No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Newnham White House B&B

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The White House Ashwell Road, Newnham, Baldock, Herts, SG7 5JU
Whether for business, holidays or some social event nearby, The Newnham White House makes you welcome in a warm and friendly atmosphere. We are surrounded by countryside but only a few minutes away from mainline stations and a mile away from the A1M.

There are great country walks and the historic village of Ashwell, with its welcoming hostelries, is only a couple of miles across the fields by footpath, or a couple of minutes drive.

Our rooms are furnished to a high standard and provide a comfortable, friendly and relaxed environment. The room on offer is a large private double with en-suite (bath only, no shower).

There is free wi-fi in all rooms and plenty of private parking.

There is no smoking in the house.

We offer a choice of full English or Continental Breakfast. All our food is locally sourced.

There is a fine choice of pubs and restaurants within a short driving distance for evening or lunchtime meals.

Please note that we accept payment by cash, cheque or bank transfer. We do not accept card payments.

Picture of The Newnham White House B&B, Baldock, Herts at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay
I booked to stay at The Newnham White House as it wasn't too far to travel for a night away and had very good reviews. Cindy greeted us with tea and cake upon arrival which was lovely and very kindly offered to drop us at the pub for dinner and collect us later. She couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The only comment I would make is that it was assumed we'd have a full English breakfast and most places will ask what you want before cooking it, the food was very good but I felt like I ought to eat more than I would have otherwise.

Reviewed by
S Squires

From Welwyn Garden City, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay, highly recommended
We really enjoyed our stay with a warm and friendly welcome, lovely house and a big hearty breakfast.
They could not have helped us more with requests and local knowledge. Better than hotels for service and quality. If you are staying in the area this is the place to go.

Reviewed by
David Saggers

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and welcoming
Very friendly place, a large house with big garden, excellent breakfasts, family friendly.

Reviewed by
Samuel C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A welcome change
To be greeted , after a reasonably long drive , with offer of coffee and cakes on the patio was a wonderful welcome. Even better was the repeat offer when we came in the evening. Definitely a welcome to remember -rooms and breakfast lived up to the welcome

Reviewed by
Arthur R

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely beautiful home - luxuriously decorated with lovely extra touches
Would have preferred an en-suite bathroom but the private bathroom across the landing again was fabulous

Reviewed by
Jansi Francis

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury B&B in the country
Couldn't be faulted. Fabulous accommodation, including a sumptuous guest lounge. Unparalleled hospitality, with tea & cake on arrival...and every other evening! Perfect for a restful night in a lovely setting.

Reviewed by
W Prescot

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An awesome B&B run by a lovely couple
We stayed one night at The Whitehouse and will definitely be going back - such a lovely house and an incredible welcome, we were treated like royalty and really can't recommend it enough!

Reviewed by
Rose Brandle

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect day away.
Only 40 mins out of London we spent 1 night with Cindy and Richard and they could not have done more to make us feel welcome in their home. Homemade cake and tea on arrival and Cindy took the trouble to book a local pub for us for dinner. Immaculate b and b, great breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who were thoroughly delightful people and helped us plan our day out in the surrounding area. I would have no hesitation recommending the White House to friends.

Reviewed by
Nick G

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort, luxury and the warmest of warm welcomes
Being last-minute people to the core, my husband and I booked at the Whitehouse giving less than 24 hours' notice. We promptly received a very friendly e-mail from Cindy the owner, giving directions, and offering to book us into a local restaurant for dinner, which we gladly accepted. The property was easy to find, even in the dark, and Cindy and her husband could not have been more welcoming. The house is very much decorated as a family home, which made us feel comfortable and cared for from the moment we stepped through the door. Since we were the only guests, we were offered a choice of room. We chose the double on the first floor, which was spotlessly clean, and extremely comfortable, complete with a selection of toiletries, a wide range of hot drinks, and a fruit and shortbread bowl. As if this were not enough, on our return from dinner, we were invited to sit in the guest lounge, complete with real log fire, and served hot tea and delicious biscuits. As you can imagine, Cindy is most solicitous about ensuring that her guests are well fed! The breakfast next morning was delicious, and so plentiful that even my husband, who adores his breakfast, could not finish it. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
S Alexander

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very special Guest house
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Cindy and Richard were wonderful hosts who made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
Anne Sutherley

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next