No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bear and Ragged Staff

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
28, Appleton Road , Oxford, OX2 9QH
The Bear and Ragged Staff is just 2 miles away from the A34, 4 miles West of Oxford and without all the city centre parking issues. It is just off the main A420 to Swindon and Bristol. A stay at the Bear is much more than a “B&B” experience, guests have full access to the bars, snugs, log fires, decking/garden in the summer and the main restaurant. Perfect for a romantic weekend or for the busy traveling businessperson.

Rooms in the Old Cottage Wing all boast en suite bathrooms and high ceilings. There is full access to broadband and Wi-Fi connectivity. King sized beds are standard throughout, desks, full length mirrors for preparing for that special romantic dinner or business meeting are featured.

Above the Old Pub which is housed in the original part of the Bear dating back more than 450 years, we have refurbished the “Landlord’s Wing” which has historically been used as accommodation for the succession of landlords who have graced the Bear since it was converted into a pub in the 1860s. This part of the building provides another five rooms and bursts with features such as wiggly beams, sloping floors, quirky staircases and of course, ghosts.......!!
Picture of Bear and Ragged Staff, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing find
What a wonderful experience. We arrived at the hotel at around 4PM, the lady checking us in was most polite and booked us in efficiently. She took the time to walk us to our room and showed us where everything was etc. The room itself (number 8) was a suite with a separate lounge, bedroom and bathroom at the very top of the building. It was exceptionally clean, well presented and, due to its position, well away from any noise from the pub downstairs. A bag of homemade cakes accompanied the coffee making facilities which was a nice touch. They were so delicious in fact that we decided to stay for dinner in the evening rather than go out into Oxford. We were so glad we did, the food was delicious and I would highly recommend eating here even if you don't stay the night. Back in the room we found the bed to be very comfortable, the abundance of flatscreens useful and the shower to be both hot and a great pressure. In the morning we decided to sleep in rather than attend breakfast but, bless them, reception called to say breakfast was coming to an end and did we want them to save us anything. This level of attentiveness is rare in my experience and we both thought it to be a sweet gesture as well as a great demonstration of customer service. Overall this hotel is to be highly recommended and I'm sure we will stay again in the near future.

Reviewed by
Bradleigh P

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely fire, room slightly dated and needs new pillows

Reviewed by
Lucie B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect B&B
After my husband and I had been away for a month and we reflected on our adventures it is very easy to say that this hotel was our favourite place we stayed at. Only problem was that we could only stay the one night. It is the ideal b&b, beautiful rooms, great service and lovely staff. The food was fantastic, restaurant beautiful and a great bar/sitting area. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

Reviewed by
H Taylor

From Black River, Australia
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

little bit of luxury
As this is a character room, room 9 may not be suitable for tall people as the doors are around 5ft3 which is why they have the other rooms. Beautiful room, soft bed, well appointed room in a grade 3 listed building. Bathroom is lovely. The room just needs a few small tweaks to make it perfect but it is great value for money if you want something different. The staff cannot do enough for you, the food is so nice, we also had dinner there which was spot on with great veggie and meat dishes. The village is adorable and so close to Oxford. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Danielle D

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great, relaxing weekend
We've eaten at the Bear & Ragged Staff several times before and have always loved the food. But when the chance to have a child-free evening we thought we would stay over too. The food - as usual - was faultless with great starters, a wonderful sirloin steak and rack of lamb. The wine was great too - a wide selection which is competitively priced.
The room we stayed in - room 7 - was really nice and in the main building of the Bear & Ragged Staff, with lots of character, super-comfy bed and a stylish contemporary bathroom and shower.
Would really recommend this as a place to stay and would come back in a heartbeat when the chance arises.

Reviewed by
Adam Nickson

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
From the moment we arrived we could clearly see this was going to be a great short break. The booking in was quick and easy the room was lovely. The staff were really nice and friendly and couldnt do enough for you. Food delicious and prices were good. The staff are there till late and on hand by phone 24 hours incase of emergency. Overall a great inn and we will go back again at somepoint.

Reviewed by
colin c

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful suite
very clean, spacious and atmospheric. Excellent service and food.

Reviewed by
Andres K

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased
What a great place to stay in. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. Just four miles from Oxford city centre, we could have taken the bus from the village into Oxford. But we chose the equally convenient method of driving to the nearest park and ride, just a few minutes drive away. Great for visiting the city, but so peaceful and quiet at night. The staff were exceptionally courteous and helpfull. We ate there on our first night and the food was splendid. Breakfast is hearty and sets you up for the day. The room was very clean and tidy, exceptionally spacious (room No 5). This was definitely, a five star experience (with some good local ales behind the bar). Loved it.

Reviewed by
Mark Callis

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spectacularly good!
Expensive....and worth every penny. Great food, great beer, great room, attentive staff, splendid. Recommended! Easy drive to the Park'n'Ride for Oxford and buses available in the village too.
In summary, the stay here is better than the visit to Oxford!

Reviewed by
Bob H

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Find beats most Oxford accomodation hands down
Excellent place - lovely room and great setting with a bit of history thrown in. Only downside was we didn't get chance to try the mouth-watering food as we were meeting up with friends in Oxford. Jovial host and top notch service - even provided us a taxi driver who lived in the village and was able to pick us up from Oxford in the early hours. Will definitely stay again - in fact we have suggested next time we all stay here.

Reviewed by
Nick S

From leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next