No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Newnham White House B&B

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The White House Ashwell Road, Newnham, Baldock, Herts, SG7 5JU
Whether for business, holidays or some social event nearby, The Newnham White House makes you welcome in a warm and friendly atmosphere. We are surrounded by countryside but only a few minutes away from mainline stations and a mile away from the A1M.

There are great country walks and the historic village of Ashwell, with its welcoming hostelries, is only a couple of miles across the fields by footpath, or a couple of minutes drive.

Our rooms are furnished to a high standard and provide a comfortable, friendly and relaxed environment. The room on offer is a large private double with en-suite (bath only, no shower).

There is free wi-fi in all rooms and plenty of private parking.

There is no smoking in the house.

We offer a choice of full English or Continental Breakfast. All our food is locally sourced.

There is a fine choice of pubs and restaurants within a short driving distance for evening or lunchtime meals.

Please note that we accept payment by cash, cheque or bank transfer. We do not accept card payments.

Picture of The Newnham White House B&B, Baldock, Herts at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impeccable
Great B and B. Beautiful house - lovely room - lots of lovely little touches: milk in milk jug in room; banana bread and tea when I arrived; very good breakfast and owner was very warm and welcoming; nothing was too much trouble and she gave me a lift the next morning. Will definitely come again.

Reviewed by
Leya Ostell

From Brixham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a little gem!
Lovely spot. Great food - lovely atmosphere - Cindy cannot do enough to help!
Just need to know bfore hand that the whitehouse is yellow - and they don't take payment by plastic.

Reviewed by
Adrian Bunting

From Heanor, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was absolutely fantastic -it was the small touches like a jug of milk instead of small cartons, a bowl of fresh fruit in the room. The hospitality was fantastic (above and beyond). I would definately recommend this B&B and hope to go back again and again!!!

Reviewed by
P Norman

From Ipswich, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience!
We only stayed for one night - and chose this B&B on the basis of reviews on Late.com and price. We weren't disappointed. The Newnham White House is extremely well located for anyone wanting easy access to Cambridge or other attractions in the area. The welcome was perfect and we had a peaceful night's sleep, slap-up breakfast. Everything was immaculately clean. A real find. A shower in our bathroom would have been desirable, but having a bath was fine.

Reviewed by
Mary W

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely haven at the end of a long day
I stayed at the White House B&B for 3 nights whilst away on business. I arrived later than anticipated but was met with a warm welcome, a cup of coffee and a roaring fire. The room was lovely and spacious and absolutely spotless, as was the bathroom. Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room and was very nice indeed, plenty of choice and all cooked to perfection. What really makes this place stand out from the crowd is the wonderful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and it felt like a home from home, highly recommended as an alternative to sterile hotels. I am certainly going to stay there whenever I am in the area, it was a real pleasure.

Reviewed by
Alison M

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomadation & Hospitality.An all round brilliant atsmosphere.

Reviewed by
peter p

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful!
What a lovely place to stay! Cindy was so welcoming, as was her husband and son who we saw briefly. We were greeted with a tray of tea, coffee, biscuits and malt loaf. Breakfast was beyond anything I have ever experienced, with so much choice and as much as you could eat! Such a lovely room, very comfortable! I will certainly be returning and would recommend anyone to stay here. Fabulous, thank you!

Reviewed by
Amy Juniper

From Epping, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A truly wecoming expereince
If you are fed up withg the sterile business hotel environment (convenient but functional) and need to stay in the Stevenage area then I can highly recommend THe Newham White House B&B - tremendous welcome (Tea by a real log fire), quiet, very comfortable and beautifully clean room and a breakfast which deserves to be lingered over (although it was served extreamly quikly) - proper OJ, choice of teas (and coffee), choice of bread, croissant and perfectly cooked hot breakfast - I wish I was not on a diet at the time. THere is also a very good Indian Restautant about 3 miles away.
Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Colin M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A truly delicious place to stay. The welcome was warm as I was met with an afternoon tea by the fire. The room was perfectly equipped and the bed extremely comfortable. The hosts were flexible and accommodating and very helpful and provided a magnificent breakfast. I look forward to the opportunity to stay here again.

Reviewed by
H Trott

From Castle Cary, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely country house
beautiful countryside setting. Charming old world house. home from home hospitality.5 star breakfast

Reviewed by
Meyrick Wyard

From Reading, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next