No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Parkgate Road , Chester, CH1 6NE
Recently refurbished with a multi-million pound investment, this glorious historic manor house from 1660 has been bought back to its former glory. Ideally located on the outskirts of the city centre, it is the perfect base to explore Chester and the surrounding areas whilst also providing a haven in which to relax – whatever the reason for your stay. With 48 characteristic rooms to choose from, including a selection of individually decorated suites you can rely on a little taste of luxury at Crabwall Manor Hotel and Spa.
The newly refurbished onsite spa and leisure club boasts 5 treatment rooms, steam room, massage showers, aerobics studio, fully equipped gymnasium and an 18 metre heated swimming pool – all of which can be enjoyed by guests at your leisure.
With free parking and free Wi-Fi at the hotel, Crabwall Manor is also great for the business guest with 5 meeting and conference rooms that can cater for up to 100 delegates. Chester Rail Link is only 3 miles away, and the hotel is easily accessible from the M56 motorway.
Dining in the ‘Earl of Chester’ Restaurant and our bar also offers an outdoor terrace to enjoy lunch or afternoon tea with views over the landscaped gardens. Or for those of you wanting to make the most of our new bedrooms, 24hr room service is available.

Important information Children's swim times: from 09:00 to 11:00, and 15:00 to 17:00 Monday to Friday. From 10:00 to 17:00 Saturday and Sunday.

Charge for any extra beds - £20 per bed per night
Cot charge - £5 per cot per night

Breakfast to be booked directly with hotel. Full English at £16.50 & Continental at £9.95.

Please note that our Spa and Restaurant opening hours over the festive period are as follows:

Spa
Wednesday 24th December 2014 - 8am until 8pm
Thursday 25th December 2014 - 8am until 3pm (No treatments available)
Wednesday 31st December 2014 - 8am until 3pm (Treatments available from 8am until 2pm)
Thursday 1st January 2015 - Closed

Restaurant
Thursday 25th December 2014 - Closed (Christmas Lunch Available Only) Bar menu available in the evening
Wednesday 31st December 2014 - Closed (New Year's Eve Gala Dinner Only)
Thursday 1st January 2015 - Closed - Bar menu available in the evening

Breakfast
Thursday 25th December 2014 - 8am until 11am
Thursday 1st January 2015 - 8am until 12pm

Please contact the hotel should you require further details.




Picture of Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 251 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation was excellent. The rooms were extremely spacious, comfortable, finished to a high standard & clean throughout. Made for a very relaxing & enjoyable stay. Phoned in advance to request a ground floor room absolutely no problems securing. All requests happily met.

Reviewed by
Sarah P

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant experience! Will use again!
Lovely hotel, excellent welcome! Shame we couldnt have eaten in the bar it was taken up by a wedding party, we were not advised of this on arrival! The bar area when we did get in is not actually practical for eating?!?!? The room was beautiful and the quality of the fixtures and fittings were excellent, shame there was so much muck around the carpet at the skirtings! Attention to detail was lacking! The checkout process was very slow, card machine issues and took over 30 minutes. Generally our stay was very good and we will be back!

Reviewed by
Helen J

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding
Well presented lovely place to visit highly recommended to stay. As for the restaurant the food is lovely but if you want value for cash there nice little pub down road

Reviewed by
Colin B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
After a long day at Alton Towers me and my better half checked in here before going to chester zoo the next day and we could not have been happier. Food, room, staff and facilities were all perfect.

Reviewed by
Chris Laird

From Brampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for two nights and the stay was completely relaxing. The hotel is not far from the town and is in such a nice and peaceful location. The grounds were beautiful. The room was also of a good quality and we were definately spoilt with the size of the room. We ate in the restaurant twice, once for tea and once for breakfast. Both meals were of good quality, however the only negative is that it is slightly overpriced for the quantity. Overall the stay was excellent! Definately recommend!

Reviewed by
Kerry Wheeler

From Wellesbourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice place but not worth the money
We stayed as part of a wedding party and the food at the reception was not what you would expect from this kind of establishment. The pate was average and although the lamb was well cooked, nobody on our table ate the dessert which I think was supposed to be custard tart. The function room was oddly shaped and no microphone was provided for the speeches so we didn't hear them. None of the Windows can be opened in the function room so it was very hot and sweaty in there. As for our room, very spacious and nice but the handle for the tap was missing, the shower was average and the Windows, although quaint, were very old and small so didn't let much air in and were awkward to open/close. There was only 1 sachet of hot chocolate and no spare pillow in the cupboards but 2 irons. The breakfast was very nice but definitely not worth £10 per person!!! Plus the view out the window at breakfast was that of a neglected thorny hedge. We were going to use the spa but couldn't as it was so full. Even on a non-discript Saturday morning at 10am. These are all very small things but for £140 a night I would expect the small things to be perfect. I have stayed in far better accommodation for less money.

Reviewed by
A Crawford

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely over nighter
Arrived straight after work from manchester, was impressed by the building and setting and thoroughly enjoyed the spa as well as the room.
Perfect place for a relaxed overnight and doesn't feel like you're any where near a city

Reviewed by
J Eddison

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff, excellent facilities
We were only staying 1 night, but wish it was longer. A lovely welcome from the staff and the facilities and gardens were fantastic. Would whole heartedly recommend for a couple. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Lorraine F

From Eye, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Open Golf visit 2014
Excellent Hotel for my 2 day visit to The Open golf practice days being set in a pleasant and peaceful location and a twenty miniute or so drive to West Kirby via Heswall. Very good value for money at the
Late Rooms discounted price. Reception staff very helpful at check in and check out.

Reviewed by
john bishop

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rubbish over priced hotel {Dump}.
Hotel is dated room stiling hot at night No air conditioning stayed in much better before in chester at half the price of this hotel and also breakfast over priced for what you get will never stay here or recommend to anyone i know if i had i would lose a lot of friends very poor. Corridors to room stank of body odour carpets could do with a deep clean or better renew may be beyond cleaning.

Reviewed by
james b

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next