Reviews - The Fat Fox Inn


13 Shirburn Street, ,, Watlington, OX49 5BU

Price From 209.49 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Debbie Heron

  • September 2015

Fat Fox Inn

Happy with accommodation and evening meal was superb.

  • Rob D

  • August 2015

Comfortable quality base for work and cycling

Situated in the lovely village of Wattlington this is an ideal base for work in Cowley, Oxford.

On the edge of the Chilterns it provides a perfect playground for cyclists for some of the most scenic riding. During the summer months I haven't found a better place to base myself while working away from home.

  • Patricia S

  • June 2015

location versus standards

small, room, basic.

Toilet flush was loose,shelf above sink sloped downwards so could not use. Leak from upstairs bathroom through our bathroom ceiling. Part used toilletries left but no new replacements. Service in restaurant was hit and miss. Food was very mediocre and not good value for money.

  • Robert C

  • March 2015

Lovely country inn

Excellent room and friendly staff.

Lovely bar/restaurant - evening meal was excellent although the olives did not arrive at the beginning. Breakfast was good apart from the bacon which was leathery - it looked as though it had been cooked and re-heated.

  • P Gordon

  • February 2015

Business traveller

Really nice hotel, rooms high quality with nice individual touches.

Even down to the quality of choices of tea, coffee and drinking chocolate. Great value compared to other accommodation locally and will stay there whenever I am in the area in the future.

  • robert morgan

  • November 2014

excellent experience

  • Paul C

  • October 2014

Excellent accommodation at reasonable price with fantastic catering

I think this has to be one of the best B & B venues I have stayed in.

The welcome was warm and friendly, room was very comfortable with lovely facilities and homely touches and the breakfast was probably the nicest I have ever had at a weekend retreat. The evening menu and food was also fantastic. Highly recommended.

  • Paul C

  • October 2014

Fun at The Fat Fox.

A very happy, friendly environment with excellent customer service.

The pub atmosphere in the evening was delightful. We were also very pleased with the room which was clean, comfortable and spacious enough for two. The food was good, but the menu was limited and expensive.

  • Peter Brixey

  • October 2014

Family Visit

I booked the Fat Fox for family visiting from Canada.

The room and location were great, but we were all a little disappointed by the food

  • christopher hollister

  • October 2014

Bathroom hell

the bathroom had an hole in the floor which had lino over it ,every time you showered you nearly went throu the floor there was no shelf to but anything on, althou the brackets were there the shelf wasnt.

The fan in the toilet stays on about 20 nims after the lights gone off, no good for middle of the night. Around the shower was mould and grimme. I have pictures of these.