No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lakeside Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
118, Abingdon Road , Oxford, OX1 4PZ
Welcome

At Lakeside we are constantly working on the property to provide a contemporary and comfortable environment for our guests. We are a family run guest house that has now been offering bed and breakfast within our home for over 23 years.

Assembled within an impressive semi-detached Victorian residence, Lakeside is situated on the Abingdon Road which can be followed directly into the City Centre. We are ideally located less than a mile from Oxford City Centre giving convenient access to Oxford's vast attractions. Next-door to us is Hinksey Park perfect for leisurely summer activities which contains an outdoor swimming pool and children's play area.

We offer a range of accommodation including single, double, twin and family bedrooms. All our rooms are decorated and furnished to a 4 star standard, as rated by The England Tourist Board. We strive to provide beyond that.

Along with our rooms we offer facilities such as off-street parking and wireless internet. Our complimentary breakfast allows a choice of a self service selection of continental style breakfast or a traditional English breakfast cooked to order. A variety of cooked options are available to suit your fancy including a vegetarian breakfast.

We hope you will choose to stay with us and find your time in Oxford to your delight.

Regards, Mr and Mrs Shirley.
Picture of Lakeside Guest House, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, great food
Ideally situated just 10 minutes walk from the city centre, next to a large park with river, lakes and an outdoor heated swimming pool. Breakfast was lavish, with your choice from the hot menu cooked to order. The room was very comfortable, and good quality toiletries supplied. It felt as though a great deal of thought had gone into making the room a pleasant place to stay.

Reviewed by
A C

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
Clean, friendly, comfortable. Ideally placed for town.

Reviewed by
Jenifer D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

T ake a break
Meet all of our needs , close to cit y centre, off road parking,clean and the food was good , what more could you ask for.

Reviewed by
J Senior

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice place to stay! Really friendly owner.
Breakfast was very tasty and great.
Can recommend it.
Very close to the city and easy to walk.

Reviewed by
cindy s

From Newtownards, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Year Escape
With theatre tickets booked for a party of four (me, my husband and two daughters) the next task was to find somewhere to stay. Ideally this would be within walking distance of Oxford (even for those with shorter legs who get tired easily), with parking (to save all the where to park when you don't know somewhere arguments), and not cost a small fortune for a family of four. This was not a trivial task for Oxford but The Lakeside Guest House ticked all the boxes and more.
It was really easy to get to and close to the city centre (walkable by the youngest member of the party, aged 6, before "are we there yet" was even mentioned). There was free parking. The family room we had was spacious, clean, the two beds for the girls were made up, there were plenty of lovely toiletries in the bathroom and the room was beautifully decorated (who doesn't love a bit of boutique hotel chic).
The owners were very friendly and helpful and supplied breakfast fit for a king (and two children who have a fondness for toast only usually seen in teenagers).
We would definitely recommend this as a place to stay, even him indoors has agreed we should go back.

Reviewed by
Tracey R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
We stayed at Lakeside Guest House for a weekend break. The staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was excellent a wide variety of fresh fruit and the cooked breakfast was cooked to order and hot on arrival. The room was warm, clean and very nicely decorated. When leaving the staff gave us mince pies which was a lovely festive touch. Parking in Oxford is nearly all permit parking so having parking at the guest house was a plus and it was not very far to walk into Oxford. Have already recommended guest house to friends.

Reviewed by
S M G

From Saltash, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal Location
Stayed in room 9, top floor, stairs quite steep if you had more than one suitcase, but room very comfortable, heater provided as central heating not necessary, on-suite well finished, good shower, and signs of re-furbushment throughout. Ideal for walk into town centre, or parkland right on the doorstep.

Reviewed by
d maunder

From Exmouth, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location easy to walk into centre. Car parking fine room clean & modern, decent food. Only criticism was the size of room -it was on the top floor and was converted attic with sloping ceiling - a trifle hobbit hole like.

Reviewed by
S Cusworth

From Altrincham, England
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was fantastic, except the bedroom I stayed in was on the ground floor next to the entrance and dining room. We heard everyone coming in at night and all the noise in the morning from the house waking up and staff starting breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Kinsley

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was very nicely decorated and furnished. Breakfast was good. We did find there was too much furniure in the room for the size of the room. It was a squeeze to get past the end of the bed because of the chairs. Also room was located on the ground floor next to the front door. Not ideal.

Reviewed by
S Smith

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next