The Gate Hangs High

3

Whichford Road, Hook Norton,, Banbury, OX15 5DF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Terence John

  • May 2015

Very friendly welcome

This appears to be family run and as such has a very friendly atmosphere from the moment that you step in the door.

All requests are answered with a smile and I have to say that the quality of the food for the price was excellent. We had a very nice dinner in the restaurant and an excellent breakfast choice. This pub/restaurant/guest house is in a very quiet location so not the place to go to if you want busy local nightlife but excellent if you want a quiet and relaxing short stay. On the Sunday after we left we went to the village of Hook Norton on the way through to Chipping Norton and it has to be said that it is a beautiful village. Recommended.

  • M Cook

  • February 2015

Friendly owners, cozy atmosphere. Good food, excellent beer.

Arrived during a motorcycle rally, we were camping in the pubs grounds.

Although crowded in bar area, my partner and I were made to feel comfortable & welcome.Would book again or would go just to eat the excellent food. Had a very pleasant stay.

  • stephen h

  • December 2014

Homely and peaceful with a very nice breakfast

  • Patrick M

  • October 2014

nice spot - good food and beer

  • Roger McKone

  • September 2014

Well worth a Visit

Great place to stay, rest and eat.

Service, drink and food excellent, accommodation very good but not excellent (some refurbishment?) but overall fine. Great stepping off point for exploring the area. Would choose to stay here again.

  • Roy M

  • September 2014

The Gate Hangs High

Accomodation block behind the pub was very comfortable, well equipped and clean.

Plenty of parking and Wi-Fi in the bar area. Food was generally ok. Had steak and chips on the second night but the chips were so heavily salted that I could not eat them. When I pointed this out they didn't offer a fresh portion - just knocked the chips off the bill, leaving me hungery after having half a meal.

  • GEOFFREY B

  • August 2014

generous room size

Generous room size with plenty of storage space for our six night stay.

Very good breakfasts and dinners.

  • Trudy C

  • August 2014

Excellent country retreat

.

  • p venables

  • July 2014

Cotswold Experience

We had a lovely weekend in Cotswolds staying at Gate Hangs High.

Friendly Landlord & staff, good beer + good food.

  • Mark P

  • October 2013

A nice surprise

After leaving my hotel booking until way too late ( ie after 6pm on the same day I was checking in) I was forced to travel a little further than I wanted but it was worth the extra 15mins driving.

I walked into a cosy pub which served excellent beers, everyone was friendly and as it was nearing 9pm I ordered food before going to my room to change, I found a nice room with possibly the hardest bed known to man but that aside the room was great and away from the pub which I find to be nice when the pub is busy and you have an early start. I returned and ate in the bar, my venison was such a nice surprise as it was perfect, not just nice,perfect. Dessert was great as were the beers I sampled. Breakfast is served from 8:30 which was a little late for me but it is the kind of place that you don't feel like rushing anyhow and the breakfast was tasty and ample. How pubs should be, great beer and good food if you are oeckish.