No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Harleys Inn

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Harleys, Market Street Staveley, Chesterfield, S43 3UT
Keith and Linda welcome you to Harleys Inn,Staveley, Chesterfield. With a diner, overnight bedrooms, and a welcoming environment, Harleys Bar is the perfect choice.

Breakfast, bar snacks & evening meals
Relax in our superb restaurant, offering a varied menu of traditional homemade food
Vegetarian Menu available
Lunchtime 12 - 2pm
Evenings 5 - 8pm
Sunday Carvery 12 - 3pm

8 en-suite bedrooms
All rooms are en-suite with satellite/television and tea & coffee making facilities.
Free parking & CCTV in operation.

Big screen TV's with satellite
Internet access
Late bar Friday and Saturday with our resident DJ
Covered smoking area

OUT AND ABOUT;
2 minutes walk to The Healthy Living Centre with fitness suite, swimming pool, health spa and climbing wall.
Fishing - Chesterfield Canal, Poolsbrook Country Park & Ringwood Park
Golf - Barlborough Links & Tapton Golf Course
Snooker - Staveley working mens club with full sized snooker tables
Markets - Staveley every Friday & Chesterfield every Monday, Friday & Saturday
Gateway to the Peak District - National Park, home of Chatsworth House,
Abraham Heights, Bolsover Castle, Crich Tramway Museum, Matlock Bath, Barrowhill Railway Museum and much more.

WE ALSO OFFER HARLEYS FOR ALL PARTIES, INCLUDING CHILDRENS PARTIES, CHRISTENINGS AND FUNERALS
WHATEVER YOUR OCCASSION HARLEYS IS THE PLACE TO CELEBRATE IT.
Picture of Harleys Inn, Chesterfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mostly a nice stay, only minor complaints
We booked into this hotel as we had a dinner in Staveley. We were staying on a Saturday night and when we arrived at about 7 PM, the very small carpark (with about seven spaces) was full, so we quickly parked up on the pavements to check-in. A disco seemed to have just started in the function room so there were quite a few people arriving, and this meant I had to wait about 10 minutes while people slowly ordered food and drinks before I was seen. The member of staff was very friendly and nice and showed me to our room. We were able to park in the adjacent leisure centre car park, which she explained was safe and covered by CCTV. We were happy parking there.
The room was quite reasonable – clean and tidy – with everything you would expect. Yes, there was some dust in the more out of reach places, but on the whole there was no problem.
We arrived back from our engagement at around midnight and the disco was still going strong. By the time we were trying to go to sleep at about 1 o'clock, there was still a lot of noise from music and voices both from downstairs and across the road. If you are planning to go to bed at 10 or 11 in the evening, be aware the disco goes on until two in the morning and unless you are very tired, you will find it difficult to sleep.
The other major problem was discovered when we turned the light off to sleep. Although the main light extinguished, a very bright green light took its place, coming from the ceiling light. There was no way we could sleep with this light on, and no way to cover it up – and as it was one in the morning with a pub full of revellers downstairs, I was certainly not going to queue up and invite someone to come and sort it out. I decided to take the cover off to investigate and I discovered someone else had partially covered the bulb by placing the end of a coffee sachet directly over it! I considered this a fire hazard and so removed it, but this made the light even brighter, easily bright enough to read by. I saw no choice but to disconnect the green bulb, which I could not understand the point of. This light fitting seemed completely unsuitable for a bedroom environment where you would want darkness to sleep. I informed the only member of staff the next morning, who was very friendly and said she would tell the manager – I suspect she was just a cleaner.
The shower was hot and clean. We did not try any of the food as we had brought our own breakfast. Overall, if you don't mind loud music and voices until two in the morning, and you are lucky enough not to have a bright green light that you can't turn off then it is a fine place to stay.

Reviewed by
Jeff C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chesterfield experience
The ladies in the bar on arrival were very friendly I arrived on Sunday evening, no food was available but this did not matter as I had already eaten and there were facilities in the room to make a cup of tea or coffee. The draw underneath the TV suddenly fell apart onto the floor and this was quickly and quietly repaired before I clocked in the following evening. I was glad to have been able to book a room at short notice. The lady was flexible and accommodating with my requirements.The toiletries were minimal for a 2 night stay. On the wholw all went very well and Thank You for a nice quiet room in a peaceful place. No complaints!

Reviewed by
F Harrison

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly staff,helpful,would stay here again when in the area..

Reviewed by
k marshall

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional
We booked in to the Harley's Inn on the 21st November. We were greeted at the bar and then shown to our room, 6. It would have been more personal if the barmaid had introduced herself.
The room was functional and had tea and coffee and a nice sized en-suite.
That evening there was a party in the function room but this did not disturb us and we slept well.
However having stayed at many B&B's I would rate the price of the room a little high

Reviewed by
R HAINES

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There was a party down stairs until 2am in the morning with music playing which was not good

Reviewed by
J Teale

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Spent 3 nights there and wanted to stay longer. On late rooms it stated there was no card machine and everything had to be paid cash. This is wrong. I used my card to pay several times. Drinks are very reasonably priced. The meals were excellent. Breakfast was a full English, with juice,cereal,toast,tea or coffee. all for £6-95. Dinnner and evening meals were of the highest standard. The best of it all was the Sunday Carvery. Famous for only one reason the quality and standard. At a fantastic price of £7-00 for an adult it was very good reason to enjoy it. the host Keith and Linda were really friendly and hospitable. Even the late disco on the Saturday night was fun. I look forward to going back.

Reviewed by
Richard Snowden

From Llandudno, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean enough, but you get what you pay for
Check in was smooth enough, although I was not given a receipt which I had to ask for again later.
Breakfast is only served at 9AM, I said that was too late, but there was no other time given. The room was very clean, but up in the attic, and far to hot. The only mirror is in the bathroom, there isn't one in the bedroom area.
I got back to the pub after an evening out about 10PM, there was about 7 people in the bar, and everyone just stopped talking and looked at me when I walked in, all that was missing was the tumbleweed! Been a female on my own, this is very intimidating. The area where the pool table is next to the security coded door could do with a light in so that you can see the code on the key fob. Thankfully the door was open anyway (great security) so I didn't have to go back into the bar and be stared at again.

Reviewed by
Louise B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant little gem tucked away
Don't be put off by the location - first appearances very deceptive. The staff who booked me in were very welcoming, efficient, helpful.I was a late evening arriver, so it was quiet, getting dark - but when they lead you to the accomodation - light airy, away from public areas, and quiet! Some people may want fancy frills and chintz - the room I was in was clean, tidy, had everything I needed. Comfortable? After a long day at work, I really fancied a drink in the bar, so I thought after a wash and a sit down, I'd nip back down. I woke about fourty minutes later - thats how comfy it is. And quiet.And if you order a breakfast - wow! Great service, friendly, and a real family feel to it (in my opinion) - didnt seem like I was away at all! Travelled alone for this stay due to a Business meeting that day - it was that good, I intend going back and staying with the wife when we visit that area. Top banana - cant say any more!

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From Withernsea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

night out in chesterfield
We were attending a 30th birthday party in Chesterfield.
We booked a room for 4 adults which only cost £71 (£18 each) which was a bargain.
The room had 2 singles and a double as well as an en suite bathroom with shower and bath.
The room was not luxury but was ideal for a short overnight stay for cheap.
The hotel is easy to find and has a morrisons opposite.
Taxi's are also very cheap from Chesterfield town centre to the hotel, even at 2:00am it only cost £9.
They also gave us the side door key so we could come back in late at night, for a £10 refundable deposit.
Would recommend for anyone who wants to stay overnight in Chesterfield.

Reviewed by
craig b

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Clean and tidy, very good value for money.

Reviewed by
P Richards

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next