No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
21, Standlake Road Ducklington, Witney, OX29 7UP
The Bell Inn is situated on the edge of the Cotswold’s, in the Village of Ducklington, just off of the A415 and A40. it is a pre-13th century building with thatched roof and open fires, very much an olde worlde village pub!

As you come into the village you will see the village church (origin 1150) the village duckpond and the Bell Inn.

The village of Ducklington is a great community and all the locals having a story to tell about the history of the pub and the village and playing old but simple pub games.

We have a pool table situated in the lounge area, a TV screen and a hook the ring on the horn!

Aunt sally is played weekly and is part of a big Oxford traditional league game, well worth watching!

The original part of the pub apparently was built for the workers that built the church, it was then extended to make further bar room a restaurant and B&B.

Occasionally we do have live music on a Friday or Saturday night (although not often 3 or 4 times a year) although we aim to be finished by 11.30pm please do bear this in mind if you are booking with children.
Picture of The Bell Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 137 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and Friendly
I stayed for 2 nights while on business. The staff were courteous and friendly. The food was great and the accommodation was clean and tidy. All in all a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
John Dickson

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Bell Inn. A lovely quiet village, a warm welcome with log fire.
A lovely quaint Inn, warm welcome, open log fire. Nice comfortable room, good food & wine, perfect breakfast. Very nice friendly service & no hesitation in recommending.

Reviewed by
Kenneth G

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good food, friendly staff, planning to stay again.

Reviewed by
d busk

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bell Inn
Very nice little country pub/B&B. Very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
R Simms

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bell Inn
Very friendly, couldn't fault it.

Reviewed by
jane z

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming traditional pub accommodation

Reviewed by
Marie H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

vegetarian nut dish overcooked
noise from bar/other rooms audible

Reviewed by
a collins

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bell Inn
Pleasant, Clean, excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm & friendly
Warm & clean room. Excellent hospitality. Tasty cooked breakouts.

Reviewed by
Mandy g

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
Lovely little Pub that is clearly popular. We found the Staff very welcoming and friendly. The room was compact but with everything needed for an overnight stay. Not sure about the sound proofing though as we found we could here absolutely everything in the next room, and I mean everything.

Reviewed by
T Noake

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next