Reviews - The Lansdown Grove Hotel



Price From 236.75 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (57)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • John Parry

  • November 2015

Very good hotel staff very helpful

  • J Willard

  • October 2015

Lovely old building in wonderful position overlooking the beautiful city of Bath.

Full of character but in need of a bit of refurb. Steep hill, nice walk down. Convenient 15min bus service up hill or £4 taxi. All staff lovely.

  • A Pugh

  • October 2015

A wonderful hotel!

We stopped here for one night on our way home to North Wales following a wedding in Newquay.

What a wonderful hotel.....staff were pleasant and so helpful....our room was spotlessly clean and the walk to the town only took 10 mins (downhill) Of course, being such an old and listed building, parts were in need of freshening up....if you like a "boutique" type hotel then this would not be for you but we enjoyed our experience there very much.. Our first visit to Bath was a delight and the hotel allowed us to leave our car in their car park until late afternoon on our day of departure. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.


  • September 2015

The Lansdown Grove Hotel

The hotel was faultless and staff very friendly.

The problem we encountered on a two day short break was the actual communication from late rooms and the hotel. Having booked and paid through late rooms the night before, upon arrival we were again asked for our bank details and were charged full amount upon authorisation. Having arrived in the evening and spending a considerable amount of time at reception explaining that we had already paid for the accomodation, we further had to make contact on our mobile phone to late rooms to try to clear up the matter.. The following morning we had to speak to reception again followed by a trip to the to confirm that no further monies had been taken from our account. The hotel staff were not apparent of the procedure with late rooms with regards to payment. Therefore our 2 days short trip was mared by us having been constantly in touch with both hotel reception, late rooms and our bank. As you can appreciate our frustration and disappointment which should have been a pleasant short stay. Upon leaving the hotel and on instructions from our bank were given a written receipt to say that no futher money had been taken and the hotel were liaising with their head office. As stated the hotel was superb it was the booking in procedures between the hotel and late rooms were the problem, i believed that upon arrival at the hotel we only had to give our booking ref no, which was not the case. I would not want to go through this experience again with any hotel anywhere due to lack of communications.

  • Michael S

  • August 2015

Friendly hotel

Very friendly and helpful staff

  • d hilton

  • August 2015

The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Lovely hotel and staff.

  • Peter M

  • July 2015

Lansdown Grove

Excellent hotel situated close to Bath City centre.

Very friendly staff. Large room with outside terrace. Very clean.Excellent breakfast menu.

  • Kerry H

  • July 2015

Great hotel for a short break.

Stayed for one night to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversray.

Very warm welcome on arrival and great info and map supplied to help us find our way around Bath and the sights. Room was a good size with en suite. Very comfy bed. A few cosmetic updates needed but nothing major or to spoil our stay.

Parking on site for us was a must and the charge of £5 for 24 hours was not unreasonable, but maybe free parking would be more appealing and a selling point of the hotel. The hotel is in a lovely spot at the top of one of the roads leading directly out of the city centre. It is quite steep and took us about 15/20 minutes to walk. Not a problem for us but may be an issue for older, less able or families travelling with young children. The bus stop outside or reasonably priced taxi ride would alleviate the problem if walking not an option. We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel (although the menu choice looked lovely) as once we walked in to the city, we decided to eat there before heading back up. Breakfast was good. Again, a good selection of hot and cold choices. Service was friendly and quick and food hot and well cooked. We didn't have much cause to bother the staff but go the impression that anything we asked for would have been catered for if possible, infact, the morning we checked out it was pouring. Having not packed umbrellas, Jane kindly lent me one to wander down to the Roman Baths before we headed home. Without this, I would have been soaked.

The hotel is a beautiful old building and yes, perhaps in need of a little update to the decor. But it's a fab location and very clean. The garden terrace would be beautiful on a warmer, sunny day. We would definitely stay here again. Guests seemed on the whole, quite a bit older than us but this didn't matter to us.l

  • G Kennedy

  • May 2015

Need a bit update but overall great stay!!!

Hotel need to update bathoroom and some of the comom areas, bed is a bit noise and soft.

Could easily became 4 stars!!. But we had a great one night stay. Staff was really friendly and helpful. Great breakfast and parking facilities. About 10-15min walk to the city center. We would stay again!

  • Ray T

  • May 2015

Classy and grandiose lodging at the top of the town