed by
d chapman

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
The staff, food and room could not be faulted, we would stay there again in a heart beat. Thank you to Di and everyone for making our short stay so enjoyable.

Reviewed by
michael f

From boston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food, friendly and helpful staff, pleasant location, outstanding value.

Reviewed by
richard m

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but reasonable
The rooms at the bell inn are basic but comfortable. The room we stayed in had space for us to put up our travel cot. Tea & coffee was provided with biscuits as well as soap and toiletries in the bathroom. Not a boutique hotel by any stretch of the imagination but I don't think they are trying to be. The double bed felt a little small but that could be because I'm used to a king size and one of the springs had gone and made noises when I turned over. The room was clean. There was lots of choice at breakfast and plenty of it, it was okay. If you go expecting basic but value for money you won't be disappointed.

Reviewed by
Sarah G

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room for improvement
we had a very pleasant stay in the lovely village of ducklington and the pub itself was nice our room was basically furnished but would have been better with a splash of colour but was clean and the bed was v.comfy. a shame about the nasty pong in the bathroom due to the soil pipe (we think) . breakfast was good but the restaurant needed a little TLC ie, some of the walls were a bit grubby, a pile of Xmas decs left in a corner small things that could easily be rectified. The outside space at the back of the pub was a bit neglected with weeds and an old mattress leaning against a wall hanging baskets were a bit of a let down too.
Again a little more attention to detail would have made good stay a lovely stay

Reviewed by
S Bates

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Pleasant short stay at the Bell Inn
My son and I were attending the GP at Silverstone and booked the accommodation fairly late so were not expecting anything fantastic for the price we paid. Overall we were very impressed with our stay. Slight downsides were that yes, my bed could have been better as not much support although my sons was fine (we should have swapped!!), the walls could have done with a fresh lick of paint and the shower could have been better. However, the room was generally tidy and clean, with lovely fresh clean sheets and towels, and perfectly suitable for our modest needs with plenty of tea/coffee/biscuits etc. On the positive side, the welcome at reception was lovely, very friendly, very polite and the young lady took us straight to our room. We booked a table for our evening meal and were very impressed with the speedy, friendly service from all the bar/restaurant staff. Nothing was a problem and they were more than happy to accommodate my sons specific meal requirements. Overall our experience was one of a very pleasant and friendly stay, with lovely staff and excellent customer service and definitely value for our money. We would be happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
John R

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stayed at the bell for a business trip the room was very small and above the bar so noisy staff were very nice but the food was at best average soggy meat pie microwaved to death a lot of the menu was not on and the outside area could have been tidier a brush to get rid of fag ends.

Reviewed by
STEPHEN JESSOP

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast to die for
Although the double room is very small and very basic the restaurant and the breakfast were outstanding. We couldn't fault the food at all. Very friendly pub, would definitely return.

Reviewed by
Geraldine C

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid-week stay in quiet village
This is our second visit to the Bell Inn in recent weeks. This time we chose a larger room for an extra £5.00. This was well worth while. The rooms are basic, but we had a proper wardrobe this time and a good size bathroom where everything worked as it should. The bed, although old, was comfortable and we enjoyed a good night's rest. Breakfast was really good - although the plates were not as hot as on the previous occasion. These stays are out of a sense of necessity rather than pleasure, so we are looking for value for money; that is what the Bell delivers. It's a lovely old village pub- I loved watching the young ducklings on the village pond this time.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Hann

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next