No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Canal Cottage

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Station Road , Lower Heyford, OX25 5PD
The Grade II listed former Wharf Manager’s house at the entrance to our historic holiday boatyard has been tastefully converted into three comfortable, centrally-heated bedrooms - two fully en-suite and one with a private bathroom (which is disabled-friendly). Each includes Freeview flat-screen TV/DVD, courtesy fridge and designer hair-dryer. Continental breakfast* is delivered to your room on arrival. Canal Cottage is especially suitable as a touring base for Oxford and the Cotswolds, for a shopping extravaganza at nearby Bicester Village Outlet Shopping Centre (15mins) or for savouring the splendour of Blenheim Palace (15mins) and Rousham House (5 mins) nearby. For racing fans, Silverstone is a mere 20 miles away. The rail station is 50m away and offers excellent train links to Oxford (15mins) and Banbury (20mins), with connections to London (70 mins), Birmingham (90mins) and many other parts of the country. Parking available. Open all year round, except Christmas/New Year (20/12/13 - 02/01/14 inclusive). PLEASE NOTE VERY LATEST CHECK-IN TIME IS 1700.

*Our home-made plated continental breakfast includes a selection of cold meats, cheeses, tomato, croissant & petit pain. Tea, Coffee (including decaffeinated), Hot Chocolate, jams/marmalade and honey are also provided: Orange/Apple Juice and a jug of fresh milk are placed with breakfast into your in-room fridge for your convenience.
Picture of Canal Cottage, Lower Heyford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long weekend in Lower Heyford
Lovely find on late rooms. Our hosts were very welcoming and informative of what and where to visit in the local area, we even had the opportunity to view one of their canal boats. As such, it's a great location on the Oxford Canal for Spring walks. Ideal for travelling to Central Oxford by train - 13 mins £9:20 return for 2 adults. Within 15 mins drive to Blenheim Palace which is a must see and good value for money, you can turn your tickets into an annual pass FREE of charge, we spent over 6 hours at the venue and still didn't manage to see it all. Also on the door step of Rousham House with its lovely gardens and if you're partial to shopping, Bicester Village is only 6 miles away. Last but by no means least make sure to visit the Barley Mow Pub for good food and entertainment, particularly the monthly Charity quiz night. Thanks to one and all for a lovely break!

Reviewed by
S Denham

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
I really liked my stay at Canal Cottage. There was a friendly welcome on arrival and the cottage is comfortable and well priced. Breakfast is served in the bedroom and was tasty and delivered exactly at the time promised. The room is small but comfortable with a modern bathroom and quality towels and bedding. I will return for sure and look forward to my next visit.

Reviewed by
C Lavender

From Sandy, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Spot
Great location and good accommodation/food for the price. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Richard W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

University visit
Excellent value and setting. Breakfast superb. Marvellous location for visiting one's offspring at Oxford whilst maintaining detachment from the city scene.

Reviewed by
C Parsons

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit limiting.
It was restricting having to book in by a certain time. The room was very small and considering you were expected to eat your breakfast in it (when it arrived) there was no table and only one chair. It was not walkable to any local eatery. The breakfast was not good and there was no information in the room about the time the breakfast would arrive. For £70 it was not good value for money. Glad it was only one night.

Reviewed by
a pingarelli

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location, beautiful surroundings and large, well decorated room
It's not clear where to check in here, I had to view past reviews to see.
Upon arrival, although friendly enough, the lady offered no information about our stay eg: where breakfast was served, what local pubs we could find for dinner, checkout times, how to close the awqward front door etc. Once again we relied on this website for such information.
We truly loved the room, the bed was comfy and the bathroom large, with big fluffy towels and complimentary wash miniatures. The only let-downs were the dousen flies trapped inside the room which refused to leave even after leaving the window open all evening, and the double douvet cover which barely covered us on a king size bed. The milk in the fridge had split and didn't look too appealing although it was fine and there were no options for breakfast - being wheet intolerant my partner enjoyed a rather large breakfast whilst I settled for a slice of ham and cheese.

Reviewed by
Virginia J

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute B+B
Friendly ,helpful staff, lovely location and clean,comfortable,tidy room.
what more can you ask for.
Good value for money.
thank you!

Reviewed by
andrew p

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little cottage right next door to the canal. Unfortunately it was raining so couldn't go for a walk or explore but good value for money breakfast was lovely and owner was very friendly & helpful. Would def recommend. Bare in mind you need to think of it as self catering in terms of cutlery and wine glasses if you take snacks or wine. Would def recommend.

Reviewed by
N L T

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but just what's needed for a short overnight stay. Room equipped with all we needed. Very clean. Welcoming host who brought breakfast to our room just when we asked for it.

Reviewed by
Katherine T

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed
we wanted somewhere close to Bicester so thought this would be ideal. Unfortunately we found it rather disappointing. Instead of the peaceful village location we imagined the road right outside was very noisy late into the night. We were aware that a continental breakfast was provided in the room, but this consisted of a slice of ham, lots of cheese and dry/stale bread rolls and croissants.
From experience it could have been vastly improved by providing yogurt and/or cereal or fresh fruit . We had booked two rooms and the other members of our party shared our views. On a positive note the lady who booked us in was very friendly and helpful and we did enjoy a nice walk along the canal in the morning.

Reviewed by
jillian w

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next