No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Gate Hangs High

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Whichford Road, Hook Norton, , Banbury, OX15 5DF
Situated in Hook Norton near Banbury and Chipping Norton, we have four spacious letting rooms which are ideal for couples after a quiet getaway, touring the brewery, walkers and cyclist. Tourists to the area are most welcome. With superb panoramic views of the surrounding Oxfordshire countryside and the many wonderful walks that can be enjoyed, the Gate Hangs High is the perfect spot to just Stop, Look, Listen & Indulge! At The Gate Hangs High, we take great care in providing the most memorable experience whatever the occasion, which is why when you have tried us once you will want to return again and again. The overall feel is rather homely, it is a popular spot for couples and families to enjoy both privacy or get involved with the locals. With tastefully restrained polished brasses hanging around the walls complementing the simply decorated plaster work and the beamed ceilings, lit by candles, pretty wall lights and the roaring log fire in the feature inglenook fire place, the bar is just how you would imagine, idyllic. Outside a wonderful spacious garden which in summer is the perfect place to be, forget all your troubles and just sit, relax, and enjoy.
Picture of The Gate Hangs High, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a Visit
Great place to stay, rest and eat. Service, drink and food excellent, accommodation very good but not excellent (some refurbishment?) but overall fine.
Great stepping off point for exploring the area.
Would choose to stay here again.

Reviewed by
Roger McKone

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

generous room size
Generous room size with plenty of storage space for our six night stay. Very good breakfasts and dinners.

Reviewed by
GEOFFREY B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent country retreat
.

Reviewed by
Trudy C

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Gate Hangs High
Accomodation block behind the pub was very comfortable, well equipped and clean. Plenty of parking and Wi-Fi in the bar area. Food was generally ok. Had steak and chips on the second night but the chips were so heavily salted that I could not eat them. When I pointed this out they didn't offer a fresh portion - just knocked the chips off the bill, leaving me hungery after having half a meal.

Reviewed by
Roy M

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cotswold Experience
We had a lovely weekend in Cotswolds staying at Gate Hangs High.
Friendly Landlord & staff, good beer + good food.

Reviewed by
p venables

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice surprise
After leaving my hotel booking until way too late ( ie after 6pm on the same day I was checking in) I was forced to travel a little further than I wanted but it was worth the extra 15mins driving. I walked into a cosy pub which served excellent beers, everyone was friendly and as it was nearing 9pm I ordered food before going to my room to change, I found a nice room with possibly the hardest bed known to man but that aside the room was great and away from the pub which I find to be nice when the pub is busy and you have an early start. I returned and ate in the bar, my venison was such a nice surprise as it was perfect, not just nice,perfect! Dessert was great as were the beers I sampled. Breakfast is served from 8:30 which was a little late for me but it is the kind of place that you don't feel like rushing anyhow and the breakfast was tasty and ample. How pubs should be, great beer and good food if you are oeckish.

Reviewed by
Mark P

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Middle of onwhere...
If you like your own company then this is the place for you... Didn't seem to have me booked in when I arrived? Room was pleasent, but if you need glasses remember to take them, the TV was tiny. Evening meal was very good and the breakfast was excellent! Not sure I would stay again but "ok".

Reviewed by
richard s

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick overnight...
Lovely staff, breakfast and evening meal. Room clean and perfectly adequate

Reviewed by
Helen S

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very nice place
Very friendly staff,comfortable and clean and very good food.

Reviewed by
Tony Daniels

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.