Reviews - Harleys Inn


Harleys, Market Street Staveley, Chesterfield, S43 3UT

Price From 126.83 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Philip B

  • August 2015

A decent family room with a friendly welcome

For a group of four adults needing a bed for the night before a family christening, the room was a good choice - basic, but clean and at a sensible price.

Be aware that, at least on a Saturday, the pub stays open until 2AM - I got to sleep at 2:15, although the other three fared better. To be fair, we had the window open as it was a warm day and the room is in the roof. On the plus side, the noise was happy and sociable, the volume enthusiastic rather than rowdy. The room is highly suitable for a family with large teenagers or for four adults, and the cost with breakfast worked out at half that in a well-known budget chain's two rooms nearby, and it is only a five or so minute drive into Chesterfield. Breakfast was very good, both in terms of quality and quantity. We parked in the (small) car park, but there is other parking with cctv nearby. The outstanding feature of our stay were the pleasant and friendly people.

  • D Cooling

  • July 2015

Excellent all round accommodation

Everyone was so friendly & helpful.

Room was spotless & very well kept. Breakfast was delicious. They couldn't do enough for us & we would definitely return.

Thank you for making our short stay so pleasurable & we'll pop in if we're in the area. Snakebite with Carling cider was stunning.

NB. Laterooms state they don't take credit/debit card but they do.

  • lindsay morley

  • May 2015

Harleys Inn... Great overnight stay - Well pleased!!

Booked 2 en-suite rooms for overnight stay with my husband, daughters and sister...

here to attend a Wedding in the area. Very friendly welcome and absolutely loved the large 4 Adult room with massive bathroom including shower and large bath brilliant!!. Both rooms were very clean and odors anywhere and stairs very tidy too. Bargain price would definitely visit again....

  • Jeff C

  • February 2015

Mostly a nice stay, only minor complaints

We booked into this hotel as we had a dinner in Staveley.

We were staying on a Saturday night and when we arrived at about 7 PM, the very small carpark (with about seven spaces) was full, so we quickly parked up on the pavements to check-in. A disco seemed to have just started in the function room so there were quite a few people arriving, and this meant I had to wait about 10 minutes while people slowly ordered food and drinks before I was seen. The member of staff was very friendly and nice and showed me to our room. We were able to park in the adjacent leisure centre car park, which she explained was safe and covered by CCTV. We were happy parking there.

The room was quite reasonable – clean and tidy – with everything you would expect. Yes, there was some dust in the more out of reach places, but on the whole there was no problem.

We arrived back from our engagement at around midnight and the disco was still going strong. By the time we were trying to go to sleep at about 1 o'clock, there was still a lot of noise from music and voices both from downstairs and across the road. If you are planning to go to bed at 10 or 11 in the evening, be aware the disco goes on until two in the morning and unless you are very tired, you will find it difficult to sleep.

The other major problem was discovered when we turned the light off to sleep. Although the main light extinguished, a very bright green light took its place, coming from the ceiling light. There was no way we could sleep with this light on, and no way to cover it up – and as it was one in the morning with a pub full of revellers downstairs, I was certainly not going to queue up and invite someone to come and sort it out. I decided to take the cover off to investigate and I discovered someone else had partially covered the bulb by placing the end of a coffee sachet directly over it. I considered this a fire hazard and so removed it, but this made the light even brighter, easily bright enough to read by. I saw no choice but to disconnect the green bulb, which I could not understand the point of. This light fitting seemed completely unsuitable for a bedroom environment where you would want darkness to sleep. I informed the only member of staff the next morning, who was very friendly and said she would tell the manager – I suspect she was just a cleaner.

The shower was hot and clean. We did not try any of the food as we had brought our own breakfast. Overall, if you don't mind loud music and voices until two in the morning, and you are lucky enough not to have a bright green light that you can't turn off then it is a fine place to stay.

  • F Harrison

  • February 2015

Chesterfield experience

The ladies in the bar on arrival were very friendly I arrived on Sunday evening, no food was available but this did not matter as I had already eaten and there were facilities in the room to make a cup of tea or coffee.

The draw underneath the TV suddenly fell apart onto the floor and this was quickly and quietly repaired before I clocked in the following evening. I was glad to have been able to book a room at short notice. The lady was flexible and accommodating with my requirements.The toiletries were minimal for a 2 night stay. On the wholw all went very well and Thank You for a nice quiet room in a peaceful place. No complaints!

  • k marshall

  • January 2015

very friendly staff,helpful,would stay here again when in the area..


  • November 2014


We booked in to the Harley's Inn on the 21st November.

We were greeted at the bar and then shown to our room, 6. It would have been more personal if the barmaid had introduced herself.

The room was functional and had tea and coffee and a nice sized en-suite. That evening there was a party in the function room but this did not disturb us and we slept well.

However having stayed at many B&B's I would rate the price of the room a little high

  • J Teale

  • September 2014

There was a party down stairs until 2am in the morning with music playing which was not good

  • Richard Snowden

  • August 2014


Spent 3 nights there and wanted to stay longer.

On late rooms it stated there was no card machine and everything had to be paid cash. This is wrong. I used my card to pay several times. Drinks are very reasonably priced. The meals were excellent. Breakfast was a full English, with juice,cereal,toast,tea or coffee. all for £6-95. Dinnner and evening meals were of the highest standard. The best of it all was the Sunday Carvery. Famous for only one reason the quality and standard. At a fantastic price of £7-00 for an adult it was very good reason to enjoy it. the host Keith and Linda were really friendly and hospitable. Even the late disco on the Saturday night was fun. I look forward to going back.

  • Louise B

  • July 2014

Clean enough, but you get what you pay for

Check in was smooth enough, although I was not given a receipt which I had to ask for again later.

Breakfast is only served at 9AM, I said that was too late, but there was no other time given. The room was very clean, but up in the attic, and far to hot. The only mirror is in the bathroom, there isn't one in the bedroom area. I got back to the pub after an evening out about 10PM, there was about 7 people in the bar, and everyone just stopped talking and looked at me when I walked in, all that was missing was the tumbleweed. Been a female on my own, this is very intimidating. The area where the pool table is next to the security coded door could do with a light in so that you can see the code on the key fob. Thankfully the door was open anyway (great security) so I didn't have to go back into the bar and be stared at again.