The Lowther Hotel

3

Aire Street, ,, Goole, DN14 5QW

Price From 171.61 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (9)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • David W Dewhirst

  • March 2015

A Night to Remember, epecially if you like ships and dockyards

All staff could not have been more helpful.

Excellent stay, excellent value!

  • John Carter

  • January 2015

Business stay January 2015

Bottled water in superior rooms would be a useful addition.

  • F Allender

  • December 2014

Lowther Hotel wins again!

As always the Lowther does what it says, 'Affordable Luxury'.

I've stayed at the Lowther many times and it never lets me down.

  • Gill R

  • September 2014

Champagne in a crate of Brown Ale

The surroundings of the hotel were initially a little off putting, it's right on the docks but as soon as you walk through the door the "simply affordable luxury" experience begins.

There was a queue but a receptionist appeared from nowhere to check us in. She waited while we got our bag and then took us to our room on the 2nd floor. Very spacious room with sitting area just right for the laptop. King size bed with comfy mattress and linen. The shower room was a little tight for space. You had to squeeze round the door a bit to get in but the fittings were very good quality and the double walk in shower was good. Lovely towels and a real wood floor. The public spaces are spacious and elegant and whilst there are a lot of stairs to the second floor they are wide and shallow. There are function rooms with lovely murals and lots of original features like the Minton tiles in the main hall. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and well served by the staff. The hotel is only a short stroll from the shopping centre and although there is a secure car park at the rear we just left the car on the street and it was fine. All in all a very comfortable and enjoyable stay, I will stay again when we visit family and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this gorgeous hotel to anyone.

  • C Mardon

  • September 2014

Goole trip

Hotel was very clean, staff were very helpful.

Room was lovely. Breakfast was freshly cooked and just as hope for.

  • Howard D

  • June 2014

Very good indepedent hotel

Stayed one night mid week for work in single room - everything very good.

Friendly, very clean rooms and professional standards. Good bar and excellent breakfast and would recommend if staying in Goole.

  • N Edlin

  • December 2013

Good customer service, only 1 minor niggle

Overall I felt the accommodation, room, food and service was exceptionally good.

Having booked online, I was phoned by the hotel to let me know a party was being held there one of the nights I was staying, in case I wanted to make alternative arrangements. In fact the party wasn't an issue nor was there any noise disturbance. The breakfast was excellent and the attention shown by the staff was also very high. My only criticism is that upon returning to the hotel at 11.30 on the Saturday night, there was nowhere separate for a resident to have a drink before bed, the only choice I had was the "Voodoo bar" which was not really aimed at people over 35 ..... That in itself was fine but the member of staff I asked, maybe could have suggested that I order a drink or a bottle of wine to have in my room. They missed out on a sale there, so maybe Room Service should be considered. Apart from that, excellent all round.

  • H Shuker

  • September 2013

A Hotel Restoration well done.

The Hotel is opposite the Goole docks, in down town Goole.

The owner told us that the hotel was the first building to be built in Goole for the dock owners in the 19th century. It has been completely been refurbished through out to a very high standard, retaining the old and some new.

The rooms are big and modern and bright, the bathroom was very nice and the bed was big and very comfortable and the room was decorated to a high standard. It had the usual tea and coffee and a large TV on the wall. We started the evening with a cocktail in the "Voodoo Cocktail Bar" which was modern and bright, the service was good and the drinks not to dear, later we had dinner in the restaurant which was a lovely restored room and the food was excellent and the wine was a good price (not a rip off). Then off to bed we had a great nights sleep in this large bed, Down to Breakfast the following morning for the Full English breakfast and what a breakfast it is, far to much to eat and the service was good. Through out our stay we were well looked after and the attention to detail by the young well trained staff was very high, well done to all.

Yes I would recommend this hotel for its service cleanness and above all the Hotel and its history.

  • Peter M

  • May 2013

Conveniently situated, good sized, comfortable room, quiet and peaceful.

Helpful staff. Good breakfast, but limited choice due to late delivery.