Sopwell House

4

Cottonmill Lane Sopwell, St Albans, AL1 2HQ

Price From 304.39 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (17)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Penelope G

  • April 2015

Taking my elderly Mother for a break

This wasa great hotel, if you have lots of money and wanta pool.

The pool was bigger than usual and the reflective ceitling meant even if crowded, you do not bump into one another. Swimming at 8.30 am was fine at 9 it got more crowded, as the public came. I got out at that point for breakfast which was fine, pricey, and good quality. the fruit was not perfectly ripe, being winter, ?the cooked breakfast was fab. I said I was bringing my old mum, and she was treated well witha chair to wheel her about in the garden. It would have been good to have been reminded about it sooner, because also we had a room which was a long way from the one lift, so remeber to ask fora room near the lift if someone in the party has mobility issues. Really the staff were fantastic, particularly Tony. My mum loves wine and thought the glass of New Zealand white we tried was excellent. The flowers were great, and formal with a great pool.

  • Alan O

  • December 2014

Sopwell House

Great welcome and attention to detail.

  • K Alexander

  • November 2014

Such friendly and attentive staff

  • J Mclaughlin

  • October 2014

Always a nice place to stay

Its a lovely setting; the rooms aren't cheap but they are nicely done; just be aware its not a place if you have mobility issues.

There are lots of nooks and corridors but staff are helpful with guidance and help with bags and there are nice reception rooms some quite intimate where you can have a drink or a coffee Have been there a few times for organized dinners and the food at those is rather average; the main restaurant however is very nice. Its a good breakfast and I like the self service of the hot food so i can choose what i like; they only put out small amounts of the hot food at a time so it always looks fresh.

  • David J

  • October 2014

Fantastic Weekend Break!

This hotel was everything I expected from booking and more.

Staff were extremely friendly on arrival and throughout my entire stay. All facilities were brilliant. Had an issue with room service not answering the phone but a quick call to reception solved this and they were very apologetic. Would defiantly return.

  • Stephen W

  • July 2014

Good but not that good

Pleasent enough and surroundings also nice, but brasserie and cocktail bar overpriced as was the whole cost.

Concierge was very helpful. Better value elsewhere.

  • David S

  • June 2014

Great place

  • STEVE ROSE

  • April 2014

Breakfast was overcrowded and we had to wait 20 minutes to be seated.

Then we were hurried out of the breakfast before we were ready to leave. This was a minor irritation from a perfect weekend.

  • Simon Barbett

  • April 2014

Excellent keep it up

Perfect - we enjoyed our stay.

  • Helen P

  • April 2014

Girls reunion

Lovely hotel and setting.

The two rooms we had booked were good although we had to keep asking for items which should have been provided without reminders. The main problem was a communication one as at least five of our basic requests in person or on the telephone were misunderstood-a little disappointing for a hotel of this calibre. For the price we paid for a deluxe and superior room, we had expected better service.