Canal Cottage

3

Station Road, Lower Heyford, OX25 5PD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (46)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Paul H

  • May 2014

We stayed for a night as a base for a walking break

A great place to stay

  • Peter B

  • April 2014

Overnight stay

Really excellent service and accommodation for our stay.

The room was comfortable and had all services one would expect from a 4 star hotel. I would like to make comment about the staff all levels of staff were really helpful and understanding of our needs they could not do enough for us to make sure we had all we needed. Would stay again if the need required us to.

  • N Robbins

  • April 2014

Really nice place to stay would certainly go back

  • S Denham

  • April 2014

Long weekend in Lower Heyford

Lovely find on late rooms.

Our hosts were very welcoming and informative of what and where to visit in the local area, we even had the opportunity to view one of their canal boats. As such, it's a great location on the Oxford Canal for Spring walks. Ideal for travelling to Central Oxford by train - 13 mins £9:20 return for 2 adults. Within 15 mins drive to Blenheim Palace which is a must see and good value for money, you can turn your tickets into an annual pass FREE of charge, we spent over 6 hours at the venue and still didn't manage to see it all. Also on the door step of Rousham House with its lovely gardens and if you're partial to shopping, Bicester Village is only 6 miles away. Last but by no means least make sure to visit the Barley Mow Pub for good food and entertainment, particularly the monthly Charity quiz night. Thanks to one and all for a lovely break!

  • C Lavender

  • April 2014

Great place to stay

I really liked my stay at Canal Cottage.

There was a friendly welcome on arrival and the cottage is comfortable and well priced. Breakfast is served in the bedroom and was tasty and delivered exactly at the time promised. The room is small but comfortable with a modern bathroom and quality towels and bedding. I will return for sure and look forward to my next visit.

  • Richard W

  • April 2014

Lovely Spot

Great location and good accommodation/food for the price.

Would stay again.

  • C Parsons

  • March 2014

University visit

Excellent value and setting.

Breakfast superb. Marvellous location for visiting one's offspring at Oxford whilst maintaining detachment from the city scene.

  • Virginia J

  • October 2013

Lovely location, beautiful surroundings and large, well decorated room

It's not clear where to check in here, I had to view past reviews to see.

Upon arrival, although friendly enough, the lady offered no information about our stay eg: where breakfast was served, what local pubs we could find for dinner, checkout times, how to close the awqward front door etc. Once again we relied on this website for such information. We truly loved the room, the bed was comfy and the bathroom large, with big fluffy towels and complimentary wash miniatures. The only let-downs were the dousen flies trapped inside the room which refused to leave even after leaving the window open all evening, and the double douvet cover which barely covered us on a king size bed. The milk in the fridge had split and didn't look too appealing although it was fine and there were no options for breakfast - being wheet intolerant my partner enjoyed a rather large breakfast whilst I settled for a slice of ham and cheese.

  • a pingarelli

  • October 2013

A bit limiting.

It was restricting having to book in by a certain time.

The room was very small and considering you were expected to eat your breakfast in it (when it arrived) there was no table and only one chair. It was not walkable to any local eatery. The breakfast was not good and there was no information in the room about the time the breakfast would arrive. For £70 it was not good value for money. Glad it was only one night.

  • andrew p

  • October 2013

last minute B+B

Friendly ,helpful staff, lovely location and clean,comfortable,tidy room.

what more can you ask for. Good value for money. thank you!