No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Forge - Chipping Norton

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Forge Churchill, Chipping Norton, OX7 6NJ
Located in the Cotswolds , the heart of rural England, The Forge is almost 200 years old and was once the village blacksmith‘s. In more recent years it has been converted into the warm and comfortable home it is today, while retaining many of the original features. Five rooms are available and all have en-suite baths with showers or a shower-room, two are equipped with Whirlpool baths, three rooms have traditional four-poster beds. All rooms have Digital Freeview colour TV, tea and coffee facilities and other amenities to make you feel at home. Free Internet access is available on a dedicated "Guests Computer" or via our WiFi wireless network on your own laptop/notebook. We have our own off street parking. We are a totally non-smoking home and in the interests of our guests, we regretfully do not accommodate young children or pets.

Picture of The Forge - Chipping Norton, Chipping Norton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend away
- very friendly welcome, even though we arrived before 4pm
- helpful advice on places to visit and walks to make
- warm and comfy bed
- good breakfast
- easy to find location

Reviewed by
Charlotte D

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
An extremely high standard of accommodation

Reviewed by
Jillian Ward

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'Just the Job'
Ideal location and in a Village setting, easy road links to the Cotswolds. Very friendly welcome, all amenities and facilities explained fully & clearly. Beautiful property in garden setting on quiet village road. Room, Facilities, Parking & Breakfast, All 'Up to Scratch'. Very nice, ideal for a quiet relaxing break.
The Chequers Restaurant across the road is nice, but expensive. Check your bill before paying. we found that we'd paid for some others to have a drink, and a Service Charge included, even though we'd left a tip.
The Tite Inn down the road is more reasonable, with more menu selection and a really nice welcome in lovely surroundings.

Reviewed by
M James

From Merthyr Tydfil, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good place to stay, Owners really nice, only downside is Breakfast doesn't start until 8 am, not good for early starters, other than that really good

Reviewed by
Lawrence Duffy

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Forge and would highly recommend it. We stayed in room 5. It was very comfortable and very clean. A quiet location opposite a lovely pub! The food was gastro prices but perfect for a birthday treat. The beer was very well kept. Back to the Forge. Our breakfast was ample. Both of the owners were helpful without being intrusive which was a brilliant combination of customer service. Thank you very much for a lovely stay! Highly recommend it if you are looking for a great location with comfortable B and B accommodation.

Reviewed by
S Stephens

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Would not hesitate to book into this lovely b & b again

Reviewed by
John P

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming, comfortable, good pub across the road. What more do you need for a 1-2 night stay
Recommended. Would use again.

Reviewed by
stuart P

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy couple
We had a very comfortable 2 night break at the Forge. We enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it anyone.

Reviewed by
susan w

From Beccles, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice but short stay
We arrived in Churchill late in the evening and drove away the next morning, but the stay at The Forge was a pleasant one. Our hosts were very helpful and served a tasteful English breakfast in the morning. Churchill was a quiet little village outside Chipping Norton surrounded by great nature.

Reviewed by
Leif B

From Alingsås, Sweden
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely half term break
Super place and people. Kind and helpful. Lovely room with super comfy bed and breakfast excellent especially the Scrambled egg and smoked Salmon!! Thank you Debby and Martin.

Reviewed by
Valerie O

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next