No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Canal Cottage

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Station Road , Lower Heyford, OX25 5PD
The Grade II listed former Wharf Manager’s house at the entrance to our historic holiday boatyard has been tastefully converted into three comfortable, centrally-heated bedrooms - two fully en-suite and one with a private bathroom (which is disabled-friendly). Each includes Freeview flat-screen TV/DVD, courtesy fridge and designer hair-dryer. Continental breakfast* is delivered to your room on arrival. Canal Cottage is especially suitable as a touring base for Oxford and the Cotswolds, for a shopping extravaganza at nearby Bicester Village Outlet Shopping Centre (15mins) or for savouring the splendour of Blenheim Palace (15mins) and Rousham House (5 mins) nearby. For racing fans, Silverstone is a mere 20 miles away. The rail station is 50m away and offers excellent train links to Oxford (15mins) and Banbury (20mins), with connections to London (70 mins), Birmingham (90mins) and many other parts of the country. Parking available. Open all year round, except Christmas/New Year (20/12/13 - 02/01/14 inclusive). PLEASE NOTE VERY LATEST CHECK-IN TIME IS 1700.

*Our home-made plated continental breakfast includes a selection of cold meats, cheeses, tomato, croissant & petit pain. Tea, Coffee (including decaffeinated), Hot Chocolate, jams/marmalade and honey are also provided: Orange/Apple Juice and a jug of fresh milk are placed with breakfast into your in-room fridge for your convenience.
Picture of Canal Cottage, Lower Heyford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky
Enormous bathroom with large corner bath/shower. Smaller bedroom but adequate. Breakfast was left in room previous day - croissants (stodgy and cold) and selection of fruit juice cartons, cheese, yoghurt and meat slice in fridge (looked fine but not what we wanted). Tea and coffee selection in room also. Another option was to pay £5 for cooked breakfast in cafe. Nice location. Secure car parking.

Reviewed by
Ross Baird

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Canal Side B&B
Wharf Manager's house. Very good accommodation. Breakfast is continental in canal side café.

Reviewed by
Chris Roberton

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break for my birthday.
The cottage was ideally located for Oxford and area. The closeness of the railway station was very helpful.The accommadation itself was very clean and tidy. We had our breakfast at Kizzies cafe across the canal boat yard.These were very good. Only one minor problem with the lack of tea and coffee being replenished in the room but this was resolved very quickly and to our satisfaction.The pub in the village is not very good but we found another about five minutes down the road in Upper Heyford, The Barley Mow, where the welcome and the food could not be faulted Lovely grub and good value.On the whole a good experience.

Reviewed by
R Stanbridge

From Brighton, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy bed and fatastic friendly customer service!!

Reviewed by
Rebecca C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely escape to the country!

Reviewed by
LIZ M

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as expected
We arrived at the hotel expecting a large suite but were disappointed at the size of the bedroom. The bathroom was amazing, however the towels were not changed on our visit and the shower was cold.
The local pub was quite some way away. The staff were very helpful.

Reviewed by
C Ray

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

canalside cottage
Was nice accommodation and area. Room a bit small but fine for short stays. Not ensuite but private bathroom across hall spacious and well equipped. Decent pub in village

Reviewed by
patrick c

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well placed accomodation, right on train line and canal. Lovely and clean, friendly helpful staff.
Nice touches - fresh milk, juice and wine in fridge in room.
if being picky there were a couple of issues - shower head broken, electric lamp in room a bit 'dodgy' as sometimes it worked and other times it didn't and sink in bathroom too small to shave / brush teeth as shelf above was in the way but otherwise lovely and recommended for a quiet break near oxford.

Reviewed by
Julian E

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5