No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lowther Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Aire Street, , , Goole, DN14 5QW
The Lowther Hotel on Aire Street in Goole, East Yorkshire is a newly-restored Grade II* listed hotel and restaurant and venue for weddings, conferences and functions. It boasts 14 individually-designed, boutique-style bedrooms, each with en-suite facilities, as well as stylish restaurant, comfortable lounge and a choice of function rooms for up to 60 people. Enjoy lunch or dinner in the New Burlington Restaurant, where our tempting menu offers fantastic value for money. Voodoo Chilli Bar is the ideal place to meet up with family, friends or colleagues to enjoy the evening. Our historic Mural Room is a stunning setting for weddings and special occasions, whilst the attractive Aire and Calder suite is a pleasant venue for meetings, conferences and other events. Accessible Location. With its excellent motorway and rail links, Goole is a great base from which to explore the wider Yorkshire region and The Lowther Hotel is well positioned for those visiting the area on business. Located just two miles from Junction 36 of the M62 and half an hour from Robin Hood Airport at Doncaster, The Lowther Hotel is within walking distance of Goole Railway Station and just a ten minute taxi ride from Howden Railway Station, which has direct rail links to London. Come and soak up the atmosphere of one of East Yorkshire's most historic buildings. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Picture of The Lowther Hotel, Goole at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lowther Hotel wins again!
As always the Lowther does what it says, 'Affordable Luxury'.
I've stayed at the Lowther many times and it never lets me down.

Reviewed by
F Allender

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Champagne in a crate of Brown Ale
The surroundings of the hotel were initially a little off putting, it's right on the docks but as soon as you walk through the door the "simply affordable luxury" experience begins. There was a queue but a receptionist appeared from nowhere to check us in. She waited while we got our bag and then took us to our room on the 2nd floor. Very spacious room with sitting area just right for the laptop. King size bed with comfy mattress and linen. The shower room was a little tight for space. You had to squeeze round the door a bit to get in but the fittings were very good quality and the double walk in shower was good. Lovely towels and a real wood floor.
The public spaces are spacious and elegant and whilst there are a lot of stairs to the second floor they are wide and shallow. There are function rooms with lovely murals and lots of original features like the Minton tiles in the main hall.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and well served by the staff.
The hotel is only a short stroll from the shopping centre and although there is a secure car park at the rear we just left the car on the street and it was fine.
All in all a very comfortable and enjoyable stay, I will stay again when we visit family and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this gorgeous hotel to anyone!

Reviewed by
Gill R

From Garelochhead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Goole trip
Hotel was very clean, staff were very helpful. Room was lovely. Breakfast was freshly cooked and just as hope for.

Reviewed by
C Mardon

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good indepedent hotel
Stayed one night mid week for work in single room - everything very good. Friendly, very clean rooms and professional standards. Good bar and excellent breakfast and would recommend if staying in Goole.

Reviewed by
Howard D

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good customer service, only 1 minor niggle
Overall I felt the accommodation, room, food and service was exceptionally good. Having booked online, I was phoned by the hotel to let me know a party was being held there one of the nights I was staying, in case I wanted to make alternative arrangements. In fact the party wasn't an issue nor was there any noise disturbance. The breakfast was excellent and the attention shown by the staff was also very high.
My only criticism is that upon returning to the hotel at 11.30 on the Saturday night, there was nowhere separate for a resident to have a drink before bed, the only choice I had was the "Voodoo bar" which was not really aimed at people over 35 .....
That in itself was fine but the member of staff I asked, maybe could have suggested that I order a drink or a bottle of wine to have in my room. They missed out on a sale there, so maybe Room Service should be considered?
Apart from that, excellent all round.

Reviewed by
N Edlin

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Hotel Restoration well done.
The Hotel is opposite the Goole docks, in down town Goole. The owner told us that the hotel was the first building to be built in Goole for the dock owners in the 19th century. It has been completely been refurbished through out to a very high standard, retaining the old and some new.
The rooms are big and modern and bright, the bathroom was very nice and the bed was big and very comfortable and the room was decorated to a high standard. It had the usual tea and coffee and a large TV on the wall.
We started the evening with a cocktail in the "Voodoo Cocktail Bar" which was modern and bright, the service was good and the drinks not to dear, later we had dinner in the restaurant which was a lovely restored room and the food was excellent and the wine was a good price (not a rip off). Then off to bed we had a great nights sleep in this large bed, Down to Breakfast the following morning for the Full English breakfast and what a breakfast it is, far to much to eat and the service was good.
Through out our stay we were well looked after and the attention to detail by the young well trained staff was very high, well done to all.
Yes I would recommend this hotel for its service cleanness and above all the Hotel and its history.

Reviewed by
H Shuker

From Huntingdon, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Conveniently situated, good sized, comfortable room, quiet and peaceful. Helpful staff. Good breakfast, but limited choice due to late delivery.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.