No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
21, Standlake Road Ducklington, Witney, OX29 7UP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Family Friendly 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Bell Inn is situated on the edge of the Cotswold’s, in the Village of Ducklington, just off of the A415 and A40. it is a pre-13th century building with thatched roof and open fires, very much an olde worlde village pub!

As you come into the village you will see the village church (origin 1150) the village duckpond and the Bell Inn.

The village of Ducklington is a great community and all the locals having a story to tell about the history of the pub and the village and playing old but simple pub games.

We have a pool table situated in the lounge area, a TV screen and a hook the ring on the horn!

Aunt sally is played weekly and is part of a big Oxford traditional league game, well worth watching!

The original part of the pub apparently was built for the workers that built the church, it was then extended to make further bar room a restaurant and B&B.
Picture of The Bell Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 135 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly pub but no on site parking

Reviewed by
D Murdoch

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
We had a good stay and enjoyed a very friendly welcome and good food. Bed was comfortable.

Reviewed by
Joanna R

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carpeted bathroom, small room but good facilities. Could hear the pub downstairs but slept well on a comfy bed. I left early and they offered me a packed lunch as I was going to miss breakfast which was really nice.

Reviewed by
puja b

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay for my birthday weekend
Staff very friendly, food was great!!
Really enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
Kerry Harper

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For a very affordable, friendly accommodation I would recommend the Bell Inn.

Reviewed by
C Liddle

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would reccommend this lovely Inn.
Wonderful, quaint old fashioned Inn. Real character. Room was clean except for all the cob webs !! The cleaner needs to look up when cleaning the rooms. However, the room was tidy and the bed , extremely comfortable. The proprietors and staff were very welcoming and friendly, as were the locals. Food was very good.

Reviewed by
j woodhouse

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the bell inn a great little gem.
A great little pub,full of charm and open fire's ,great for exploring Oxford and the surrounding countryside. Would go back tomorrow just for the real ale.Well recommended.

Reviewed by
greg csikay

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just the best
had a great stay was made to feel so welcome the food was fantastic great beer
no john smiths

Reviewed by
martin hayes

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Snug as a bug
The pub is very friendly, very approachable staff, The room was cosy and warm. Has a lovely feel to the place. Tasty Breakfast too

Reviewed by
Annie B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and bed were comfy. Was going to order a steak for evening meal but overheard a conversation saying that a lot of things of the menu were off that night including steaks of any kind! Think it was a case of you can have what we have. So saying that I had lasagne and it was a good portion (more than enough in fact). We enjoyed our meal

Reviewed by
E Knowles

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next