No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bell Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
13 Market Place , Faringdon , SN7 7HP
Small 14th Century family run, friendly hotel in the idyllic town of Faringdon, lots of quirky features, old beams and uneven floors add to its character. Large restaurant with an extensive menu and family friendly room as well as our 8 en suite rooms make us a great destination for all occasions and we are dog friendly too!

The Church of All Saints, presiding over the town from the North end of the Market Place, is the oldest surviving building in the town as well as the most imposing from the outside and the most interesting within. It should resurrect a thousand years of history about the town. The Red Lion, profitably built in the Corn Market, is claimed to go back to 1432, while there are medieval parts in the Crown Coaching Inn and the Bell Hotel, north and south of the Market Place. Other venerable buildings are the Old Town Hall, built soon after the Civil War, and The Society of Friends Meeting House, built in 1696.
Picture of The Bell Hotel, Faringdon  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ring that Bell
The building has a lot to offer. It is presently shrouded in a cloak of bland and tired late 20th Century décor that is smothering the obvious underlying charm and wealth of character the Hotel undoubtedly has. This is the challenge being undertaken by the Manager and one that seems to be relished. Whilst the present décor has limited appeal, this is more than made up for by the staff and owner. They were very accommodating and couldn't have been more helpful. Having only recently taken over the running of the Bell Hotel, a start has been made on the refurbishment with more to come. There seemed to be a community sprit in the place. The setting and location are very good.
If you are looking for corporate uniformity, posh nosh and immaculate fixtures and fitting then this is not the place for you. It is a budget hotel. We had a family room which was a good size and easily accommodated a double and 2 single beds. It also had a large en-suite bathroom. We were at the front of the building, overlooking the market square, and it was quiet and warm room. The stairs and self closing doors may be an issue for those with young children and buggies.
We arrived later than expected due to horrendous traffic. We phoned ahead and were reassured that the late arrival was not an issue. We were too late and tired to eat in the restaurant but the chef was able to make us some sandwiches from the lunch menu (these ordinarily would not be served at this time).
The breakfast was a good size and tasty with locally produced meat. Veggies are best advised to confirm ahead but there was otherwise plenty of choice .
We only stayed one night but would certainly visit again, if only to be able to explore the local area.
Once the cloak of tired décor is removed a fine swan should emerge from the ugly duckling.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Heathfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would not stay here again as the bed was uncomfortable and the traffic going passed the window meant I could not sleep well.

Reviewed by
D Dadak

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enchanting olde worlde.

Reviewed by
Miles Mellonie

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bell Hotel Faringdon
A most enjoyable stay although only night in a quaint Faringdon English piece of history.
I have posted some photographs .
Did you receive them ?

Reviewed by
P LEIGH

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over all view
We found the owners to be polite and helpful, although we were told that they were having a re-furbishment in approx 8 weeks time a few simple things could have been put in place now to make customers stay more enjoyable like a hair dryer in the room instead of saterlite tv that did not have an aerial connection so no tv, a bath/shower with no shower screen so no shower,no shaver point in the bath room and very few points in bed room that were hard to access, overall £60 would have been a fair price to pay.

Reviewed by
T Hall

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We travelled from Norfolk, & were very tired, but were given a very warm & friendly welcome. We had a disabled Mum with us,& were informed previous to our arrival that there were stairs to deal with, but it was very difficult. The bar was very quaint, & breakfast the next morning excellent. The room we were in was quite noisy & a door next door was constantly banging. I have to say, the couple running it were lovely & very kind.

Reviewed by
Maureen C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice atmosphere

Reviewed by
Michal C

From Czech Republic
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, friendly hotel
We stayed for one night and were very pleased with our room and the friendly service we received.
Breakfast was great too.

Reviewed by
G Newbury

From Chesham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good - Could be outstanding
I believe the management is very new to this hotel; is aware of the decor of the bedrooms, and cannot yet be responsible for their condition. This is largely cosmetic and, although it needs sorting (carpet replacement/bathroom refurb/paint) as a priority, any more ambitious projects could follow at a more leisurely pace. The small hotel is old and quirky with the uneven floors and almost random beams. It has, therefore, a fantastic character and tremendous potential. The basics are spot on; the attention and friendliness of the staff, and the really superb quality of the food provides excellent value. The Bell is ideally situated on the picturesque town square, and could build an enviable reputation.

Reviewed by
Brian D

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased with accommodation. Staff very welcoming and friendly. 0nly adverse comment is that we found the shower difficult to use to get water temperature to our liking, but that could possibly just be us. Very comfortable bed. Very good breakfast.

Reviewed by
K Bennett

From Shifnal, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next