You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Five Bells

3

108 BAYDON ROAD, NEWBURY, RG20 8HH

Price From 130.12 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (17)

94% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Alisdair M

  • August 2016

Clean, comfortable room.

Very good stay after a long day, staff very helpful and friendly, room very clean and comfortable, food OK but very heavy on the salt which left me up during night gasping for water, breakfast however was excellent but still a little salty.

  • A B

  • July 2016

Fantastic stay!

Beautiful pub with seriously excellent food offered a quiet room at a great price- it definitely exceeded my expectations and I would recommend the Five Bells!

  • Nigel R

  • June 2016

Quaint old country pub.

My wife and I stayed at the Five Bells and were thoroughly satisfied with the place, it was home clean, not hospital clean, nice comfy bed, pumped hot water for the shower, room serviced daily, and of course the bar provided a fine selection of ales, some brewed on the premises, and a wide range of quality food.

The breakfasts were good, bacon, eggs, black pud etc, or cereals, and juice and coffee, or tea, nice friendly helpful staff, I would definitely recommend a stay here if you need accommodation near Newbury, way more character than a ghastly Travel Lodge, for a similar price.

  • Stephen C

  • March 2016

Fantastic country inn

We stayed 2 nights in room 1.

The room is large with very comfortable bed, walk in shower and roll top bath. It was very clean and warm. The food is gastro pub type but good quality and very well cooked. There is a great selection of beers, cider and wines we'll be back!

  • Jonathan O

  • December 2015

Very Good Experience

I recently stayed in the 5 Bells and would certainly recommend it.

The room I had was a bit a small and there were some minor issues with the shower head not being fitted properly but on the whole, the visit was very good. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the food was excellent (particularly the breakfast) and the bar atmosphere was also very pleasant. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Claire E

  • October 2015

Amusing stay...!

I booked this as part of my mum's birthday present, as we were going to Highclere Castle the next day, which was just a short drive away.

When we arrived (around 5pm), the actual pub was closed, but we were greeted and shown to our room. We were the only ones staying, but as it was bank holiday Monday, this wasn't a surprise. This is where the amusement started..... Our room was an 'all in one room' with a double bed in the same room as the shower, sink and bath - thankfully, the toilet was in a separate room. Mum and I laughed about this a lot. When we asked if all the rooms were like Room 1, we were told this was the 'Honeymoon suite' - So, if you are staying with friends, parents etc - rather than spouse or partner - best request a room other than room 1!. It was very comfortable though, and the team did everything to make us feel welcome. We also ate in the pub that night - the food was great, and also great value. Breakfast the next morning was also ok - everything you could want was on offer - although we asked for dippy eggs and soldiers, which weren't quite dippy, but this didn't matter!

  • Andrew B

  • August 2015

Comfortable and friendly

We stayed for two nights while visiting my wife's sister and were very happy.

Ale fans will be pleased to hear there is a good variety downstairs.

  • NIGEL K

  • July 2015

Handy stopover

We needed a B&B stopover after our ferry crossing from France.

This amazingly well stocked real ale pub was ideal for our purpose, readily accessible on way north from Portsmouth.

  • Lara B

  • June 2015

Welcoming inn

Excellent customer service and a pleasant large room.

Food very nice and the beer even better.

  • Andy B

  • May 2015

Good Overall

Food was excellent, room was disappointing, noisy doors to all rooms - no handle on outside of main door to pull it shut quietly so had to allow it to slam otherwise wouldn't lock, room itself quite tiny, no wardrobe, no desk or unit other than bedside table - tiny tv up high on wall, shower head needed cleaning, light bulb needed replacing, bed was very comfy