No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
21, Standlake Road Ducklington, Witney, OX29 7UP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Family Friendly 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Bell Inn is situated on the edge of the Cotswold’s, in the Village of Ducklington, just off of the A415 and A40. it is a pre-13th century building with thatched roof and open fires, very much an olde worlde village pub!

As you come into the village you will see the village church (origin 1150) the village duckpond and the Bell Inn.

The village of Ducklington is a great community and all the locals having a story to tell about the history of the pub and the village and playing old but simple pub games.

We have a pool table situated in the lounge area, a TV screen and a hook the ring on the horn!

Aunt sally is played weekly and is part of a big Oxford traditional league game, well worth watching!

The original part of the pub apparently was built for the workers that built the church, it was then extended to make further bar room a restaurant and B&B.
Picture of The Bell Inn, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 134 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendliness is not a compromise for sleep
Very nice people. Didn't very much enjoy having a band playing loud music 2m away from our bed. The room was approximately 50cm wider than the bed. The bathroom had a carpet. Breakfast was served in what I can only describe as a cave that smelt simultaneously of fags and damp upholstery. I believe the room was probably dusted in the '80's.
I wouldn't recommend this room if you like food or sleep. The beer was nice though.

Reviewed by
Claire J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real gem
This was a last minute booking and was a real find , great food, great beer , great company. From the minute I arrived until the minute I left I was made to feel welcome. Give this place a go - I will certainly be going back.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

charming old pub. It was lovely to find a "proper pub" friendly owners, good food and clean. Ideally situated for visiting Oxford and the surrounding Cotswolds

Reviewed by
Helen Hughes

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only issue we had was that there was no hot water at all in the room. We drew this to the attention of the staff that night and they said the whole system appeared to be off. Staff on next morning seemed to know nothing about it and we couldn't help but wonder if the problem had come to light before we booked in? The staff didn't seem to be authorized to act/ know what was happening. When we raised the issue again on leaving we were eventually offered some money back as compensation - really we'd have preferred the hot water!

Reviewed by
Karen A

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money
Friendly helpful staff
Quiet after pub closing time
Easy access to Oxford

Reviewed by
keith p

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One to avoid unless on a budget and you don't expect any quality customer service.
Really disappointed, the twin room was awful, mould in the corners of ceiling and window, cobwebs around ceiling and dust on light fittings and wall mounted tv, mould in shower all over ceiling and huge moth in corner which never moved during stay even when showering. Bed uncomfortable, mattress squeaky, but bedding very clean. Paintwork on walls poor and covered in splash marks, wardrobe not assembled properly. Fixtures and fittings very old and in huge need of update. TV remote would not work, and controls on tv wouldn't allow volume to be altered. I have stayed in better youth hostels and for £65 per room was not value for money, I felt very aggrieved paying for the room. The customer service was practically non existent, the pub was in darkness before 11pm when we returned so no one to ask for internet access. Owners were too busy the next morning arranging their charity coffee morning than to pay any attention to their guests, I could go on, just really disappointed, spoilt the weekend really.

Reviewed by
Linda F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A cozy Cotswold pub
Ideal for visiting the West Oxfordshire area, friendly staff. I would recommend it for value especially with the vastly over priced Witney hotels!

Reviewed by
R Peattie

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly country pub

Reviewed by
R Dudley

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a typical country pub - it's quiet, clean, friendly and comfortable. The staff are wonderful and a mine of local information. Will be stay of choice for future visits to Oxford (Pear Tree Park and Ride is fairly close and convenient for city)

Reviewed by
Colin Kelcey

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
No razor socket available in bathroom, good job I brought my wet razor "just in case".

Reviewed by
M Walland

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next