No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Greyfriars Lodge

3Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
6, Stour Street , Canterbury, CT1 2NR
Home to a beautiful 12th-century chapel and gardens, Greyfriars Lodge is full of character and charm. The building is Grade 2 listed and located at the heart of one of the most vibrant, cultured and historic Cities in the UK. Canterbury Cathedral is just 3 minutes’ walk away, and you can enjoy free Wi-Fi, elegant rooms, and buffet continental breakfasts.

Light and freshly furnished, every room at Greyfriars has a TV as well as a mini fridge for guests to make use of. All the rooms also include an en suite bathroom. Interior Secondary Double glazing has recently been fitted in all the rooms however, please bear in mind Greyfriars is in the heart of City and therefore the hustle and bustle of City life needs to be considered.

We also offer flexible accommodation for Groups wishing to stay in the Canterbury region.
Picture of Greyfriars Lodge, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the ideal to place to stay in Canterbury
Ideal place to stay. very comfortable, beautiful garden to the back. I would stay there again because Greyfrairs Lodge is central for all historical sights, restraurants and coffee shops.

Reviewed by
Mary W

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff, convenient location
The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of town and the staff are very helpful. It was a bit noisy on Saturday night with loud music playing till quite late though.

Reviewed by
R Ritchie

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing
Friendly staff and ok continental breakfast but everything else was very disappointing for £120 per night. Sheets were not changed even thought were made dirty by our children and the room didn't get hoovered either, overall not clean at all for the three nights that we stayed. Also,there was not enough hot water for proper shower or bath. The garden looked nice from pictures but very misleading in person. I wouldn't visit again or recommend to a friend.

Reviewed by
Diana M

From Woodford Green, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be going back, nice,clean and lovely bed

Reviewed by
Kevin J

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Great location to visit Canterbury minutes from the High Street and all the sights. Only draw back was the club opposite but it is a university town so partying is to be expected. Room was clean and the bed was the best I have ever had in a hotel, with a selection of 3 types of pillow which you rarely get in a 5 star hotel. Staff were friendly & helpful, would have been nice if there was a full English Breakfast on offer but the continental was very nice. Would definitely recommended it.

Reviewed by
Sally C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noise
The guest house was opposite a club and the shouting and screaming went on until 3am.
Ask for a room at the back but these are only family rooms.
The staff were nice and very helpfull

Reviewed by
MICHAEL F

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff
Really warm welcome from staff at hotel. Parking sorted and room shown. Bed very comfortable, but bathRoom in need of a makeover, particularly shower. Continental breakfast ok.

ManagementResponse

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Greyfriars Lodge and would like to thank you for sharing your review online.

Reviewed by
Denny D

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff at reception. Public space is not where you would choose to linger. Walls are rather thin, not helped by my neighbour having the television on until three am. The tea and coffess facilties were fine except I had no cups (or glasses) in my room, but I did find cups and glasses in the reception area. I really needed something more than a continental breakfast and an earlier start for breakfast than 0730.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review of Greyfriars Lodge, we appreciate and acknowledge all customer feedback and encourage our guests to contact the on-site member of staff with all direct enquires.

Reviewed by
J C

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly adequate but pricey
Great Location but difficult to get to by car. Parking some distance away so not suitable if you have lots of luggage. Room large and clean. Service friendly and helpful. Breakfast cold buffet but good quality. At £81 per night a bit expensive (£6) was for parking, 24 hrs.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review of Greyfriars Lodge. While on-site parking isn’t available we are delighted to be a part of the Canterbury District Council reduced rate parking scheme and do encourage our guests to drive direct to the Guest House in order to unload heavy luggage. We are also glad you enjoyed our breakfast and take all guest comments into consideration.

Reviewed by
Richard Thompson

From Kent, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accomodation in Canterbury
Nice b and b Rooms had lots of character - wooden ceiling beams

Reviewed by
sheila gawlak

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next