No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
21, Standlake Road Ducklington, Witney, OX29 7UP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Family Friendly 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Bell Inn is situated on the edge of the Cotswold’s, in the Village of Ducklington, just off of the A415 and A40. it is a pre-13th century building with thatched roof and open fires, very much an olde worlde village pub!

As you come into the village you will see the village church (origin 1150) the village duckpond and the Bell Inn.

The village of Ducklington is a great community and all the locals having a story to tell about the history of the pub and the village and playing old but simple pub games.

We have a pool table situated in the lounge area, a TV screen and a hook the ring on the horn!

Aunt sally is played weekly and is part of a big Oxford traditional league game, well worth watching!

The original part of the pub apparently was built for the workers that built the church, it was then extended to make further bar room a restaurant and B&B.
Picture of The Bell Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 131 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful staff
Very friendly and helpful staff. Good value for money. Comfortable rooms with everything you need. Good location.

Reviewed by
Emily A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome- we were given lots of information about the local area and places to visit. excellent food good beer, clean comfortable accommodation. excellent value for money highly recommend this Inn

Reviewed by
R Wareing

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice old inn
nice freindly pub good clean room, had the small sunday lunch which was very nice and there was plenty of it on the plate ! good location to base yourself in that area and value for money.

Reviewed by
chris h

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our overall experience of the Bell Inn was good, the only criticism was, when we arrived there was no food available, we had to go out and look for a restaurant.

Reviewed by
J John

From Pen Y Bont Ar Ogwr, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spend 15 pound more and go Premier Inn
I booked this following reviews on website. Quite misleading really, our party of 12 waited over 1 hour for poor quality food that had over inflated prices! Room poor, curtains wafer thin, shower door hanging off spend 15 quid more & book Premier Inn !!

Reviewed by
Scott W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bell inn Witney
Friendly pub / b&b, we stayed with our 4 year old for two nights. Accommodation basic but everything you need is there, good value for money considering the cost of other hotels locally. Breakfast was good, staff very friendly and hospitable.

Reviewed by
Deborah Jordan

From Hyde, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

THe Bell Inn, Ducklington
We have given this accommodation a 5 for value for money as this is Oxfordshire so for what you pay, do not expect "The Ritz". The Inn itself is a bit of history, old but full of character and much more interesting than its more modern counterparts. The rooms are basic but clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was better than the usual pub grub especially for a short stay, the breakfast was really good if you are a fan of the" full English". We understand that the current owner/manager is reviving the Inn from a run down state and you can tell that this is being appreciated by the local customers which give it a good local pub atmosphere. A couple of good real ales in the bar was a bonus. Our room (4) would benefit from a proper wardrobe and a larger television. The bathroom, although functional needs upgrading and we believe that this is planned for all the rooms in the near future. The inn is ideally placed for trips around Oxford and into the Cotswolds. We were visiting relatives living in the area and the best recommendation we can give is that we will not hesitate in staying here again in the future.

Reviewed by
M Archer

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So Friendly
Very friendly welcome. Excellent value for the price paid. A hearty tasty breakfast.
Would certainly stay there again. A very relaxing stay.

Reviewed by
K Winter

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was refurbished, new shower, but other equipment in the bath room was old and simple.
No hair dryer and no proper mirror. We had to ask for the towels.The premise around is not very tidy and there was some rubbish behind the entrance door.
The new beds were very narrow so I was afraid to fall out of while sleeping. The food in the bar was good but the service was very slow. The breakfast was very good, too but also very slow and apparently not well organized service. Everybody was friendly.

Reviewed by
E Schmidt

From Germany
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Had a lovely stay at the hotel, I was staying as I am in the Royal Navy and it was right near brize norton I stayed here as I was with my mum. We had an early morning start so we would've missed breakfast as they very kindly offered a pack up lunch for us for free and it was brilliant it was full of sandwiches crisps dessert and it was really nice too. Never had that before.

Reviewed by
d chapman

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next