Reviews - The Chequers



Price From 122.53 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (20)

60% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • george h

  • April 2015

Very good

Great overnight stay.

  • A Jones

  • March 2015

excellent value for money

staff so friendly, room small but nice and clean.

Big car park which helped parking my van. Enjoyed the homemade meal cooked by the lady of the house.

  • L Dimitres

  • March 2015

Great stay

Stayed here because the great location.

The staff were excellent and attentive. The room was a bit small but full of character and it was clean and warm. Good value for money.

  • S James

  • March 2015

Chequered History!

The Chequers must rate as the worst hotel i have ever stayed in.

I arrived on a cold Sunday afternoon in March only to be told I had to pay up-front before seeing the room. (this should have got the alarm bells ringing) The first room they put me in (room 1) was the size of a small self storage unit and as cold and an ice box, I think the heating must have had been off all weekend, I was checked in by a young guy behind the bar who was obviously annoyed at being take away from the football on the widescreen TV. All the bed linen had that dusky smell you get when its been in storage for a while. I complained and was given another room (room 3)...a single. (although i paid for a double) no one offered to refund the difference, although a guy did knock at the door late on Sunday night and offer me a free breakfast (which i did not take them up on). The second room was still very cold and to add insult to injury the radiator in the bathroom was broken. I woke up freezing on the Monday morning because they had forgotten i was staying in the residual block and had turned the heating off !!.I don't know what is going on at this place, but clearly they have decided they don't want to be in the hotel business.... As a side note, the locals who use the bar are very obliging and took great pains to block my car in when ever they could.....

  • luke g

  • February 2015

you had to laugh or you would cry!!

cold room, scolding shower, no lamp, childs summer duvets on single pillow beds.

there is nothing positive to say about this stay other than the English

breakfast was perfect, oddly for an extra £7.50 there was no menu, no choice

and the cook was very unwelcoming but it was very tasty!!

  • karen golley

  • February 2015

great fo rthe stop over i needed

lovely, friendly place, staff were brilliant.

Really helpful and so nice. Stopped over with a friend to go to a gig. couldnt of asked for any better :-) hoing to make another in april and in the future and will definitely stay again when i am in amersham. Many thanks to the lovely staff x

  • A Godfrey

  • February 2015

The Chequers

The staff were very helpful and kind, the food was good.

The room was clean, though a bit on the small side. The bed was comfortable. It was very convenient for what we had to do.

  • Carlos Marcelo

  • December 2014

Good accommodation, just passing by ....

Great place, good bar.

  • A Brennan

  • September 2014


noisy with the bedroom window open, shut that and its okay.

  • Zane Reddy

  • September 2014

Zane carterfabrications.

A decent all round hotel