No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Esplanade Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
27-29 MARINE PARADE EAST , Clacton-On-Sea, CO15 1UU
Ideally situated in the heart of Clacton-on-Sea’s vibrant seafront and just a stone’s throw from the famous Pier, this marvellous hotel boasts a quiet, yet convenient location whilst providing affordable accommodation that doesn’t compromise on quality or customer service. With its’ stunning sea-views, stylish on-site restaurant, comfortable rooms and friendly staff, it exemplifies all that is great about life on the Essex sunshine coast.

Each of the Hotel’s 31 en-suite rooms has been recently redecorated in a fresh, contemporary style with the emphasis placed firmly on comfort and relaxation. Every effort has been taken to ensure that guests have everything they need for a welcoming stress-free stay. All rooms include complimentary Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms feature spectacular views overlooking the sea. With a variety of accommodation options available, including Double, Twin and Family rooms, there is sure to be something to suit even the most discerning of travellers.

No trip to the Esplanade Hotel would be complete without first sampling the culinary delights of the fabulous on-site restaurant. Everything served is freshly cooked to order, whilst the kitchen team are deeply committed to using quality ingredients sourced from local suppliers wherever possible. With menu options offering everything from a light lunch to a good steak or a delicious Sunday Carvery, guests are sure to discover something to whet their appetite. Recently refurbished, the restaurant seats up to 60 people and provides a stylish backdrop to what is likely to be a memorable dining experience.

Clacton has a wealth of attractions and tourist spots, offering everything you would expect from an English seaside resort, including beautiful sandy beaches, exciting water-sports, an enthusiastic nightlife, two theatres, beautifully restored gardens, bowling greens and of course some of the best fish and chips in the country - there is truly something for everyone to enjoy. The world-famous Pier is only a brief walk from the Hotel and provides a dazzling array of entertainments including thrilling rides and amusements, tempting restaurants and bars, boat and fishing excursions and much more besides.

Located in the heart of the town, Esplanade Hotel offers excellent convenience and accessibility. It is only a 35 minute drive from Colchester via the A133 to Clacton, or just over 20 minutes from Junction 29 of the A12. Clacton-on-Sea Railway Station is only a brief walk from the Hotel and there is a frequent service between Clacton and London Liverpool Street. For those flying in, London Southend Airport is just over a 75 minute drive, whilst Heathrow and Gatwick are roughly 2 hours away.
Picture of Esplanade Hotel, Clacton-On-Sea at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful view from the Esplanade
The room was spacious, clean and welcoming - a beautiful bay window overlooking the esplanade and sea.
The towels - which were lovely and clean / well presented etc - could have been larger.
Unfortunately the breakfast - although well presented - was a little disappointing. Poor scrambled eggs, weird mushrooms....

Reviewed by
D Gadd

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room review
I had a single room (23). It was clean, the towels and bedding were fine, but the room was very poorly laid out. There was no wardrobe only a rail that overhung the chest of drawers. On the chest of drawers was the tv which needed to be wall mounted to free up space on the chest. The tea tray was under the clothes rail so when you used the kettle the steam would go all up into your clothes, I had to move it. The worst thing was the kettle, it was a really old fashioned one that had the wire and plug joined so that when you needed to fill it to use it you had to take the entire thing to the bathroom to fill it. The options on the tea tray were very poor. 4 sachets of nescafe coffee, 4 tbags and some sugar sachets. There was no decafe coffee or decafe tea available and no sweeteners.
The bathroom was good, but again needed some finishing touches. The tiles on the floor had no finish to them where they joined the carpet into the bedroom, as the tiles stand proud of the carpet they leave a sharp edge. The hand towel rail is in completely the wrong place over on the far wall next to the shower. I had to put it on top of the toilet so I didn't have to step onto the wooden slated floor mat that's on the floor outside the shower. There was no glass to drink water from, just a horrid plastic beaker that was full of sachets of shower gel and shampoo. There was no anti bacterial liquid soap, just a horrid disc of very highly perfumed soap that smells like toilet cleaner. There was no shelf to put your personal belongings on ie deodorant, cream etc, I had to leave mine on the sink.. There were no hooks in the shower or shelf to put your shower gel/shampoo on. There was no net curtain at bedroom window so when the workmen walked past they could see straight into my room so no confidentiality at all.
Finally I believe I was overcharged as I had to pay £50 and £55 per night and it was not a sea view room at all. I will not be staying there again and will not be recommending it to anyone else.

Reviewed by
Mary Stephens

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasent stay
Nice room with great sea view clean and tidy. Breakfast was very nice too. It appears the owners are renovating the hotel at present and doing quite. Good job

Reviewed by
J Juby

From Manningtree, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to Clacton
Hotel was clean and breakfast was fine

Reviewed by
Robert H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not book here - It migght be cheap but you will not enjoy your stay! Don't risk it.
I am not a fussy person but this must be said. Taking into account that I currently live in student accomodation... Awful accommodation. Awful rooms, ceiling was all rotted with cracks going down the walls and the wallpaper was half hanging off the walls. Bed was small, cheap, squeaky and uncomfortable. Room was unbearably hot. Tatty old cheap furniture... handles kept coming off cupboard doors. Don't even supply an ironing board and iron. Loud main road and old poorly insulated windows. Rooms are really bright in the morning because of cheap, non-lined curtains. Only 4 car park spaces so you have to move your car on the road in the morning. Bathroom flooded everytime we had a shower. However, edible breakfast and great views.

Reviewed by
Jack B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel ... Shame they put us in a dungeon.
Friendly staff, nice hotel, nice location ... But beware room 19. The room was big enough and indeed had I nice new bathroom fitted however both windows were frosted glass and didn't open. No views at all. The room was also fully illuminated all night with powerful light outside. This must have been the bin area as we were woken on several occasions by the emptying of bottle bins into a metal skip. Worse nights sleep ever. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment but we didn't expect the sawing, banging and hammering to start at 7 AM !! This combined with the constant slamming of the door (obviously the workmen used this to come and go every 5 minutes) .....avoid room 19 if you like sleep!!!

Reviewed by
John M

From Baldock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stopover on business
The room was discounted as the hotel was undergoing refurbishment . So it came in at a £60.00 which turned out to be priced okay for what was on offer. Asked to pay the balance on arrival which was unusual. The minus points-The welcome in reception was lukewarm and rattled off in an inpersonal manner. No offer to carry bags. Wifi code not given automatically and no phone to reception in the room so had to go downstairs again to get it. Chap on the phone didn't acknowledge me, just pushed a business card over when he saw that I was holding my phone. I had planned to do some work on my laptop but there was no table and chair in the room despite a yawning gap between the bed and the TV on the opposite side of the room. Didn't feel comfortable setting up in the bar area as hotel staff seemed be sitting round watching TV. No information book in the room, the kettle didn't fit under the tap and the extractor fan in the bathroom sounded like a jet taking off.. On the plus side the hôtel was clean and the breakfast and service good

Reviewed by
Jo Q

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Refurb was a good idea!
We booked a last minute weekend away and thought the price was reasonable and the fact that it was right on the sea front was a bonus.
On first impressions the hotel looked lovely. But, the negative are : There was a piece of paper at reception stating that they were In the process of refurb ing the hotel. But the room we stayed in clearly hadn't been refurb yet! The bed was like a metal based 'put me up', the mattress was really lumpy, the pillows were so thin and hard and the bathroom was really very grim.
I'm glad we aren't big people as we wouldn't have got into the shower cubicle, as only one sliding door opened properly, not sure if that was due to the black slime in the grooves! The shower took at least 5 minutes of just running before it was warm enough to get into, and when I did it took forever to get wet as it was just a trickle. Very small cubicle so nowhere to put shampoo etc, so had to keep sliding the one door open! I tried not to look to closely at the grime around the cubicle and the stains on the ceiling!
On returning to the room after a day out on the second day, the room hadn't been turned over. The beds hadn't been made and the tea & coffee facilities hadn't been replenished.
On the positive side : the food was nice, and the bar area as cosy and clean, and it was lovely and quiet at night.
I understand that they are refurbishing the rooms, but I hope that they can bring it back to the standard that the beautiful building deserves. And small details like replenishing coffee & tea or refreshing the room would be nice.

Reviewed by
K Rogers

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very poor management,.
i went there for the first time to visit Clacton, i am an international traveller. . i found the hotel convenient for price and for only one night and close to train station. what absolutely let me down was the new Owner/Manager. he lacks all types of manners and education. when at 6 pm i asked for central heating, he said that was off already. there was no hair dryer in room. Instead of recommending his own premises he offered to upgrate to a refurbished room, for 20 more pounds. when i left i did say, ´what a let down´and he cynically shouted...´you should have upgraded to the 75pounds!!!´´to which i replied, we are not all rich like you... this really made my stay... very unpleasant. nothing like british people, sorry about my comment.

Reviewed by
a jackson

From , England
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

impressive
for the price everything you should expect. Lots of refurb. going on but did not spoil our stay. We found all staff friendly, yes including the manager. Would definitely use the place again.

Reviewed by
dennis c n

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next