No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
21, Standlake Road Ducklington, Witney, OX29 7UP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Family Friendly 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Bell Inn is situated on the edge of the Cotswold’s, in the Village of Ducklington, just off of the A415 and A40. it is a pre-13th century building with thatched roof and open fires, very much an olde worlde village pub!

As you come into the village you will see the village church (origin 1150) the village duckpond and the Bell Inn.

The village of Ducklington is a great community and all the locals having a story to tell about the history of the pub and the village and playing old but simple pub games.

We have a pool table situated in the lounge area, a TV screen and a hook the ring on the horn!

Aunt sally is played weekly and is part of a big Oxford traditional league game, well worth watching!

The original part of the pub apparently was built for the workers that built the church, it was then extended to make further bar room a restaurant and B&B.
Picture of The Bell Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 131 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money
Friendly helpful staff
Quiet after pub closing time
Easy access to Oxford

Reviewed by
keith p

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One to avoid unless on a budget and you don't expect any quality customer service.
Really disappointed, the twin room was awful, mould in the corners of ceiling and window, cobwebs around ceiling and dust on light fittings and wall mounted tv, mould in shower all over ceiling and huge moth in corner which never moved during stay even when showering. Bed uncomfortable, mattress squeaky, but bedding very clean. Paintwork on walls poor and covered in splash marks, wardrobe not assembled properly. Fixtures and fittings very old and in huge need of update. TV remote would not work, and controls on tv wouldn't allow volume to be altered. I have stayed in better youth hostels and for £65 per room was not value for money, I felt very aggrieved paying for the room. The customer service was practically non existent, the pub was in darkness before 11pm when we returned so no one to ask for internet access. Owners were too busy the next morning arranging their charity coffee morning than to pay any attention to their guests, I could go on, just really disappointed, spoilt the weekend really.

Reviewed by
Linda F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A cozy Cotswold pub
Ideal for visiting the West Oxfordshire area, friendly staff. I would recommend it for value especially with the vastly over priced Witney hotels!

Reviewed by
R Peattie

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a typical country pub - it's quiet, clean, friendly and comfortable. The staff are wonderful and a mine of local information. Will be stay of choice for future visits to Oxford (Pear Tree Park and Ride is fairly close and convenient for city)

Reviewed by
Colin Kelcey

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly country pub

Reviewed by
R Dudley

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
No razor socket available in bathroom, good job I brought my wet razor "just in case".

Reviewed by
M Walland

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although our stay was short we were made to feel welcome
Bed extremely comfortable
Staff friendly and helpful
A reasonably priced B%B in Oxfordshire and we will recommend
An excellent stay

Reviewed by
CHRISTINE G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful staff
Very friendly and helpful staff. Good value for money. Comfortable rooms with everything you need. Good location.

Reviewed by
Emily A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome- we were given lots of information about the local area and places to visit. excellent food good beer, clean comfortable accommodation. excellent value for money highly recommend this Inn

Reviewed by
R Wareing

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice old inn
nice freindly pub good clean room, had the small sunday lunch which was very nice and there was plenty of it on the plate ! good location to base yourself in that area and value for money.

Reviewed by
chris h

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next