Canal Cottage

3

Station Road, Lower Heyford, OX25 5PD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (46)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Andrew F

  • April 2015

Lovely cottage and location

The staff were very accommodating and friendly and the location of the cottage is lovely, right next to the canal with good transport links by road into Oxford.

If you stay in the 'Parlour Rooms' going to the bathroom means crossing a small area of the cottage that is accessible to other guests but this wasn't a concern for us. Bedroom and bathroom both well presented. A little bit of water damage to a skirting board in the bathroom but nothing major and overall the rooms were good quality and as seen in the pictures. Breakfast is provided in the fridge when you arrive, not the most enormous continental breakfast I've ever seen but definitely tasty. All in all, a great place to stop over for a few nights, a short drive from Oxford and Woodstock and very quaint. Would stay again.

  • gary d

  • October 2014

Excellent value

Really enjoyed our stay, the room was very nice clean and warm.

Bathroom was amazing,

The choice of tea and coffee good with fresh milk in the fridge,

Bed very comfortable on downside for me was hard pillows but that's all,

Very friendly staff excellent cooked breakfast

Will definitely be going back to canal cottage.

  • Chris Hurrell

  • September 2014

Disappointed

Description and photographs of the property did not match the actual accommodation.

The room was clean although a number of flies could be seen lurking around. The bathroom (corridor like) was fine for showering but alas cleaning your teeth presented more difficulty. The bathroom had the smallest sink I have ever seen and a long glass shelve fitted above it. People were friendly and Steven's full cooked English breakfast is very worthwhile. In a good location though and very pleasant sitting outside watching the narrow boats and the wildlife.

  • Ashlie G

  • September 2014

Lovely little cottage

Love stay.

Staff could not do any more for me. Very helpful and attentive. Room was beautiful; very clean and a view overlooking the river. Very good value for money. I had breakfast in the bistro the following morning and the food was lovely and the staff there were really attentive and brilliant customer service!

  • Jon T

  • September 2014

Excellent/good Value accomodation

This was booked as a overnight stop off for Silverstone MotoGP.

Great service from the lady who showed us our room, beautiful location and a lovely room with a fabulous bathroom, nice walk along the canal to The Bell Inn where great food is available in a cracking olde England pub. I can highly reccomend this cottage to stay at, just wish we had longer. A+

  • Elena D

  • August 2014

Lovely idea, but with many tiny flaws

The location was outstanding, being right next to the canal and Lower Heyford village.

The cottage itself was cute and well kept. The room was clean and bright and comfortable. We staying in the 'manager's room'.

My tiny pickings would be about the temperature of the room for a start. the boiler must have been in the room and it got incredibly hot, but opening a window wasn't an option due to the speeding traffic outside, tractors would rush past causing the cottage to vibrate. The breakfast was a continental spread. In looks this was brilliant, with cheese, sliced cooked meats and bread rolls, but that was it, the bread was stale, to the point where I went hungry at breakfast twice. What's wrong with just a holder of toast and a bowl of cereal. The traffic and breakfast would put me off coming back, as I feel it really let the stay down.

Sleepless, hot, traffic filled nights accompanied by a lousy breakfast.

  • alison d

  • August 2014

as walkets in was in a lovely locatian for an afternoon walk

along the canel the staff were very friendly and helpfulso we will be staying in the future

  • Trevor S

  • August 2014

Canal Cottage

The property location is excellent being alongside both the canal and within 50 yards of the railway station.

It was perfect for travel to Oxford by train, the Cotswolds by car and for local walks including along the canalside. The property has a private bathroom across the hall not ensuite, but this is reflected in the price. We enjoyed our stay and appreciated the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

  • C Jay

  • July 2014

a shame

Great Room size, Great People, Great Site...

Shower had no hot water - this was genuinely apologised. apology was welcomed and accepted but it didn't help the freezing shower situation. Continental breakfast consisted of part baked rolls not quite cooked enough with a selection of cheese, one slice of ham and a small slice of italian sausage. Very dry. Had to eat elsewhere and we're NOT picky eaters. Room too hot. Got bitten throughout the night by who knows what. it was a shame as the people are genuinely lovely. If the breakfast was a little more indulgent or just locally sourced fresh produce it would have matched the look and feel of the hotel.

  • david mullinger

  • July 2014

A good base with limitations

Liked the actual bedroom [ parlour rooms ]---Did not like the fact our bathroom was not ensuite, and in fact we had to walk across the entrance hallway.

The location is on the edge of a very busy road-----being a canal cottage I was hoping for something much quieter.No faults with comfort and cleanliness, lovely towels and plenty of hot water. Breakfast disapointing, --particularly as I had given enough advance notice that my partner, needed gluten free food----still ordinary bread arrived which she could not eat, plus there was breaded ham on her plate also. -----I would stay here again purely because of the location where I wanted to go----Blenheim palace, ----My partner would object, I know, because of the bathroom across the entrance hall