No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bear and Ragged Staff

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
28, Appleton Road , Oxford, OX2 9QH
The Bear and Ragged Staff is just 2 miles away from the A34, 4 miles West of Oxford and without all the city centre parking issues. It is just off the main A420 to Swindon and Bristol. A stay at the Bear is much more than a “B&B” experience, guests have full access to the bars, snugs, log fires, decking/garden in the summer and the main restaurant. Perfect for a romantic weekend or for the busy traveling businessperson.

Rooms in the Old Cottage Wing all boast en suite bathrooms and high ceilings. There is full access to broadband and Wi-Fi connectivity. King sized beds are standard throughout, desks, full length mirrors for preparing for that special romantic dinner or business meeting are featured.

Above the Old Pub which is housed in the original part of the Bear dating back more than 450 years, we have refurbished the “Landlord’s Wing” which has historically been used as accommodation for the succession of landlords who have graced the Bear since it was converted into a pub in the 1860s. This part of the building provides another five rooms and bursts with features such as wiggly beams, sloping floors, quirky staircases and of course, ghosts.......!!
Picture of Bear and Ragged Staff, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased
What a great place to stay in. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Just four miles from Oxford city centre, we could have taken the bus from the village into Oxford. But we chose the equally convenient method of driving to the nearest park and ride, just a few minutes drive away. Great for visiting the city, but so peaceful and quiet at night. The staff were exceptionally courteous and helpfull. We ate there on our first night and the food was splendid. Breakfast is hearty and sets you up for the day. The room was very clean and tidy, exceptionally spacious (room No 5). This was definitely, a five star experience (with some good local ales behind the bar). Loved it.

Reviewed by
Mark Callis

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent country hotel
Lovely clean and comfortable accommodation situated in a small and pretty village. Good food in the high-class restaurant and very friendly and helpful staff. Within easy reach of Oxford.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value hotel , very friendly and helpful staff! Nice rooms, good tea/coffee facilities, loved the fresh milk- nice touch!!
Food slightly lacking finesse but good and tasty!

Reviewed by
Frances Judd

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel and food
Very clean room, staff where superb, and food was quality
Great place to visit and will be using again :)

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Bedrooms
My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night at the end of a long weekend seeing his family. The Bear and Ragged staff was just what we needed after a long weekend. Also we were blessed with excellent sunny weather so we could sit outside and enjoy a drink or two. The bedroom we stayed in (No 6) had a super comfy bed and an amazing en-suite with over sized shower which was perfect. All in all a great end to the weekend.

Reviewed by
M Knowles

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality
Quality service, rooms first class, food excellent. What more can you say!!!!

Reviewed by
Peter C

From Wolverhampton, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent country inn in picturesque village, but within easy reach of Oxford (around 4 miles). A balance of very old building, retaining much of the character and quirkiness, but stylishly updated in parts to provide a good standard of accommodation. Good menu in the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Isabel M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BEST OF BOTH WORLDS
Hotel building has immense character but offers excellent up to date facilities. Refurbished with quality and style, there is no compromise for the traveller who demands modern conveniences. Hotel is very handy for Oxford and the surrounding countryside but own transport required to make the most of the location.
Only had breakfast which was very good, cooked individually not self service from warming plates.
Recommended.

Reviewed by
Donald C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bear
excellent

Reviewed by
C Waterfield

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Place!
Booked the Bear and Ragged Staff as it was four star rated and was not disappointed - superb room and breakfast, accompanied by great staff - would stay again....and wished i lived nearer to eat dinner there.

Reviewed by
Robert G

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next