Reviews - The Newnham White House B&B

4

The White House Ashwell Road, Newnham, Baldock, Herts, SG7 5JU

Price From 149.80 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (19)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nick G

  • March 2014

A perfect day away.

Only 40 mins out of London we spent 1 night with Cindy and Richard and they could not have done more to make us feel welcome in their home.

Homemade cake and tea on arrival and Cindy took the trouble to book a local pub for us for dinner. Immaculate b and b, great breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who were thoroughly delightful people and helped us plan our day out in the surrounding area. I would have no hesitation recommending the White House to friends.

  • S Alexander

  • October 2013

Comfort, luxury and the warmest of warm welcomes

Being last-minute people to the core, my husband and I booked at the Whitehouse giving less than 24 hours' notice.

We promptly received a very friendly e-mail from Cindy the owner, giving directions, and offering to book us into a local restaurant for dinner, which we gladly accepted. The property was easy to find, even in the dark, and Cindy and her husband could not have been more welcoming. The house is very much decorated as a family home, which made us feel comfortable and cared for from the moment we stepped through the door. Since we were the only guests, we were offered a choice of room. We chose the double on the first floor, which was spotlessly clean, and extremely comfortable, complete with a selection of toiletries, a wide range of hot drinks, and a fruit and shortbread bowl. As if this were not enough, on our return from dinner, we were invited to sit in the guest lounge, complete with real log fire, and served hot tea and delicious biscuits. As you can imagine, Cindy is most solicitous about ensuring that her guests are well fed. The breakfast next morning was delicious, and so plentiful that even my husband, who adores his breakfast, could not finish it. We would definitely stay again.

  • Anne Sutherley

  • October 2013

A very special Guest house

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Cindy and Richard were wonderful hosts who made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Catriona P

  • September 2013

A wonderful place to stay

From the moment we arrived, Cindy made us very welcome in her beautiful home.

Our room was very comfortable and spotless with views over the garden and open countryside and with so many thoughtful touches. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for Cindy which, after a long drive, we really appreciated. After having spent such a relaxing weekend here I shall certainly recommend The White House to friends and hopefully stay again.

  • D Redmond

  • September 2013

Highly recommended

I would highly recommend this B & B for anyone wanting to get away from it all.

From arrival to departure the owners of the B & B were very hospitable. We had the en suite room at the top of the house which was beautifully laid out and exceptionally clean, not so good for the very tall though due to low ceilings which is understandable being a loft conversion. Breakfast was top notch.

All in all a very pleasant stay, we would highly recommend this lovely B & B, not just for the accomodation but also for the hosts.

  • Leya Ostell

  • September 2013

Impeccable

Great B and B.

Beautiful house - lovely room - lots of lovely little touches: milk in milk jug in room; banana bread and tea when I arrived; very good breakfast and owner was very warm and welcoming; nothing was too much trouble and she gave me a lift the next morning. Will definitely come again.

  • P Norman

  • September 2013

The accommodation was absolutely fantastic -it was the small touches like a jug of milk instead of small cartons, a bowl of fresh fruit in the room.

The hospitality was fantastic (above and beyond). I would definately recommend this B&B and hope to go back again and again!!!

  • Adrian Bunting

  • September 2013

What a little gem!

Lovely spot.

Great food - lovely atmosphere - Cindy cannot do enough to help. Just need to know bfore hand that the whitehouse is yellow - and they don't take payment by plastic.

  • Mary W

  • August 2013

Great experience!

We only stayed for one night - and chose this B&B on the basis of reviews on Late.com and price.

We weren't disappointed. The Newnham White House is extremely well located for anyone wanting easy access to Cambridge or other attractions in the area. The welcome was perfect and we had a peaceful night's sleep, slap-up breakfast. Everything was immaculately clean. A real find. A shower in our bathroom would have been desirable, but having a bath was fine.