No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Affcot Lodge

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Affcot Lodge, Upper Affcot, Near Church Stretton, SY6 6RL
Formally called the Travellers Rest, The Affcot Lodge has changed ownership and undergone substantial refurbishment. Owned and run by Chris and Wendy Davis with their dedicated team the Lodge re-opened for business on 1st July 2011.

Situated in Upper Affcot on the A49 between Church Stretton and Craven Arms the Affcot Lodge Hotel offers comfortable upgraded accommodation, extensive bar facilities, daily menus, fresh local produce, and the 'best Sunday Carvery around'.

We are on the A49, please ignore Sat nav's directions telling you to turn off the main road.

Whether you are local, or planning a visit to South Shropshire soon, the Lodge is the ideal place to stop.

The 10 bedrooms, offer varied accommodation and specification. Each room has en-suite bathrooms, free wi-fi, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. Availability includes two family rooms, double and twin bedrooms and rooms with disabled access.

With a beautiful, countryside setting Affcot Lodge offers the perfect location to enjoy dinner and special occasions with friends and family. The space can be arranged to suit your event-whatever the style and there are menus to suit all budgets. The Conservatory can be hired for breakfast, lunch or dinner and can accommodate up to 40 people.

We are a Vegetarian friendly Hotel.

Offering quality Bed and Breakfast at affordable prices for your stay in Church Stretton or Craven Arms, you can be assured of a warm welcome and glorious food to make your stay in South Shropshire extra special.
Picture of Affcot Lodge, Near Church Stretton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
This was our second time staying at Affcot Lodge. Both times we have stay we received excellent service. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is delicious. We are Vegetarian and sometimes struggle to get a varied choice but Affcot Lodge offer a very appetising choice including a full veggie breakfast. We will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
J Finney

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay
We were pleasantly surprised by our room and the quality of customer service.

Reviewed by
beverley s

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For what we wanted our one night stay could not have been better, The staff were brilliant, efficient and very welcoming, The food was adequate, service immaculate and everything arrived hot as it should be, Breakfast was particularly good.

Reviewed by
p Blackwell

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Affcot Lodge
Great value, great location

Reviewed by
David C

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable
I enjoyed a very comfortable stay and sorry it was only for one night!

Reviewed by
Edith L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night B&B Stop
Friendly, cheerful staff, pleasant stay, everything went smoothly, no problems encountered, we enjoyed our stay here

Reviewed by
Jennifer B

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to spend the night
e stopped here on our way from Devon to North Wales. If we were ever in the area again, we'd definitely stop here.

Reviewed by
John T

From Axminster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay, could not ask for better
We were attaneding a wedding and so needed a palce to stay for one night. We arrived early but were checked in and shown to our room with a smile and a very polite staff.
The room was perfect with a comfy bed and lovely powerful shower.
Exactly what we wanted, good rate and great staff

Reviewed by
Kathryn M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, bit cold
Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was lovely and the bed was really comfortable. Bar and food were very good. Good area for walking and the hotel was quiet despite being busy. Only downside was the room was a bit cold-the radiators needed bleeding, and the room was a bit dusty.

Reviewed by
A Dyer

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
the hotel was good value for money, clean and staff was friendly. Good breakfast, the only draw back was the wi fi signal in the room was very poor, infact it would not connect at all so I had to use the wi fi in the public area. Apart from this everything else was spot on

Reviewed by
Phil W

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next